We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (2,296)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveler rating
1,465
357
75
26
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,465
357
75
26
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews winter solstice visitor center shuttle bus passage tomb tour guide arrive early visit newgrange newgrange site awe inspiring world heritage site buy tickets stone age amazing site thousand years egyptian pyramids ancient history well worth the visit
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Need to book ahead usually
7.50 in
Free parking
Well worth seeing
Cafe is ok too
A couple of hours is plenty

Thank samboDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a great WHS.
my visit
Arrived late in the afternoon in early November hoping there were spaces. There was but I didn’t realise the last pm group (3.15pm) can only go to the Newgrange site. This was a shame but still awesome as this is billed as one of the best prehistoric sites in the world...5,000+ years old.
The site
Newgrange is awesome and the Boinne valley is stunning. The construction of the tomb is very interesting and you get to go into the inner chamber. The effort that our ancestors put into building this was immense.
Facilities
Modern centre with parking, toilets, gift shop, cafe and information film show. The best thing is the informative displays they have there.
Price - €7 for Newgrange visit.
Accessibility - the centre is but you have to walk over a stepped bridge to get to the bus (short drive to site) and I didn’t see anything amenable to wheelchair users. The same is to be said and you definitely won’t be able to get into the chamber as it is restrictive.
Other languages - English speaking guides only. Don’t know if there are audio guides.
Cons - I felt rushed to leave they wanted to lock up and when they leave any vehicles will get locked in.
Bóinne Valley - stunning historical valley with many other attractions.

Thank davidh384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Newgrange and Knowth are part of the Brú na Bóinne heritage centre, it is €7 for each site or cheaper if you buy both at the same time. Bru na Bóinne is about a 40 minute drive out of Dublin, you are advised to buy tickets in advance as it gets busy. We hadn’t but arrived just as it opened (9:30) and were able to buy tickets for both sites. You are bused to both sites, we were outside for about 3 hours in all and it was very cold so best to dress up warm. There is more to see at Knowth as it is a bigger site but going into the chamber at Newgrange is definitely worth doing.

Thank I1653NJlindak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There are very few places in the world where you can stand in a building that is 5000 years old (predating the Egyptian pyramids and stonehenge by a distance ) which is still in its original state of construction! If this doesnt blow your mind, you need to get here and try it for yourself. It may seem underwhelming on first sight but this is a chance to connect to something deep in the human psyche. Well organised visitor centre with decent cafe and excellent gift shop.

Thank ostan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a fantastic site, with many original stones in place. It supposedly pre-dates the pyramids. The visitor center is excellent. Well worth a visit.

Thank BigAlks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We saw a little blurb that Newgrange would be interesting. Used our GPS which was a mistake as that took us straight to the site and then had to back track 15 minutes to the Visitor Center to get tickets and take a bus as they only give escorted tours. However, the center itself is full of information and Newgrange was very awe inspiring when squeezing into the center of the monument through a 19' narrow stone passage. The surrounding countryside is also very picturesque. One item our guide didn't mention was that two large stones outside Newgrange lined up with the entrance that allows the winter solstice light to enter the interior.

Thank BostonJandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Excellent historic and beautiful place. Well managed. Access via the Visitor Centre and shuttle buses. Ancient place, partly recreated, but still giving a glimpse into the late Stone Age.

Thank Ffoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful visit. Guide was informative and patient. It was very cold on top of the mountain. The wind was blowing and there was no where to get out of wind. Dress warmly.

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

Visited the Newgrange visitors centre and the monument with my Mam and 2 children. Fantastic experience, highly recommended.

Thank Sonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

I had never thought about Ireland as a place to find historic sites older than the pyramids. I should have known but was amazed by the history of Bru na Boinne. It is not really a burial mound but is a place where cremated bodies were taken at the winter solstice and then taken out to bury at local burial mounds that are apparent across the landscape. At the solstice the sun aligns perfectly to penetrate through the structure to the back chamber. One important note is that access is limited If you just go without making prior arrangements, you will only get to the visitor's center which would be a big disappointment. Make arrangements ahead for tickets or go with an organized tour (which is what we did)

Thank achristy2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews