We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Magnolia B&B(Coalpit Heath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
14
7
3
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
7
3
4
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 29 of 29 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2009

Absolutely fantastic,very good value for money the cottage was lovely very homely, we went there for a family wedding and the owners could not do enough for us they were very accommodating with all aspects of our stay.Would highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scotty1968Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

This reviewer gave us a rating of average for “business services” e.g. Internet Access. Although we can provide a copying and fax facilities on request we cannot provide a decent broadband service because we are situated in the middle of the countryside with no optic cable connection and poor wi-fi. Something like a vodafone dongle connection does work but not in all bedrooms because some of our walls are two feet of solid stone. Because we are very competitively priced we could not provide “free” Internet connection and would have to charge. The dilemma for us is that to install any system at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast would be extremely expensive because our accommodation is situated across a large area and we have thick stone walls. Once installed we would have to charge for what would be a pretty poor connection in terms of data speed – we are not happy to charge for a poor service. Until we can provide guests with a decent service we can only provide (free of charge) an emergency network connection point on request to download or send emails.

Regards

Bob Downes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2007

Three star hotel standards in an inexpensive Bed and Breakfast.
Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jerrytLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Owner at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2010

It is great to receive ratings of excellent for value, rooms, cleanliness, check in and service and we are very pleased to have such high ratings from guests. We will however never become complacent and we continually review our procedures in order to maintain our high standards.

This reviewer however, gave us a rating of only average for “business services” e.g. Internet Access. This is very frustrating for us but there is little we can do about it. Let me explain.

Although we can provide a copying and fax facilities on request we cannot provide a decent broadband service for all guests because we are situated in the middle of the countryside with no optic cable connection and poor wi-fi. Something like a vodafone dongle connection does work but not in all eighteen of our bedrooms because some of our walls are two feet of solid stone. Because we are very competitively priced we could not provide “free” Internet connection and would have to charge. The dilemma for us is that to install any system at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast would be extremely expensive because our accommodation is situated across a large area and we have thick stone walls. Once installed we would have to charge for what would be a pretty poor connection in terms of data speed – we are not happy to charge for a poor service. Until we can provide guests with a decent service we can only provide (free of charge) an emergency network connection point on request to download or send emails.

Regards

Bob Downes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
UK
1
Reviewed December 1, 2005

Location was very nice and I would definately like the area. The service was not particularly good. The owners only did the minimum. I will not be going here again unless they learn interpersonal skills and smile every now and again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxHedge, Joint owner with my husband at Box Hedge Farm Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2009

I was not aware of Tripadvisor until a guest departing today told me that they nearly didn't come to stay at our B&B because of an adverse review on your website. I would just like to point out that we have have been running a B&B business for some 13 years, and if we acted in the way that this review states I believe we would have been out of business long ago. I would also like to point out that Visitors to our website can find "Guest Comment" going back 13 years reproduced exactly as written by guests in their own handwriting in our Visitors Books which are always available for scrutiny. Regards - Marilyn Downes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.