We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love at first sight”
Review of Himara Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Himara Hostel
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was travelling around Albania since few days when I arrive at Himara Hostel, and as it was for the albanian landscapes me and the friends I was travelling with, we totally felt in love with this place. From the beautiful white e blue full of light room where we slept to the breakfast with ficus from the trees, to the good ice coffee when we were caming back from the beach to the last beer during the night between the relaxing amacas in the garden, here everything seems to be quite and full of peace.
This family really makes you feel like if you are in a special place, we stayed there just two days but all of us still bring it inside our memories about Albania.
Once again, thanks Himara Hostel :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Himara Hostel is one of the best places I went in Albania. I meant to go for just a day or so as a side trip from the larger town of Saranda, but I ended up staying for....I don't actually know, but I could have stayed for months! It is such a great place and the hosts, Egda and Milto, make it feel like you are staying with good friends.

The hostel itself is beautiful with hanging vines and comfy hammocks, and it has a great little outdoor bar where you can have a coffee in the morning and a beer in the evening. Milto might make some of his awesome fries while you are there too! The rooms are on the upper level and are super comfy. Plus the views are outstanding!

The town of Himara itself is very cute and has a few restaurants right on the beach. Milton and Egda also took us to other nearby beaches with amazing views over the Adriatic and its dazzling blue waters. It was even warm enough that we could go swimming even though it was October!

I can't recommend Himara Hostel enough!! It was fantastic! Everyone should go!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emrcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The best place to feel at home :-)
Nice place,very clean and very helpful staff. Comfortable rooms, well-equipped kitchen and a beautiful garden where we can pass the evening. The best thing is the possibility of double rooms also with en-suite bathroom, and comfortable for those who do not want to share the room and bathroom with strangers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkokoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

well, i had many years that i didn't went to Himara for vacations, but from last summer i will go more often!! Himara Hostel its a really great place and with a great company, in the south of Albania, with a beautiful and a traditional architecture and with a nice garden . if you look around you will always find something that will get your attention, the handmade things, photos, children games or, of course, the dog(s) :P

hugs from Tirana
Matilda

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mai o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I went backpacking with my girlfriend around Turkey, Greece and Albania last summer and finished at Himarë before flying home from Corfu. This was, without doubt, the best hostel I stayed in throughout those 8-9 weeks. Egda and Milto and were so welcoming and hospitable that we only wished we'd got there sooner. The hostel itself is beautifully furnished and has a bar which is perfect for Frappés in the morning and homemade Raki in the evening. The rooms are spacious, unlike most other hostels where every square inch of floor space is taken up by bunk beds. There is a large kitchen available, or you can take a short walk to the beachfront restaurants serving up excellent Greek dishes. Himaré was undoubtedly my highlight of Albania not simply because of its beauty and slow pace of life but also because we felt so welcome there. I would return there in an instant and hope to do so one day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyUK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This has got to be one the best hostels in the world.
Great location on a quiet street but still right in the centre, really beautiful surroundings and rooms. Edga and Milto are absolute legends.They took us to some great places (for free) so we saw loads of the cool stuff surrounding Himara. Friends for life! We nearly missed our flight from Corfu because we couldn't bring ourselves to leave "we will leave tomorrow" became the joke of the hostel; another guy from the US had the same problem.

The icing on the cake was that there were TWO puppies AND a kitten. Himara Hostel for the win!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IoneWroclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Last year I travelled for many days in Southern Albania, moving from one coastal area to the other and staying at various accomodations. When I ended up at the Himara Hostel, I just loved it - I had found my favourite summer destination. The internationally-minded hosts have taken a local approach in making the Himara Hostel, a place where people can enjoy a countryside feeling, from the rustic interior design to the freshly made food from the garden, the seaside activities and a great socialising atmosphere. The beach is just 5 minutes away and Himara is a lovely town to spend your vocations - you can enjoy both some of the most beautiful coastal destinations in Albania and get a feeling of the southern Albanian culture, food and traditions. The Himara Hostel has just such a good vibe - my stay there was wonderful. I already know where I am going next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elvie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himare
0.7 mi away
Rondos Hotel
Rondos Hotel
#1 of 2 in Himare
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
21.0 mi away
Hairy Lemon Hostel
Hairy Lemon Hostel
#4 of 80 in Saranda
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Rapo's Resort Hotel
Rapo's Resort Hotel
#6 of 43 in Himare
66 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dhima Hotel
Dhima Hotel
#4 of 43 in Himare
44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beleri House
Beleri House
#1 of 43 in Himare
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Himara Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Himara Hostel

Address: Spile, Himare 9425, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Himare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Himare
Price Range: $11 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old (but newly restored) family stone house within an easy five minute walk from Himara's city center and its nearest beach awaits you! A calm atmosphere for all ages is complemented by its garden and friendly owners. Free internet is served all the time and don't be surprised if you are served some of the great mountain tea (a local specialty made with mint), some homemade jam, or perhaps raki to enliven your spirits. Not that they will really need a boost here!There are two dorms upstairs - four beds each, one of the bedrooms has it's own traditional fireplace. The rooms are cool and breezy throughout the day. The bathroom features a shower. The kitchen is on the ground floor of the stone house and is fully equipped with a fridge/freezer, electric kettle, coffee machine, toaster, tableware, silverware, pots, pans etc. everything for self-catering. An independent bedroom (double bed +1 bunk bed on demand) in the back of the house, with it's own bathroom and porch, sleeps up to 4 persons. Towels and bed linen are included.Our Garden:Freddo' coffees are served in our garden that features orange trees, pommengranate trees and our own small bamboo 'forest', hammocks and swings furnish this lovely garden. If you aren't in the garden you will probably be relaxing on one of the patios shaded by numerous grape vines.Smoking is allowed as long as ashtrays are used.There are two puppies and a cat in the property.Our hostel is ideal for families with children.All guest should maintain the outdoor environment clean. Property door locks at 12:00 at night and a key can be provided.Please note:Cancellation Policy: 1 day before arrivalCheck In: please inform us about your arrival time. Our doors close at Midnight!Check Out: 12.00 noonMethod of Payment upon the arrival: Cash only!Taxes are included. Suitable for families, big garden, pet's allowed (there are two very friendly puppies in the property)!You can also place a tent in our garden. There are bicycles for rent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Himara Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing