We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sidbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rippon's Safari Lodge
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This is a truly incredible, 5 star experience. From the moment you arrive you are treated like a VIP, nothing is too much trouble. The food, service, knowledge, friendliness, standard are all outstanding. The hospitality from Bryan and his team is relaxed and friendly but first class.
However, this is just the background for your game drives. Our guide, and host, Nofias was the star of the show, delivering the most incredible experiences of African big game. He is very knowledgable, experienced and passionate about wildlife. From the Large mammals, to the birds, insects, plants and reptiles, and even astronomy, Nofias is an expert in his field. Warm and friendly, relaxed approach and always happy to help.

I would definitely return to Rippons year after year. A totally awesome experience, set in beautiful location, with very comfortable accommodation, wonderful food, and the most amazing team of wonderful people who provide outstanding service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goosey2623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 264 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

The Lodge including our room, our meals & the friendliness of the staff where great. However with regard to our Game Drives - the weather was against us. We did two - during which it rained & was cold (end Feb). This occurred on either the drive out or back. My wife needed her gloves,hat and coat each day - miserable. So I just think we were unlucky. I must admit I did not appreciate that an hours drive was necessary each day to find the wildlife. We thoroughly enjoyed South Africa and will return but sadly not to Rippons.

Room Tip: We stayed in the accommodation overlooking the pool area (The Barn?) - it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I can agree with all the latest reviews as we have just returned after 2 wonderful nights there. Well said Wendy regarding Rhynhardt's passion for all the animals and nature within the reserve. His knowledge which he imparted was so very much appreciated. Accommodation and food was very good and we felt it topped off our first stay in S.A. but hopefully not our last. Well done Rippon's Safari Lodge.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms in the Long Barn overlooking the pool, superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairH101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Rippons Safari lodge. What an amazing place. When we arrived at the lodge we were met by the staff we were very proffesional. As soon as you arrive they make you so happy to be there. On the first drive we were met by our ranger, Rhynhardt who's passion for animals and nature was so obvious he was so passionate, and I'm sure without his expert knowledge our safari would not have been the same. He went above and beyond to make our safari a dream come true. ,Every game drive was a pleasure Rhynhardt made sure that you enjoyed every moment. The lodge facilities were also excellent and the staff were superb, especially the chef Adelle who's cooking was amazing, whilst we were there my husband celebrated his 60 birthday, Rhynhardt mentioned this to chef who proudly presented my husband with the birthday cake whilst we were having dinner, words cannot describe how special that moment was for us. From the manager to the maids all the staff were very polite and made you feel very special. We will definitely be returning to Rippons for another safari holiday. This lodge should be rated as 5+ stars. Pure enjoyment.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The safari drives are outstanding, our guide Proppy was so knowledgable, each trip was like an adventure, I was amazed how close you could get to the animals. We saw so many lions!

I was a little disappointed with the accomodation, I was expecting a little more luxury, and unfortunately the constant rain ensured we saw a lot of accomodation when not out on drives. The rooms were a little musty (we stayed in the long barn), with not much to do during the day, no phone, no tv, no wifi, no staff and not many guests around - it took a bit of getting used to!

The food was good, buffet style, breakfast was great as you were so hungry from the morning drive! You sit in your groups from the drives, which gives opportunity for socialising (there were a lot of honeymooners).

Overall I would recommend Rippons for value for money, you are there to see the animals and they are the same whether you have a fancy truck or not.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on our honeymoon. After a bumpy journey along the dirt track (which incidentally was improved whilst we were there) we were warmly welcomed. We had a room in the long barn which was spacious and very clean and well fitted. The terrace off the room lead to the pool area. The pool looks over a lake/river which is home to a hippo. The view really was spectacular and we felt miles from anywhere and so relaxed. It was magnificent lying by the pool and listening to the sounds of the jungle.
As for the game drives we did 7 and loved every one. You bave 2 each day, one at 530 and a second at 15.30. Each drive was different as even though you would often see the same animals they would be in a different setting or group and doing different things. The morning drives can be windy and cold so take a hood or a hat. They are also quite bumpy so be prepared to grip tightly! Our guide was Nofious who was incredibly knowledgable and experienced, he knew where to find the animals and a lot about them even as individual animals! He liked you to be interested and so we felt able to ask lots of questions. You go on the drives in groups of 6 and then sit with your group and guide for breakfast and dinner. We really liked this as you get to know your group really well and can exchange safari experiences. The lodge only holds about 15ish visitors anyway so you get to know everyone and there is a great atmosphere.
We found the food absolutely excellent. The breakfasts are huge and hearty with different choices every day. The dinners were either a la carte with 2 choices or buffet. The drinks aren't included and you sign at the end of the day including for a drink taken on the game drive. If you can, stock up on water and soft drinks before you go as you can't pop to the supermarket whilst you are there!!
It was a magical experience and we loved Rippons so we would highly recommend would like to return one day!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TheTooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Rippon's Safari Lodge, part of the Shamwari Game Reserve is a wonderful place to stay whilst enjoying the thrills of a Safari in South Africa. The accommodation is first class, with all facilities, set in lovely gardens and with a pool. The communal dining serves up excellent food and the camaraderie generated by a shared experience is lovely. The safari itself exceeded all of our expectations. The Game Ranger, Nefios, was very experienced and unerring in his ability to find the big-game in their natural surroundings. A definite must for anyone visiting South Africa.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rippon's Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rippon's Safari Lodge

Address: N2 Between Port Elizabeth & Grahamstown | Eastern Cape, Sidbury, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Sidbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Sidbury
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Rippon's Safari Lodge, a new and exciting landmark in the Eastern Cape, one of South Africa's top game viewing areas - a lodge where down-to-earth affordable luxury and a respect for the environment go hand in hand - right in the centre of some of the best game viewing regions around. Rippons Safari Lodge is situated ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rippon`s Safari Hotel Shamwari Game Reserve
Rippon's Safari Lodge South Africa/Sidbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing