We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel in quiet location, Average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Joondalup City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“New Hotel in quiet location, Average rooms”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Medium sized "executive" rooms were $189.00 and only had a firm Double Bed. Nice pillows thou. New 32" LCD TV with foxtel but only a single lounge chair to watch it from. Bathroom was a great size and well laid out. Shower was great. Restaurant was well priced with the food being good. The $5 dessert is well worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
10
5
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was recently on business for a couple of weeks north of Perth so the location of this hotel suited my needs. The rooms were your basic hotel room, but I have to say that the double bed was VERY comfortable.

The reception staff was very helpful and courteous and helped with any requests I had. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job and my room was fresh and clean each day.

What I loved:
The double bed was very comfortable
The shower was one of the best showers I've had in any hotel I recently stayed in. Lots of pressure and lots of hot water.
The location was walking distance to restaurants and the Joondalup shopping mall.

Tips:
The reception staff leaves at 8:00 pm so I would advise you to carry two keys with you at all times in case one gets lost. Otherwise you're locked out of your room and hotel. There is an "after hours" caretaker number, but if your locked out of the hotel, you're hooped.

You have to prepay your internet at the front desk. ( I think its 3 hours / 1 day or 3 day time packages. Mine ran out after 8pm so I was stuck with no internet until next morning when reception came back in. My advise is that you pay for a second "code" so if yours runs out after 8pm , you have the second code you can enter.

I will recommend this hotel to any business traveler , and will definitely come back here if I'm sent back to work North of Perth again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at Joondalup City Hotel for 2 nights. At $200 a night (not cheap for Perth) we had a basic room which is just what we needed as we were out and about all day and only needing the place at night to sleep. Room was fine, Double Bed, TV, coffee making facilities, mini bar table and chair, and bathroom with a big shower. Must say we are use to paying $200 to stay at places with beach views or resort facilities so was a little expensive but did the job.
Parking was at the rear, and had no problems finding the place.
Small recpetion area where we checked in. On check out we had to let them know that our dvd got stuck in the dvd player and the remote to operate the dvd player was a complete different brand and wouldnt work, or the buttons on the dvd player. They came up staright away whilst checking out and somehow got it out and were on to seeing where the remote is.

Room Tip: Basic City get away
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HeidiandKeith26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
351 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I don't think I've ever been to a hotel that was so hard to find! My Garmin GPS couldn't find Grand Boulevard so looked this address up on Google Maps instead and no, this isn't a product placement review! Just that this hotel is on the corner and hard to spot from the street!

Once I found the parking at the rear, I was OK though and George, the manager there was hlpful and friendly.

Joondalup is around 40 minutes drive from Perth Airport and when I arrived there in the afternoon, it was a pleasant event-free drive but be warned, the traffic back to eh airport in the morning, even at 5.30am was horrendous! Such is the downside of living in the burbs of a big city I guess!

Joondalup to me, seemed to be like a film set! All the buildings looked the same, how does anyone find their way home? The streets are wide and clean and has a huge shopping mall albeit sparsely populated with shopper but I may have just gone there at a quiet time?

The hotel itself has smallish rooms but fine for a night or two. I'm not that enthused about the LED lighting in the corridors though even though they're energy saving, they emit so little light that the corridor feels gloomy and creepy but maybe I've seen too many movies!

There was also a LED light in the bathroom and this flickered incessently which was a bit annoying but I was only there a night so didn't report this.

The hotel is pretty new and had a restaurant on teh ground floor where I had a surf and turf dinner for $33 which I thought was pretty good value and tasty. The ice cream dessert was only $5 and more than I could finish.

I wasn't there for long enough to look around to see where all the people were but it's a pleasant enough place but don't expect much activity there, it's pretty deseerted but good if you like peaceful, quiet places

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My stay was a one night stop but the room was nice and fixtures and fittings modern and well cared for. Bathroom was nice, clean and well stocked with accessories a tired traveller needs.
Parking was good (at rear) and a nice restaurant just 2 mins walk up the road.
Great place for business travellers. Pleased to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blahnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone! My friends and I stayed here last year We booked 1 room for $200 and when we got to our room we found that the toilet would not flush and a light in the bathroom was not working. We reported these problems and were told they would be seen to while we were out for the afternoon and night. Upon our return we found that nothing had been fixed but as it was late, the front desk was closed. When we checked out the next morning we again told the person serving us that our toilet and light were not working and if it was possible for us to get a part refund on our stay. We were told "no, we cannot do that"! We were not even given an apology for the inconvenience that it caused us and to add insult, we were apparently served by the hotel MANAGER!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessFF86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joondalup hotels

Perth - Western Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

There is not much in accommodation (hotels) to choose from in the Joondalup area, we found this hotel to be clean and well run, but expensive for what it had to offer. We stayed on a Saturday night, and was told upon arrival that the restaurant was closed that evening. Staff were polite, but not friendly. Recommend only due to cleanliness and a little cheaper than the resort.

Room Tip: We were told that Queen beds only were available at this hotel, no singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rianae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joondalup
10.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
5.0 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
144 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
291 reviews
11.1 mi away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#3 of 6 in Scarborough
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Joondalup Resort
Joondalup Resort
#1 of 1 in Connolly
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup City Hotel

Property: Joondalup City Hotel
Address: 18 Grand Bvd, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joondalup City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joondalup City Hotel is a brand new independently owned boutique hotel, nestling on a tree lined boulevard in the City Centre North of Joondalup, the capital of the Northern Suburbs of Perth, Western Australia. Our stylish, modern design hosts 35 bedrooms and suites, with levels of comfort which will satisfy the tastes and needs of travelers and visitors to Western Australia. With professional and friendly staff, our 5-star attitude and 3-star pricing ensures a pleasurable and affordable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joondalup City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing