We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful area lovely house but dinner or lack of it!!”
Review of Domaine du Prieure

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Domaine du Prieure
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tonnay-Boutonne
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely old house in large grounds very quiet and peaceful, beautiful bedroom and bathroom clean and spacious, we had booked dinner only to be told there was a problem in the dining room and we would have to eat elsewhere!! adding that we would be better off not eating at the hotel !! this was two minutes before we were due to eat? why were we not told before? we were given a map and instructions to a very good hotel where we enjoyed an excellent meal, no doubt better than the Domaine du Prieure? we will never know.
We had a good breakfast the following morning, although we were annoyed about travelling to another town for our evening meal, as we had travelled a long way and the whole idea was to eat in........

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anngie870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 114 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in July, when the hotel was quite busy, but once in the room, it was an oasis of calm. Hotel seems to have been relatively recently refurbished, and both rooms that my family had were clean and spacious. There is a homely feel to the hotel, and the rooms have character features, and do not feel like generic hotel rooms.

The hotel was so quiet at night, and dark, with no light pollution coming in the windows, as the location is quite rural in the small town of Tonnay Boutonne.

The location is perfect for touring the area, La Rochelle, Royan, Niort, etc, as it is near all arterial routes.

The on-site restaurant serves meals in the evening, if you book in the morning. The menu does not seem to differ each night though, so after 2 nights, we felt that we had exhausted the limited set menu. There are plenty of restaurants a short drive away though in Surgeres or St Jean D'Angely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2007

We've been to this hotel without know anything about it and this was a really great surprise the hotel was recently refurnished and really nice a friendly staff and a good restaurant.

This was a really pleasant stop over that we recommend to everybody instead to go to Rochefort or La Rochelle that are close to the hotel.

Wish you a nice stay there

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lebelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: En soirée étape, la première formule est suffisante
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LANIC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yves P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean marc G, Gérant at Domaine du Prieure, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jean marc G, Gérant at Domaine du Prieure, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tonnay-Boutonne
11.1 mi away
Chateau de Laleard
Chateau de Laleard
#1 of 1 in Saint Hilaire de Villefranche
46 reviews
15.3 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
15.8 mi away
Citotel des Messageries
Citotel des Messageries
#1 of 19 in Saintes
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Hotel La Belle Poule
Hotel La Belle Poule
#9 of 11 in Rochefort
60 reviews
5 mi away
Relais Du Silence Le Logis Du Pere
Relais Du Silence Le Logis Du Pe...
#1 of 2 in Saint Coutant le Grand
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Hameau de Saintonge
Le Hameau de Saintonge
#1 of 2 in Tonnay-Boutonne
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine du Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine du Prieure

Address: 14 rue du Champ de Foire, 17380 Tonnay-Boutonne, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Tonnay-Boutonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Tonnay-Boutonne
Price Range: $78 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine du Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Domaine du Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing