We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Joondalup City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

The poeple who run the Joondalup are wonderful and can't do enough for you.
The rooms are nice and modern.
The food from the restaurant and room service is good for hotel food.
The only issue was that the cleaners turned the Air con off every day when they cleaned so the rooms are hot and stuffy when you get back from the office.
Otherwise, great for business.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanniestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    15
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
10
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

CONS - Old style CRT television, only a few Foxtel cable stations (ghosty too), surrounded by residential, no restaurants or shops in immediate vicinity, no underground or secure parking, restaurant closed Sunday nights, not the cleanest place. Bed felt tinny. Hotel and locale felt sterile and lonely - yet almost $200 per night. Internet @ $20 night. Not a good place for single female because it's isolated

PROS - If you're a walker, Lakeside Shopping Centre is a 10-15 walk away as is Edith Cowan University and the city train network. Very quiet!

Next time I'm in Perth I'd stay near Hillarys Wharf marina complex or Scarborough (for beaches and trendy dining), downtown (for a good range of 4 and 5 star hotels) or Fremantle (for cafes and character)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Joondalup hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

The hotel is located at the Northern edge fof Perth. It is a great place to stay if you are doing business in that area. The hotel is small with around 30 rooms. It has ample parking. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The service is friendly and they have a small restaraunt for breakfasts and light dinners. It is very quiet. Some of the rooms could be a little larger and the TV reception etc isnot great.

If, like me, you are travelling on business, so it is one of those places where you are only in the hotel for a matter of hours than it is a good place to sleep, shower, breakfast and move on.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2008

my husband and myself stayed for 4 nights at the end of July this year while visiting friends, rooms were ok, staff ok. cleaned daily, everything in working order, and we had dinner in the restaurant downstairs three nights in a row and breakfast once the food was exceptional.
Shopping mall in walking distance, alongwith other bars and restaurants, we walked down by the lake every morning about 9.00 a.m. and saw our first wild kangaroos jumping around, lots of people take their dogs for their morning walk so there was always someone around
easy access to perth by car, took us about 20minutes

  • Liked — restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ojblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Ive been travelling over to WA for work for the last 5 weeks, and nothing in the CBD even comes close to the value, quality or cleanliness of this place.

Perth CBD hotels have been quite a disappointment, and are not good value at the moment - Over $200 for shabby hotel rooms that are not kept clean and have construction sites across the road, next door or both if you are unlucky.

Meanwhile, up in Joondalup, for less than $160 i've been living it up in near new rooms with lots of light, nice furnishings & that are well equipped (desk, iron, ironing board, tea & coffee making, fridge etc). More importantly they are clean!
The bathroom is spacious, bright, and the shower is excellent too (lots of water pressure and nice and high for tall people).

This place is great and comfortable for travelling for work. If you dont come expecting big city CBD hotel extras (onsite gym, pool, porters, 'good evening sir' etc ), you wont be disappointed. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the website.

As the hotel is a relatively small complex (i believe there are only 35 rooms) you dont seem to get as many people coming and going past your room as you do in the city hotels. Rooms on the top floor near the ends of the corridors are the best pick if you've got the luxury of choice.

There are a few things that i'd change if I had my way (such as having a separate switch for that annoyingly loud bathroom fan rather than linking it up to the light), but they are only minor, and certainly wouldnt stop me staying here again (and i'll probably be back next week).

  • Liked — Bang for Buck
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilikeicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joondalup
5.0 mi away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
8.3 mi away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
10.9 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.3 mi away
Joondalup Resort
Joondalup Resort
#1 of 1 in Connolly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
6.7 mi away
Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup City Hotel

Property: Joondalup City Hotel
Address: 18 Grand Bvd, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joondalup City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joondalup City Hotel is a brand new independently owned boutique hotel, nestling on a tree lined boulevard in the City Centre North of Joondalup, the capital of the Northern Suburbs of Perth, Western Australia. Our stylish, modern design hosts 35 bedrooms and suites, with levels of comfort which will satisfy the tastes and needs of travelers and visitors to Western Australia. With professional and friendly staff, our 5-star attitude and 3-star pricing ensures a pleasurable and affordable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joondalup City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing