We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Daly's of Donore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daly's of Donore
Ranked #1 of 1 Donore B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would not recommend anyone to stay here, bed shoved into a corner, not that it really mattered because the bed was so uncomfortable there wasn't much hope of a good night sleep, it's a cheapest of the cheap mattress. Even if it was comfy the fact that there are no curtains, only see through torn office blinds on the windows guarantees you will be up at the dawn. The bathroom.... No hot water, 4 trickles of water from the COLD shower and not room to swing a cat. We stayed here because we needed somewhere to stay at short notice but to be honest we would have got more sleep in the car!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonsweeney7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    40
    27
    13
    17
See reviews for
41
58
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We visited the bar and then the restaurant last week, the service at the bar was quick and friendly!The restaurant served an excellent feed with large portions - we would recommend the ham shank and Guinness pie, we had no room for dessert!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Project2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my partner & our 2 yr old son the Aug bank holiday wknd , room was spacious & spotless with a flatscreen tv. Food in the restaurant was lovely & plentiful. Just 5 mins away from Funtasia Waterpark in Drogheda , would stay again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle31210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in Daly's for 5 nights in July 2013 and were very satisfied with the whole experience. The breakfasts were exceptional, courtesy of Chef Mark and waitress Linda. We also dined in the restaurant and bar with no complaints about service or quality. We have no hesitation in recommending Daly's for a short break and hopefully we will return in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for room 31
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuneP1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were attending a wedding in Drogheda but didn't want to pay the higher prices in the town so we found Dalys was perfect for our needs. We arrived at 12:30 and as the girls were still cleaning our room (check in was at 2pm) we wandered over to the bar for some bar food. The menu is basic but the food was tasty, hot, and plentiful!
When we finished, our room was ready and it was basic, clean, tea/coffee available (but hard to find a socket to plug in the kettle) with a large walk in shower (bliss) and other toilet fixtures.
We got an online deal which was room only at an amazing price. I had breakfast the next day and I got juice, cereal, scrambled egg with bacon, toast and coffee for €4.95!! Be warned the "small" Irish breakfast is huge :)
All the staff we came in contact with were polite and welcoming. We did not find it inconvenient to check in at the bar, the process was speedy and friendly.
The only down side for us was that some other residents had a major argument in the early hours of the morning. The noise was appalling as it echoed in the hall. And we were in room 25 which had windows facing the footpath so the curtains had to be closed all the time and I agree with the other reviewer net curtains would be nice.
But overall it was a good experience and I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms over the bar are quieter, yes really. Or ask for a room on the top floor of the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyCrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you intend visiting New Grange, Dalys Inn is the perfect place to stay, the Inn has 30 rooms that are clean, with ensuite, the shower has a strong flow, we were on the top floor, the room has a TV with DVD, flat screen mounted on the wall.

Dinner is fantastic with the choice of a set menu of a la carte, and breakfast is great, so for a great night stay before or after New Grange, trey this inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1967RSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent one night in Daly's of Donore recently and found it to be very good in terms of basic, affordable accommodation. Daly's is a short distance outside of Drogheda so you will need a car or taxi in order to get there. The accommodation is separate from the inn itself and is quiet and comfortable. While it would be fair to say that the room was basic, the en-suite bathroom was beautifully finished, fully kitted out with brand new modern sanitary-ware and was sparkling clean. Although we over-slept next morning and had in fact missed breakfast, the staff were more than helpful with the lady chef offering to make us breakfast even though it was clear that she was very busy with preparations for Sunday lunch. In the end so as not to put her out too much we settled for a compromise of cereal, scrambled eggs and toast and were very impressed by the way in which the staff really put themselves out in this respect. I would highly recommend Daly's to anyone wishing to avail of clean, affordable accommodation in the Drogheda area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
3.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
3.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.3 mi away
Conyngham Arms Hotel
1.0 mi away
Newgrange Lodge
Newgrange Lodge
#1 of 2 in Donore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's of Donore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's of Donore

Property: Daly's of Donore
Address: Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Daly's of Donore 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Daly's of Donore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daly's Of Donore Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing