We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Nearby Hotels
$339
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)
$100
$41
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Starry Night at Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
$60
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Heaven Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
$100
$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Gangehi Island Resort(Gangehi Island)
$138
$132
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
$315
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
$1,290
$499
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,758)
Filter reviews
1,758 results
Traveler rating
1,520
177
39
7
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,520
177
39
7
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverwater bungalowanantara veliour honeymoonthai restaurantfishparadise on earthwater poolsister islandhalf boardmale airportdhoni barmaldives resortboat rideprivate islandroom boyindian oceanprivate pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,245 - 1,250 of 1,758 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Just a beautiful place, from management to the cleaners the staff were amazing and the property lives up to the Anantara name.

Room Tip: stay in a ovewater bungalow we had room 180 was g
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Just back from 10 wonderful days at Anantara Veli Resort. This was our second visit, the first in March 2008, even better second time around. We originally selected Anantara resort as a result of the excellent reviews it got on trip adviser, having not been to the Maldives before and were not disappointed. We have since recommended the resort to friends, who were equally impressed. Anantara is unique as it comprises 3 very different islands that make up the one resort - something for everyone. When you arrive in Male, you are met by Anantara staff and taken to their large speedboat, 30 mins later you arrive in paradise ...... On both visits we have stayed at Veli in the overwater bungalows, but split our time (day & evening) between Veli and Dhigu islands. Veli's standard overwater bungalows are spacious and very well appointed, the deluxe even better!. The beauty of Anantara is that as a guest you have plenty of choice in terms of accommodation, beaches, pools, spa & gyms, water and land based activities (snorkelling, canoing and playing cricket on the beach were our family favourites!). There are 8+ restaurants to chose from, and suggest you opt for the dine around as it is great to have so much choice - we recommend Geckos (Italian fusion/Japanese), Fuddan Fusion Grill, Terazzo Italian and Baan Hurra Thai restaurants. The management team are very hard working and professional, staff throughout the resort are friendly and wanting to ensure their guests have a wonderful time. Good mix of nationalities and cultures and everyone seems happy and friendly, which creates a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Our 10 year old son, thinks it is the most perfect place on earth, as do we ... so if you want somewhere that is stunningly beautiful, suitable for couples and families alike, with great accommodation and good facilities, lovely restaurants, professional friendly staff, then Ananatara Veli, Dhigu (and 6* Naladhu) have it all. We will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hampshire_UKSjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Anantara resort is a perfect place to relax and spend time with family. Even if it's a quiet place, it's not difficult to keep kids busy with water sports, There is a very wide offer and staff is helpful. Rooms are very nice and overwater bungalows have plenty of space and peace. There is no reason to be disappointed with anything; okay there may be some minor details that somebody could find something to say. But just minor things; the place is great and customer care is paramount.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucaVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Went there for a week of relaxation.. and fully got everything. Nice staff from pick up at the airport to the drop off at the same place. Professional team, excellent food, many choices, Japanese, Thai, Italian, Burger, Salads, Chinese. Quite expensive, but we were on a meal plan..Was in an Overwater Bungalow in Veli, Dhigu is just a 2 minutes boat ride. Veli is smaller, more private. Dhigu a little bigger with Kid's playground etc.
Over Water Bungalows are nice, air conditioned, small terrace, sun bed, private access to the lagoon. Already a lot of corals and fish directly at your door step-
Went for diving, great team at Aquafanatics, good diving locations very close. Of course at a price. Same for the SPA. Great location, over water, very calm and relaxing, 105 mintes at 130 $. You always feel nearly alone in Veli. That changed only after a lot of people came for Chines New Year.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BK_Shanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have dreamt about going to the Maldives for my honeymoon before I was even in a relationship! When the time came to plan my honeymoon I did a lot of research on tripadvisor to determine the best place to stay in the Maldives. I had the criteria that it had to be one of the higher end ones (it was my honeymoon after all!) and that it had to be accessible via speedboat (not seaplane because we were already spending so much of our trip on a plane - the last thing we needed was yet another flight). I narrowed it down and ended up picking Veli because it was in our top 3 and the cheapest of the 3. I must admit I was nervous because as with all places, there will always be one or two bad reviews on tripadvisor. (Dhigu was also in our top 3)
I could not have been happier with my choice of Anantara Veli! Here are the highlights:
- They were in contact prior to our stay via email so I was able to get a lot of information in advance
- They met us at the airport and because there were only two of us, we essentially had the boat to ourselves
- We were dropped off a Naladhu and were greeted by the Naladhu manager because the Veli manager was engaged. The Naladhu manager was great and took us on a tour of Naladhu and showed us the villas on that island. He also mentioned the option to switch partway through our trip if we wanted to.
- The Veli manager came to escort us to Veli and showed us directly to our room. He immediately poured us a delicious cranberry and ginger juice drink while he checked us in right there. It was nice that we did not have to go to reception but completed check-in at our room.
- The rooms are spacious and clean
- They cleaned your room in the morning and turned down in the evening and provided fresh towels each time, which is key being in a beach/water type resort
- Veli is so nice and quiet and we were glad to stay there and then visit Dhigu as we liked by hopping the pontoon over.
- Snorkelling was fantastic and they offer free snorkelling gear!
- We went to the spa at Dhigu twice and loved it. The masseuse are very well trained. We had some of the best massages we have ever had there.
- Breakfast at 73 degrees each morning was great. The options were endless along with pancakes, waffles, crepes, omlettes, and eggs made in front of you.
- The staff is amazing. Everyone is so friendly and says hello and inquires about your stay. They truly care. Grace, the hostess at 73 degrees greeted us each morning and let us know what was going on that day. Mui at 73 degrees was the best! She chatted with us each day and remembered how we liked our tea each morning. She was so genuine and so helpful!
- We pretty much ate at every restaurant and both pool restaurants. Our favorite was Fuddan on Dhigu. And my favorite dessert was the chocolate souffle. So delicious!
- Love the smoothies at the pool bars!

Our flight was not until much later that night and the hotel arranged to pick up our bags at check out time and store it until the boat came for us in the evening.

Overall this was a fantastic resort in the Maldives. I could not recommend it more!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews