We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mayari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Mayari
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Aguilas
Certificate of Excellence
Catral, Spain
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Agree wholeheartedly with previous reviews !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Lovely weekend in this charming hotel. The welcome and service throughout our stay was exemplary, Joaquin was available to give helpful advice on places of interest and local restaurants and surprised us with several little extras whiched helped to make our stay so comfortable and pleasant ,despite the unseasonal rain and wind ! This is a beautiful small hotel ,the decor and ambience reflects the owner's creative and cultural interests ,the views from the terrace are wonderful...dont miss the sunsets...and our room ,though small ,was pleasant, functional and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of it. Highly recommened

Room Tip: Request sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargieB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our way up the coast end of March 2014. We usually prefer old characterful places to stay and only chose this one as it was reasonably priced and we were all getting tired. It is a modern build but as you look round, it is well designed with interesting details, furniture and artwork. The welcome and service was personable. As we had a two year old with us, we accepted the offer of having dinner in-house. We were halfway through our two week holiday at this point and this proved to be the best meal of the holiday so far. We had a paella which was probably the best paella I have ever tasted in all my trips to Spain. The host also prepared a really fresh moorish tomato dish for starters and he matched the meal well with wine. I knew the breakfast the next day would be good and indeed it was. The hosts were friendly and attentive. Our little boy even got a clockwork mouse from the owner which kept him occupied and distracted. If we had more time, they had a personal knowledge of the area which would help you make the most of the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Redefining service.

We have just returned from a stay at the Hotel Mayari. It was the most relaxing and tranquil stay. The views from our bedroom and the terrace were stunning. The owners Joaquin and Alicia were so helpful with local information and advice in respect of the area and restaurants.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we received the warmest and most genuine hospitality. and were made to feel vey much at home. The hotel does not do evening meals but we arrived late and a 3 course dinner was provided including the most delicious paella and a fantastic bottle of wine.

The next day all of the breakfast ingredients were of the highest quality down to the freshly squeezed orange juice and then after a long day discovering the corners of Murcia and Northern Almeria, we were treated to a tour of some stunning local bays and beaches.

We would recommend a stay at this hotel which is in a very beautiful part of Spain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in this hotel as we travelled through Spain for a week, we was very surprised at the lovely location it's breath taking!!! hotel fantastic and the owners couldn't do more for us. We arrived mid afternoon checked in, then went out for a bike ride the owner came out with us and showed us the spectacular views of the area!! We even had a little paddle in the sea, which was lovely and warm at the time! We ate in the hotel that evening, we told them what we like to eat then it was a surprise when it came out, all 3 courses!!! :) Room was gorgeous with perfect views over the town towards the sea!! Plenty of room in the hotel to lounge and relax. Breakfast in the morning so yummy, continental with fresh crush and cheese yoghurts, you name it it was there!! Please please please if your in the area or not go and stay here for a might it'll be worth your while!!! Well done, we are already making plans to come back again!!! Thank you for all your kindness as well :) Kind regards Poppy and Barney

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Row
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We thought we were going to Aguilas and were somewhat disoriented to find ourselves in a completely new 'satellite' development 8 kilometres out of town. It was incredibly quiet as we were out of season (late September) and much of the area was shut down. However our hosts at the hotel could not have been kinder or more accommodating and took us on a special tour of the coastal strip at the end of the road,which has just achieved conservation status after an 11-year battle. We would not have found the unspoilt wild beaches without help but when we did, we thoroughly enjoyed the swimming in a crystal clear sea, 'far from the madding crowd.'
In the evening we enjoyed a quiet drink with superb views of the dramatic coastline in a glorious sunset. The local brochure lists this hotel as 'con encanto' and it is indeed a delight.

Room Tip: The sea view is superb, ask for it just in case it is not visible from all rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Mayari for one night as a stop over while traveling along coastal Spain. What an absolute gem of a hotel. The property, which is essentially a large villa with several ensuite rooms for guests, is beautifully decorated and immaculately maintained by the owners. It is located in the residential part of the little town of Calabardinas (just outside Aguilas), but is within a short walking distance to the beach and other town activities. There is plenty of space throughout the property to admire the sea view and quant surroundings. The guest room we stayed in (double bed) was efficient and had nice details throughout including a modern and well appointed bathroom. The young owners, Alicia and Joaquin, are a wonderful couple and will assist in any way to make your stay a memorable one. The property was so charming we decided not to dine out and instead had Joaquin cook dinner for us. He produced a delicious seafood paella rivaling some of the best we had in all of Spain. The breakfast served in the patio was hearty and a good way to start the day. Overall, we highly recommend Hotel Mayari when in this charming area of Spain.

Room Tip: Have Joaquin do the cooking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
284 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Hotel Mayari is an exemplary small hotel: modern, sunny, clean, and quiet; and run by an exceedingly friendly and helpful young couple. It is located in a low-key and still-unspoiled small beach town that seems to consist mainly of second homes, but with few signs of mass tourism - on a warm May day, the fine beach and scenic small bay remained almost empty. While doing the grand tour of Spain, this town and (especially) this hotel provided the perfect respite from all the castles, cathedrals, and noisy cities.
Of course, "low-key" also means that there was not much going on in Calabardina itself, especially out of season: there weren't many shops, and the one real restaurant was closed. So unless you arrange in advance to eat with the hotel owners, you'll probably find yourself driving the 5 mi. into Aguilas - where you should seek out the delightful, flower-filled Plaza Espana.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ranke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aguilas
6.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Juan Montiel, SPA & Base Nautica
0.3 mi away
El Paraiso Hotel
El Paraiso Hotel
#4 of 9 in Aguilas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel El Paso
Hotel El Paso
#6 of 9 in Aguilas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Parador de Lorca
Parador de Lorca
#1 of 5 in Lorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hotel La Cumbre
Hotel La Cumbre
#1 of 4 in Puerto de Mazarron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Aguilas Resort
Hotel Aguilas Resort
#9 of 9 in Aguilas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayari

Property: Hotel Mayari
Address: Calle Rio de Janeiro 14, 30889 Aguilas, Spain
Location: Spain > Region of Murcia > Aguilas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Aguilas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Mayari 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mayari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayari Spain/Aguilas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing