We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The noisiest hotel ever!”
Review of Newgrange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newgrange Lodge
Reviewed March 11, 2013

On arrival the place seemed ideal. Friendly staff, looked the part and was very close to where we needed.

Myself and partner were visiting Ireland for a friends wedding. We got back after the wedding at about 3am to sleep, looking forward to getting up at 9.30 for breakfast. We were awoken at 6.45am by about 20 children above us running around, jumping off beds, even running around the building and past our room screaming for 3 hrs solidly.

Needled to say we were more than a little angry.

Of course this is not the fault of the children who were there on a scouting holiday, it is the fault of the staff who book a room of 20 young children above the rooms of other guests. Who on EARTH does this?

This completely ruined our experience as we were incredibly tired and angry. Lucky my partner managed to get a full refund which helped a little as paying €69 for the pleasure of 3.75hrs sleep is not what I would call value for money.

I also overheard a guest asking why there was no sausage or bacon included in the breakfast and the staff replied with 'We were not informed you would want bacon or sausage? I'll see if there's any left over from yesterday". Incredible.

Will not need to stay here again which is great as I would rather stay in the surrounding woodlands with no tent and guarantee a better nights sleep.

Room Tip: Only stay here if you REALLY need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 268 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful accommodation at a great price, perfectly situated to the Newgrange Visitors Centre. The room was very clean, comfortable and warm with ensuite. The Lodge had several nice areas for relaxation and a lovely fire place. Breakfast was very good and the staff excellent and very helpful. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

You may walk to the Visitor's Center from the Lodge, tour the center and take a tour of Newgrange Tombs. The Lodge is an upscale Hostel, with singles, doubles, and Dorm rooms, and a hearty breakfast include with your stay. I loved the sitting areas and the outdoor court yard. We cooked a dinner on the gas grill! Friendly, helpful staff!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs, if available, or in the back of the Lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

On our way to the Newgrange visitor center we noticed the Newgrange Lodge and decided to spend the night there. The staff was nice and helpful and we easily got rooms as it was off-season. The rooms were very tiny with very tiny baths (ensuite) but overall it was fine for one night and the price was good (about $66.00). There were several nice areas to sit and relax and there was a communal kitchen to cook if so desired. The stay included a continental breakfast that was so-so but got us started on our next day. Overall would recommend especially for families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This quite large bed and breakfast accommodation is family-friendly and the perfect base for exploration of the sacred Valley of the Boinne with its spectacular stone-age sites of Newgrange, Knowth and Dowth. It is also convenient for the Royal Hill of Tara, and the monastic sites of Slane and Monasterboice.

Room Tip: Book well ahead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a wonderful way to start our visit to Ireland - New Grange Lodge has very comfortable lodgings plus indoor and outdoor lounge areas that invite you to stay, relax, enjoy! From the comfortable downstairs bar lounge to spacious breakfast room, cozy upstairs tv lounge to outdoor garden or indoor sunroom, it is easy to find a spot to curl up and unlax. But the STAFF really makes this a true Irish Gem. Each has their own unique personality that makes you feel welcome and like family with genuine interest in daily activities or needs they can solve - even if that means the owner gets in her car to drive you to the town safely or throwing an Independence Day Irish Dance. Whether heading to nearby tombs or distant Trim, across the river to the Battle of the Boyne or Loughcrew, Navan, or Cavan, it's an easy drive that doesn't take much time. Look forward to a return visit

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shay d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

From the very first phone call at booking to leaving the staff were amazing, they really did go out of their way, especially a girl called Sinead, she booked newgrange for us before we left our home. The room was spotless along with the 2 lounge rooms which were great. Plenty of seating inside and out. A one minute walk from Newgrange visitors centre and 5 mins drive from splash world. Even with lots of groups and back packers this had a real warm, friendly atmosphere for my wife, two young daughters and I.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris197979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
3.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
394 reviews
10.3 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
675 reviews
1.1 mi away
Daly's of Donore
Daly's of Donore
#1 of 1 in Donore
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Flynns of Termonfeckin
Flynns of Termonfeckin
#1 of 1 in Termonfeckin
58 reviews
3.9 mi away
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
Drogheda Townhouse B&B
#6 of 13 in Drogheda
11 reviews
4.3 mi away
Spoon and the Stars
Spoon and the Stars
#3 of 13 in Drogheda
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Lodge

Address: Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Donore
Price Range: $54 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Newgrange Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly an old farmhouse, Newgrange Lodge provides a unique venue the offer hotel accommodation and traditional Irish hospitality at bed and breakfast rates to both groups and the independent traveler alike. We are located opposite the world famous Heritage site of Newgrange, a tomb pre-dating the pyramids and Stonehenge by 400 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Newgrange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Lodge Ireland/Donore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing