We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Daly's of Donore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daly's of Donore
Ranked #1 of 1 Donore B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2011

An very pleasant stay. Very helpful and friendly service. Excellent room and meals.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Daly's of Donore
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 142 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

While staying at the Newgrange Lodge during our photo workshop we brought our customers over to Daly's for lunch and dinner. The staff is friendly and food is excellent. prices are at a reasonable level and gives you good value for money. Their pub located next door is also worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

much more than we were expecting,we met great characters in the bar, great restaurant, great food, friendly staff, can eat for 10 euros, had some trouble booking in, but only because bar staff were very busy. Worth a look!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmd97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Stayed in Dalys on new years eve with friends . We had a lovely meal in the restaurant and there was a great party afterwards in the bar . Dalys is a small country hotel, and I would highly recommend it !

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antonia023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We booked here for two nights with a few fellow scout leaders having spent a week sleeping on the floor in a scout hall in Wales. The scout hall had better facilities. We just wanted somewhere where we could have good food, a few drinks and a bed.

The rooms had no phones and only two channels on the TV. There was no information in the rooms about breakfast, restaurant times or other information about the hotel or surrounding area.

Meath were playing a GAA quarter final on the Sunday and the pub was full. Food was brought out and given to all the tables except ours. All the other tables were locals. When I ordered drinks the queue was very long and local were served before us. We then had no food as the kitchen closed early on a Sunday and we were lucky there was a take away in the village which we had to eat in the very small room, on the bed as there was no table. There was also no residence bar which we were not made aware of until last drinks.

I would never again set foot in the place and would not recommend it. This is terrible as I am originally from Co Louth and now living quite near. What must foreign tourists think. My advise is to avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I selected Daly's for its proximity to Newgrange and the Dublin airport and that part was true. The website makes it look much for comfortable than it is. The rooms are not "elegent" and my room looked nothing like the picture on the website. The rooms were very basic. While we had a quiet night, I think it's because there were not many other people staying there on a week night in May.

Our reservation clearly stated that breakfast was included, but when we sat down for breakfast in the morning, the waitress stated that breakfast was not included and charged us 8 or 9 euro for very poor food. There was no management around to speak to, so we paid. Numerous emails to the hotel have gone unanswered. They clearly do not care about customer service. I do not know why they call themselves a B&B!

Also, there was no internet access, which is not a big deal, but something that one has come to expect these days.

Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable, but I don't feel anyone was around to manage the place or to speak with should you have a question.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolZelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2010

It is interesting that there has not been a recent report on this establishment, which may say something about the reaction of TripAdvisor guests.

We stayed there two weeks ago and originally booked for 2 nights, but moved on after one night of exploitation and indifferent food.

A previous reviewer mentioned trouble in gaining access to Reception: well nothing has changed. The door from the road was locked at 17.00 – a time when you might imagine that guest would be trying to check-in? Once we got into the Reception area the office behind the counter looked as though a bomb had hit it recently – perhaps we should have taken that as a warning! The (male) receptionist was offhand and appeared both bored and overwhelmed by what was expected of him.

Our small “cell” of a room in the accommodation block can best be described as “basic”. The small shower-room had a toilet which was not clean. The TV in the room produced just 2 Irish channels in blurred vision and fellow guests were clearly having problems getting reception for their mobiles.

A dog barked nearby throughout the night. Our room was on the first floor above the exit door, which could not be closed quietly.

By next morning we had resolved to move on. Breakfast was frankly disgusting for the price. One type of juice, three options for (packet) cereals. We ordered scrambled egg on toast. When it came it was clearly out of a packet and was incredibly dry and solid. When we looked around the dining area, we realised that other guests had also abandoned food only partly eaten. The breakfast area was “run” by another young person who seemed out of her depth.

We can only conclude that Daly’s survives on the basis of its proximity to Newgrange and the fact that guests only stay one night – so repeat business is not an issue. We learned later that morning when visiting Newgrange that Newgrange Lodge, which is opposite the entrance to the site, is a much better option. So avoid Daly’s unless you want to be taken for a ride as a tourist. And, by the way, a pint of lager in the bar is €4 !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CardiffRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Donore
3.0 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
373 reviews
3.3 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
4.8 mi away
Glenside Hotel
Glenside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Drogheda
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,235 reviews
7.5 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
4.4 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daly's of Donore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daly's of Donore

Address: Donore, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Donore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Donore
Price Range: $69 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Daly's of Donore 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Daly's of Donore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daly's Of Donore Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing