We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out”

Red Mountain Open Farm
Ranked #4 of 6 things to do in Donore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Red Mountain Open Farm is a new, great and affordable day out. Open all year round it is the ideal destination for family outings, Birthday and Hen parties, fun and educational tours, for corporate team building and company days. Special needs groups and youth clubs also find the Open Farm ideal. Each visiting Group is catered for separately and we invite groups to speak to us in advance, to discuss their individual needs, likes and dislikes. Additionally, we have special seasonal celebrations at Halloween, Christmas, Patrick’s Day, Easter, May Day and Summer Camps. Watch our site for details of upcoming events.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Took our 6 & 5 year old boys for what we thought would be a short visit, was lucky to drag the boys (including my hubby) after 3 hours!!!
Our bucks flew around the farmyard on toy tractors, then into the petting farm shed, then the straw maze, the sand pit was a big hit, then the mini ride-on car track - they really loved that. The tractor barrel ride was a real treat & we joined them for horse & cart ride v enjoyable. There is a playground area to relax in - will definitely take a proper picnic next time!! All the staff were very helpful & very chatty.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mumkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    5
    5
    35
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Day Out For Special Needs Children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We held a fundraiser for a charity linked with autistic children today at Red Mountain Farm. Our group included many children with autism and their siblings. From the start, Liz and Myles were very helpful and did everything they could to make the day safe and enjoyable. The kids loved the open play areas, the maze and the sandpits. They enjoyed the animals which included pigs with newborn piglets, rabbits, cows, easter chicks, goats, and a donkey. We had a picnic lunch in the barn, which had plenty of tables and hot drinks available, The thing they loved the most was the barrel train pulled along by the tractor. Red Mountain Farm is a very reasonably priced family day out. We found the staff really helpful and sensitive to our needs. It was great for us to be able to get together as a group and watch our children having such a great time. I would recommend RMF without reservation.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Autiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kids had great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Lovely set up. We were able to have our picnic inside. My little guy just loved the black baby piglet, it was tiny.
Lots of fun was had in the hay.
A god trip all round

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great value, great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My two boys had a blast today. They loved all the animals and the staff where so nice letting the hold some. they had a blast in the mazes and go karts and loved the barn for the picnic. We had a great time over all and it was fantastic value for money. You wouldnt spend the day here but it was well worth the drive for a few hours. Thanks again to all the staff for being so welcoming.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Easter Bank Hol Monday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Came across this by chance...never heard of it before...Had our 3 girls with us..10...5 and 3...they loved it...new born baby pigs, new chicks,....plenty of swings, small maize, spent 2.5 hrs here...brought our own picnic, which we were able to eat indoors ....friendly staff....all in all, good daay out ;)....ONLY complaint is we had to fold and unfold double buggy ( we also had infant twins )... in order to get in and out of indoor eating area, as it isn't wheelchair accessible :(

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mountain Open Farm also viewed

Donore, County Meath
Donore, County Meath
 
Navan, County Meath
Slane, County Meath
 

Been to Red Mountain Open Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing