We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Newgrange Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$73
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Johnstown Estate Hotel & Spa(Enfield)(Great Value!)
$177
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$163
$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
$185
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardboyne Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$128
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newgrange Hotel(Navan)(Great Value!)
$129
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
90
76
45
31
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
76
45
31
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon areasvisitor centerwinter solsticepassage tombfull irishnewgrangeirelandaccommodationdroghedaensuiteslanedowthbattlerugbyboynecamping
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 270 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Newgrange lodge is a good place to stay if you're looking for cheap, easy accommodation. The location and proximity to Newgrange is great. However, be aware that it is in the middle of nowhere, so if you're looking for food or entertainment, you'd need to take some dark windy roads into the nearest town. Nothing convenient nearby.

The staff were very friendly and the common area was big and well appointed with working wifi. The room and bathroom are small and the beds are average. When we got into our room the window had been left open so the room was full of mosquitos and spider webs and was quite chilly and drafty. The breakfast in the morning was good, an average hostel breakfast.

If you're looking for a quick easy place to rest your head for the night Newgrange Lodge is that, if you're looking for anything, else you might want to stop someplace else.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

First rate stay, way better than what I was expecting. Very helpful staff, great accommodations. Location is unbeatable to see all the local sights. Don't hesitate to ask staff at lodge for tips/advice on where to go and what to see

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were 2 couples traveling on holiday in Ireland. We booked our rooms at Newgrange Lodge 4 months in advance and guaranteed them with a credit card. Upon arrival, we were informed that they were full for the night and we had no rooms there. In fairness to them, they had arranged for us to stay at a B&B down the road. Still, our guaranteed reservation was of no importance to them, and we were bumped out. Their attitude was one of indifference when we mentioned the guaranteed reservation. I would not recommend a place that cannot be depended upon to have a room that they have confirmed months ahead.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank bchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

When we arrived, at the reception they told us that some groups of students where here for the night, and maybe it will be very noisy. They purpose to send us in a guesthouse in Bettystown instead, Rannoch House B&B, to have a more quiet place. At the beginning we refused, but they seemed so worry for us, and with such an insistence that we finally accept. Now I’m pretty sure that they gave our room, booked four month ago, to some other people…

We made 25 minutes of car to arrive in Bettystown. The house was dirty, there were spider webs everywhere you look ! Moreover, the room was not ready, and had to wait 30 minutes more, and we were completely tired... The lady offers to us some tea, but the dishes were dirty and sticky. Everywhere in the house, there was an awful musty smell... When we finally had the room, the lady told us that the central heating was not working ! Instead, we had a small and very old electrical heating, which we can not switch on without surveillance... So we switched it off for the night, and were completely frozen in the morning. We could not open the window as it was broken, and in addition, the shower was so full of sediment that it was practically unusable !!

We check the customers review on Tripadvisor for this "guesthouse", and it was horrible (the link: http://www.tripadvisor.fr/Hotel_Review-g775278-d1161725-Reviews-Rannoch_Guest_House-Bettystown_County_Meath.html) with only 2 stars over 5, even though the Newgrange Lodge had 4 ! It's shame to send customers in this house, and we are really disappointed, because it was absolutely not what we expected to have, and for sure not the same establishment quality !! Moreover, in the morning the lady ask 65€ for the night, even though the reservation made in your lodge was at 49€ for one night. Hopefully, when I told this to the lady, and given that we didn't take breakfast, she accept that we pay "only" 50€, without asking anything else… for me, this clearly looks like a scam !

It is really unacceptable, and we felled completely trapped in this dirty place. With such kind of experience, I could not imagine that they are not taking their customers just as bloody stupid people... I sent them an e-mail practically one week ago, and I’m still waiting for an answer…

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Virginie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed 1 night in the lodge, travelling down from Belfast on our way to Dublin. Staff at reception was very friendly, explaining to us the facilities available and suggested places for dinner. Our room was on the ground floor toward the back, and it was of good size. The shower/ bathroom is more like a wet room with no curtain, so do be careful as it could get slippery. The place was clean and tidy, with WiFi available at the public lodge complete with sofas. Basic breakfast was included (cheese, hams, cereals, toast, tea & coffee).

We planned to go to the Newgrange site the next day, and before we check in, we even drove to the site and check out the tour time. We’re told the site opened at 9am and the first time at 9:30am, but they don’t take bookings and we will have to get there early to avoid queues. When we’re checking in, the lady asked us our plans and advised us if we wanted to join the tour the next morning, all we need to do is to go to the reception just before 9am, and she could ring the visitor centre to book us on the tour! This comes in handy to give us some time to have breakfast and not to worry about getting to the visitor centre at 9am sharp! Apparently it’s the “B&B” scheme operated in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paddyb-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews