We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed with no breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #14 of 40 Himare B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bed with no breakfast”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The B&B title of the hotel would suggest that breakfast is served, but not during our 2 night stay. The off street secure parking was also not available. We booked a seaview 'triple' room at extra cost on the presumption that this would offer extra space, but it just means an extra bed is crammed into the smallish room. The room and bathroom are modern, but heavy rain during our stay came in through the bathroom ceiling. We booked through Expedia by credit card, but the owners insisted on cash. Also they don't speak English.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
22
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton England
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

A basic B&B offering clean rooms right on the beachfront. VIew of the beach is what makes it worth it - don't get one roadside. 40 Euro's per night seems okay, but I've had better value in Albania. Good comprehensive breakfast served on the balcony of your room. Balcony is a great place to seat, with just the fact that after a while I realised I had a rat for company putting me off it a bit. Himara itself is a bit 'wild west'....found nicer places along the coast.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waldea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santorini, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

delicious breakfast, warm welcome from the owners, very clean rooms and surroundings, nice private beach. Highly recommended if you are looking for relaxing holiday. We will return next year for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaG2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel was the gamble during our trip through Albania but wat a good gamble it turned out to be. The hotel is in a nice location just outside of central Himara. The hotel has a small wonderfull private beach just between two of the major beaches in Himara. When we arrived (end of the season) there were only 2 rooms occupied. There was no staff at our arrival but we called the owner ? and his father arrived within 5 min. The rooms are small but clean, with nice moderen decoration. The bed is a bit small 1.40x 2.00. So if you need space if you are with 2 persons i suggest to book a room for 3/4 persons. The balcony is very nice. The bathroom is very small but everything functions properly. The internet is the fastest we had in Albania. The parents ? of the owner really made this stay special. They did not speak much English but made up for it by charm and service. They gave us sweets, water, homemade cake for 3 and were generally very pleasant. Himara is a nice little town with pretty beaches, good restaurants and a nice boulevard. ps although we are a gay couple which Albania is not very used to at this moment in time, we were treated very friendly and respectfull.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kulevliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed 1 night in a room for 50 euro, and a second night in a room on the ground floor for 40 euro.

To be short: its a huge difference. 50 Euro room was amazing, the other room was a big disappointment (stinky, shabby and bad shower)

Room Tip: Dont take a groundfloor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Very good and cosy hotel, although it has only 10 rooms. It is located directly on the beach. Rooms are airconditioned, clean and spacious and the ones facing the sea are far more better than the ones facing the national road which passes directhly in front of the hotel. Seaview is breathtaking and faling into sleep listening the waves is priceless. Hosts are very polite but their english is limited only to basic communication. Pebble beach is exceptional and the water is crystal clear but bit cold due to several fresh water springs located on the beach ground as well as in the sea. All in all if you are looking for calm and peaceful vacation this could be it.

Room Tip: Take the room with seaview. Far more better than the ones facing the national road, althouhg a bit m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ladislav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The Mare is a modern simple guest house that delivers what it promises: unrivalled beach access, a breakfast with a view and a location on the super-calm Potami beach, Himare, away from the trashy town. The owners are charming but speak almost no English. They provide you with a lovely guide to the area including several hidden gems well worth visiting.

If you want that ocean that barely raises a wave... This is for you. Perfect for all ages where relaxation is the key.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobetrottingDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Himare
0.6 mi away
Rondos Hotel
Rondos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Himare
51 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Maestral
Hotel Maestral
#10 of 42 in Saranda
28 reviews
7.6 mi away
Splendor Hotel & Spa
Splendor Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Dhermi
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Altea Beach Lodges
Altea Beach Lodges
#5 of 9 in Dhermi
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dhima Hotel
Dhima Hotel
#2 of 40 in Himare
42 reviews
20.1 mi away
Hairy Lemon Hostel
Hairy Lemon Hostel
#3 of 71 in Saranda
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: National Road Himara-Sarande, 1 km | Potami Beach, Himare, Albania
Location: Albania > Vlore County > Himare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Himare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mare Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing