We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jonas & his bike”
Review of Himara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himara Hostel
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A really nice hostel, with really nice staff. I felt really included and taken care of, and it felt more like you were a part of a big family than a guest. The prices were the best for a hostel that i came across in Albania too. The wifi did not reach the room I stayed in, though. But that is totally fine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 63 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

At Himara Hostel we learned that Himarë has much more to offer than the best beaches in Albania. Way better than clean, lonely beaches with crystal clear water which you can enjoy all by yourself in offseason are the people of Himara and especially the owners of the hostel. We felt so welcome at this cozy hostel, that we stayed more than a week longer than planned. The owners will make you feel as part of the crowd if you put some effort to it yourself and maybe care for the place you are spending your time at (so please dont just ask where the beaches are). Ever wondered why the people here speak greek?

The hostel itself is a charming traditional house with a garden that invites you to rest in the sun or shade. The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is a big kitchen used as common room. However, most of the day you will probably spend outside. Check out the pictures and you will know what I mean.

Cyclists will find fellows here and the owner might be able to help out with tools and such if needed, since he is a cyclist too.

For us the stay here was the highlight of travelling Albania for more than four weeks. Thank you guys so much!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank EnricoD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We spent 7 nights in the lovely Himara Hostel this September and were so sad to leave. We had the double room at the back with it's own bathroom which was great for us as a couple who don't normally stay in hostels. There is a beautiful garden with lots of tables and hammocks to relax in and plenty of space for all the guests. The kitchen is great for cooking your own meals and town is only 5 mins walk away to try a local restaurant. There is a little bar where you can buy a beer, the atmosphere is really relaxed, it's peaceful and welcoming. The owners have decorated the hostel in a quirky and fun way which adds a nice touch and makes you feel like you are staying in someone's home. Milto and Egda were really helpful, advising us on everything from the buses and taxis, local beaches and even which butcher to go to, they have a dog and a cat which are really fun to have around. Overall, we loved our stay in Albania in this hostel and think it is brilliant value for money as well.

Room Tip: We had the private double ensuite which was great, nicely decorated, clean and quiet, it has a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Himara Hostel is so nice I didn't want to leave: it was the most relaxing part of my trip to Albania. The hostel owners are really kind, the place is quiet, rooms are big and bathrooms are clean; it is also possible to rent bikes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwalton-1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for a few days and its really fantastic. Such a lovely environment and the family who run it are great. Would really recommend you try it. Albania is a really lovely country , had a great stay

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

lovely hosts,
very clean
cool amenities
i wanted to stay for a few days and ended up
staying for 2 weeks, great chill out place with hammocks, pommegranade trees and grapevines
must go when in albania!

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are lovely and sunny downstairs room are less sunny and cool, good when heatwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The most homely hostel ever. Fantastic location in an incredible part of the world. No idea what the single individual who did not like it was expecting. Breakfast includes fresh fruit from the garden in the back yard, there are hammocks, a huge outdoor area to relax in and a dangerously cheap bar. Loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himare
21.8 mi away
Hotel Erdano
Hotel Erdano
#22 of 42 in Saranda
13 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rondos Hotel
Rondos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himare
67 reviews
8.2 mi away
Altea Beach Lodges
Altea Beach Lodges
#7 of 9 in Dhermi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Augustus Hotel Dhermi
Augustus Hotel Dhermi
#1 of 9 in Dhermi
51 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
21 mi away
Hotel Apollon
Hotel Apollon
#3 of 92 in Saranda
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himara Hostel

Address: Spile, Himare 9425, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Himare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Price Range: $22 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old (but newly restored) family stone house within an easy five minute walk from Himara's city center and its nearest beach awaits you! A calm atmosphere for all ages is complemented by its garden and friendly owners. Free internet is served all the time and don't be surprised if you are served some of the great mountain tea (a local specialty made with mint), some homemade jam, or perhaps raki to enliven your spirits. Not that they will really need a boost here!There are two dorms upstairs - four beds each, one of the bedrooms has it's own traditional fireplace. The rooms are cool and breezy throughout the day. The bathroom features a shower. The kitchen is on the ground floor of the stone house and is fully equipped with a fridge/freezer, electric kettle, coffee machine, toaster, tableware, silverware, pots, pans etc. everything for self-catering. An independent bedroom (double bed +1 bunk bed on demand) in the back of the house, with it's own bathroom and porch, sleeps up to 4 persons. Towels and bed linen are included.Our Garden:Freddo' coffees are served in our garden that features orange trees, pommengranate trees and our own small bamboo 'forest', hammocks and swings furnish this lovely garden. If you aren't in the garden you will probably be relaxing on one of the patios shaded by numerous grape vines.Smoking is allowed as long as ashtrays are used.There are two puppies and a cat in the property.Our hostel is ideal for families with children.All guest should maintain the outdoor environment clean. Property door locks at 12:00 at night and a key can be provided.Please note:Cancellation Policy: 1 day before arrivalCheck In: please inform us about your arrival time. Our doors close at Midnight!Check Out: 12.00 noonMethod of Payment upon the arrival: Cash only!Taxes are included. Suitable for families, big garden, pet's allowed (there are two very friendly puppies in the property)!You can also place a tent in our garden. There are bicycles for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Himara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing