We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coziest place between Butrint and Vlora”
Review of Himara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himara Hostel
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Planned to stay here for a night, but felt so comfotable we ended up staying for four. Its not only that the owners are kind, interested and literally go out of their way to show you around, but also that the rooms, courtyard and little bar are tastefully designed and comfortable. And breakfast is excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mojca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

I can only recommend this place, it is one of the nicest hostels I have ever stayed. The hosts are very relaxed people, professional but also interesting and fun to be with. The beds are comfortable and it is clean. The courtyard where everyone who wants can come together is very cosy, a little paradise with a bar, hammocks, a dog and a cat. Its peacefull and socialble at the same time and designed with love.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonNowakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great hostel, the atmosphere is cozy and relaxed, many corners in the compound there you can hang around and catch up some energy, The owners are serviceminded and friendly. If you go to Albania, don't miss Himara hostel, you have to sepnd at least a couple of night at that place.

Room Tip: We a room in the backyard with private bathroom, no complains at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Catrine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

himara hostel is a special place,!i made new friends from all over the world, very interesting people and i felt all the time relaxed and happy!breakfast was very tasty and the owners very friendly!the rooms and bathrooms are very clean and the surrounding very quiet and relaxing !im just waiting for the next summer to go back again there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ledian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Himara hostel is a place to be if you want to spend some nice time with people and great local friends. The place is relaxing, a very beautiful old Albanian house. I really enjoy to visit this place and I will do it again. I totally recommend it to you all. If you need information about Albania, the coast and more you got to stay here. Good luck Hostel Himara.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milingona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Himara Hostel is really good. The owners are very relaxed and helpful. They served really good cappucino and the breakfast was way better than what other hostels offer. The rooms were a bit warm because of the summer time (a fan would be nice).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamfraradisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our stay at the hostel was unique!
Himara seems like a small town at first sight but there is just so much to do when you are settled there. There are lots of spots where you can just relax at the hostel or mingle with other guests and be social.
The rooms and bathrooms are super clean, there are cooking facilities and very friendly owners (Milto and Egda, the super duo).
I would go back without any hesitation!

Room Tip: the private room is ideal for sleeping in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank athensapartment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himare
8.2 mi away
Altea Beach Lodges
Altea Beach Lodges
#7 of 9 in Dhermi
61 reviews
21.9 mi away
Hotel Maestral
Hotel Maestral
#10 of 42 in Saranda
34 reviews
21 mi away
Hotel Apollon
Hotel Apollon
#4 of 91 in Saranda
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Demi Hotel
Demi Hotel
#1 of 91 in Saranda
183 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
21 mi away
Epirus Hotel
Epirus Hotel
#34 of 91 in Saranda
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himara Hostel

Address: Spile, Himare 9425, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Himare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Price Range: $25 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old (but newly restored) family stone house within an easy five minute walk from Himara's city center and its nearest beach awaits you! A calm atmosphere for all ages is complemented by its garden and friendly owners. Free internet is served all the time and don't be surprised if you are served some of the great mountain tea (a local specialty made with mint), some homemade jam, or perhaps raki to enliven your spirits. Not that they will really need a boost here!There are two dorms upstairs - four beds each, one of the bedrooms has it's own traditional fireplace. The rooms are cool and breezy throughout the day. The bathroom features a shower. The kitchen is on the ground floor of the stone house and is fully equipped with a fridge/freezer, electric kettle, coffee machine, toaster, tableware, silverware, pots, pans etc. everything for self-catering. An independent bedroom (double bed +1 bunk bed on demand) in the back of the house, with it's own bathroom and porch, sleeps up to 4 persons. Towels and bed linen are included.Our Garden:Freddo' coffees are served in our garden that features orange trees, pommengranate trees and our own small bamboo 'forest', hammocks and swings furnish this lovely garden. If you aren't in the garden you will probably be relaxing on one of the patios shaded by numerous grape vines.Smoking is allowed as long as ashtrays are used.There are two puppies and a cat in the property.Our hostel is ideal for families with children.All guest should maintain the outdoor environment clean. Property door locks at 12:00 at night and a key can be provided.Please note:Cancellation Policy: 1 day before arrivalCheck In: please inform us about your arrival time. Our doors close at Midnight!Check Out: 12.00 noonMethod of Payment upon the arrival: Cash only!Taxes are included. Suitable for families, big garden, pet's allowed (there are two very friendly puppies in the property)!You can also place a tent in our garden. There are bicycles for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Himara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing