We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gyre at value for money”
Review of Newgrange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newgrange Lodge
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay, receptionist went out of her way to help us and helped make our stay very special.i will be back again .visit the newgrange and do both the newgrange and no wth guided tours amazing Irish history

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rocy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues123Australia, Receptionist at Newgrange Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed staying at Newgrange Lodge we looking forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Newgrange Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 263 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in this place. We booked a dorm room and had it just for ourselves. The place is very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had a fresh fruit salad which we did not see very often in Ireland. Internet is free. Definitely one of the best places on our ten day trip. The price is very cheap compared to what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roosevelt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues123Australia, Receptionist at Newgrange Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We here at Newgrange Lodge thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Looking forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We booked Newgrange Lodge as we're going to a wedding in nearby Slane. The location is beautiful and the premises are modern. In our room the shower didn't work and when we mentioned this to reception they said they would mention it to management but could not help us as the place was fully booked. There was no apology or offer of a refund. I phoned back and the manager was helpful and did offer a refund.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daragh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked Newgrange Lodge as a B&B or guesthouse as great vantage point to attend a Bon Jovi concert at Slane Castle on June 15th 2013, and to see some surroundings thereafter. It seemed to be a well-run lodge at 1st impression, in neat red brick stone. The amazing entrance panting above the reception, which appears if county Meath looks a wee bit like France, just not with such a long coast line though.
The lodge was of course fully booked due to the big amazing and unique Bon Jovi concert.

Pros:
- Excellent location on only a short stone drop from the World Unesco heritage site of Newgrange;
- Huge number of pillows, we counted like 7 of them on each bed, well you can't have too many right.
- Helpful and kind receptionist when we booked in at night (Helen) .
Plenty of free flyers displayed of all things interesting to venture around in co. Meath and Louth, the ‘wee’ counties.
- Well stock library and games, TV and relax room upstairs. But no beer or consumptions were allowed, even though crisp machine was on display.
- They also sold neat Celtic jewellery downstairs.

Neutral:
- Plenty of parking, but a bit unorganized;
- There was only a basic selection of self-service foods at breakfast, great berry yoghurt though, but bit old coffee. And the kitchen and waiter staff seem to be busy with other things, other with guests. In other words the buffet style felt a wee bit like a 1 star guesthouse or hostel. Such as shame for such a lovely stunning looking lodge in a gorgeous setting.

Cons:
- Noisy corridors; you could hear neighbor guests through through the walls or even recognize their singing from the shower.
- Very tight kitchen downstairs;
- Hidden steps on the corridors (which might pose a Health and Safety issue maybe, though there were marked though);
- Unfortunately the receptionist at check out was not as helpful though, she didn’t even said good bye or enjoy your journey or something.
- We could see the waste bins and water and other mains from our room window.
- There was a constant humming sound throughout the night.

Overall: Value for money: yes, especially the function room/decors and pillows and also the glass conservatory, amazing. But with some improvements it could be a better run lodge. Maybe invest in sound proof walls for the guest rooms, for starters..

Room Tip: Book/get a room away from ta room facing he waste bins and mains.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerben4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I booked several rooms for my family as we were attending a wedding nearby but as the weather was so good we decided to stay a couple of days. We could have stayed longer as this was an absolute hidden gem right on our doorstep. Sinead was the person who took the booking and could not have been more helpful and in fact we found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful.It has a very home from home feel and we enjoyed using the BBQ with the children during the day and ordering food from nearby and having a few drinks we brought in on the decked area at the front. The Lodge has dorms so there were several (well behaved) students about which only added to the holiday atmosphere. For what we paid it was terrific value and we will be returning

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodeway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Newgrange lodge is just 5 mins walk from the monuments visitor centre and less than 10 mins drive to Drogheda and funtasia waterpark.
The lodge itself is quaint and focused towards self service amienities, with a communal kitchen, BBQ and tv areas.
Staff are very welcoming and friendly which is lovely and breakfast is self service with continental fare.
The rooms are functional but quite small. We had a family room for 4, two single beds and a double bed took up 99% of the floor space so don't expect lots of room to move about, but we weren't there to be in the rooms other than to sleep, so if that's your plan, you'll have a lovely stay!
Shall be back again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsTy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located just a 5 minute walk from Newgrange. The hotel is really decorated nice in the common areas, though the bathrooms and rooms are quite small. Be sure to be there to sleep and not to hang out in your room and watch TV.
The hotel staff was extremely helpful. They also were able to call over and get us on a tour so we didn't have to walk over and wait in line. I would also recommend eating at Daly's down the road - food was amazing!

Room Tip: Great value, safe and convenient, corner rooms are just as small
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
10.3 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
650 reviews
4.2 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
4.2 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
5.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Lodge

Address: Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Donore
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newgrange Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly an old farmhouse, Newgrange Lodge provides a unique venue the offer hotel accommodation and traditional Irish hospitality at bed and breakfast rates to both groups and the independent traveler alike. We are located opposite the world famous Heritage site of Newgrange, a tomb pre-dating the pyramids and Stonehenge by 400 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Newgrange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Lodge Ireland/Donore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing