We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Newgrange Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Newgrange Lodge
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“5 star location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights and had a lovely welcome from Sinead. She was really friendly and was a mine of information. Our room was small, but adequate. The bathroom was surprisingly big and had a window. The walls are very thin, so every noise is heard on either side and from above! We spent our full day in the area viewing sites such as Newgrange, Battle of the Boyne site, Slane Castle and a lovely meal in the evening in Daly's pub in Dunore, just up the road from the lodge. Great lounge area in the lodge, people had brought food, snacks, drinks etc and watched TV or played Chess. Big plus is the free wifi. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms further away from reception cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    40
    28
    24
See reviews for
75
74
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

we had a very plesent stay at this lodge, the staff were friendly, lots of areas to sit down and have a talk, good areas for teenagers to sit and talk. We could order in pizza or bring a bottle of wine in at night and have a relaxing drink in the seating areas. One bedroom to avoid is the one over the reception, you can hear the phone ringing and people checking in at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1joeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Were going to late in the day to Newgrange so stayed here for the night. Newgrange is only a short 5 minute walk away. Service was terrific, they really make you feel welcome and give good information. It is a lodge so rooms are fairly small but there are lots of common areas with space. There is a communal kitchen too if you want to cook your own meals or put drinks in the fridge. Breakfast was included and was good, cereals and toast etc. It delivers on what it is trying to be.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A great place to stay if you are visiting Newgrange visitor centre and the Battle of the Boyne and Drogheda. Great rooms, very friendly and professional staff and good food. cant say anything better :)

Room Tip: Dont pick the ones with just the bunk beds its harder to sleep in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorcan775539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My daughter and I stayed two nights at Newgrange and we were both mostly pleased with our experience. The hospitality was outstanding, the beds comfortable and breakfast more than adequate. On the downside, the floors in the common areas (and there were several very comfortable ones!) were rather dirty. The receptionist also extended the use of the washing machine. This was located in an outside building and was surrounded by overflowing dumpsters, trash strewn about and the accompanying stench. The washer did not work properly and clothes had to be dried by hanging over poles in the boiler room, which left them smelling of diesel fuel. But we did come away with clean clothes. The location was a real plus, with Newgrange just a stone's throw down the road. Another pleasant surprise was the Chinese take-out in Donore - open till midnight and absolutely the best Chinese either of us had ever had.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blues123Australia, Owner at Newgrange Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear Anne,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Lodge. I remember you and your daughter during your stay, you were stuck to do washing and we let you use the staff washing machine. Normally this area is restricted to staff so apologies if you were disappointed with the presentation, but it is a busy working laundry, we made an exception for you to use it.
In future we shall be keeping the washing machine area out of bounds for guest use.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip around Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Now this is the real taste of Ireland located less than 20minutes drive from Dublin City Centre. A fabulous tranquil oasis situated across the road from the Unesco World Heritage site which is Newgrange.. More of a boutique guesthouse. The attention to detail in the deco is amazing. A feel of myth and traditional magic is apparent through the art work, It has a warm relaxing charm with two huge well equipt lounges . We were greeted by Leon who made us instantly at home with a warm Irish welcome of tea and a slice of apple pie-yummie. Leons local knowledge and advise was brilliant, she simply could not have done more for use from arranging a guided visit to Newgrange to directing us back to Dublin.
The room what luxurious and the breakfast was plentiful.
Overall great quality and value not reflective in the price-amazingly enough for Ireland.
Definitely we will be back only regret-we hadn’t stayed for longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pixiemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I went with friends to go to a wedding near the Newgrange Lodge. The staff could not have been nicer. They were exceptionally professional and helpful. The Lodge itself is lovely. The staff went out of their way to accomodate your requests. Would definitely recommend the Lodge to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
4.2 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
10.3 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
4.3 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
3.9 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
7.6 mi away
Tankardstown
Tankardstown
#1 of 3 in Slane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newgrange Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newgrange Lodge

Property: Newgrange Lodge
Address: Staleen Road | Newgrange, Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Donore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newgrange Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly an old farmhouse, Newgrange Lodge provides a unique venue the offer hotel accommodation and traditional Irish hospitality at bed and breakfast rates to both groups and the independent traveler alike. We are located opposite the world famous Heritage site of Newgrange, a tomb pre-dating the pyramids and Stonehenge by 400 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, PitchUp and Priceline so you can book your Newgrange Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newgrange Lodge Ireland/Donore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing