We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy South Africans”
Review of Maison Rives

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maison Rives
Ranked #5 of 7 Montolieu B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were lucky to find Maison Rives during an exhaustive search for the perfect accommodation to begin our first trip to France, and we hit the jackpot! Before we even arrived, we felt that Cathy was a friend, with her help and advice by email for months in advance. When we arrived, we were delighted by the village, the situation of Maison Rives and by the accommodation itself. The breakfasts were delicious and Cathy was so helpful, organising a wine tour for us and giving us such good tips for day trips in the area. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute!
Thank you Cathy for being the best host we could wish for!
Mary and Steve Birt

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 35 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at this charming B and B for two nights last May. It was an absolute delight! Our room was lovely, with a private terrace overlooking the street. The room was clean and nicely appointed. Cathy does a wonderful job as Hostess, going above and beyond to make our stay so nice. The substantial breakfast was wonderful, with fresh fruits, croissants, yogourt, etc, served in the lovely dining room.
The village is a treat for those who love books and writing. It is full of bookshops and literary charm.
The location is perfect for day-trips to Carcassonne and the beautiful surrounding countryside.
We highly recommend this lovely B and B.
Thank you Cathy, for your kind hospitality and special attention:-) We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kuleana415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

A little tricky to get to, but Cathy Gay provides perfect instruction, and it's worth it! Very nice rooms, colorful decor, comfortable beds in a quiet area in a little village that is worth seeing! A great base for exploring SW France, only 15-20 minutes from the Carcassonne Fortress. And, for those who like staying wired during their trips, the Maison Rives has WiFi, and I had no problems getting access.

If you're spending time in this region of France, this is where you should stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

This is a great place to explore Carcassonne and the Black Mountain area of France. The proprietess, Cathy, is generous and helpful in every way. Really well priced , clean., comfortable and great value in every way. The village is charming in a rustic way, noy tarted up too much and there is loads to see in the immediate area. Five stars !!!

Check it out on FrenchEntree.com for all details .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theeehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My partner and I spent 3 wonderful nights in the beautiful village of Montolieu staying at the excellent Maison Rives. We were warmly welcomed by the very friendly host Cathy and shown to a very spacious and spotlessly clean bedroom with balcony overlooking the village and one of its gorges. The quality of fittings and attention to detail could not be faulted. The breakfast was of the same high standard with fresh croissants and fruit etc. and was a very pleasant experience chatting with the other guests and Cathy. I would not hesitate to recommend the Maison Rives as the perfect place to stay while exploring the Montagne Noire and Carcassonne.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rykmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We totally enjoyed our stay at the Maison Rives. Cathy was a warm and wonderful hostess from our first greeting to our final good bye! WE SHALL RETURN!!! Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean! The B&B is quiet and the hospitality is a welcome treat in a foreign land! Cathy gave us good directions for sightseeing, dining, and even made the sun shine when it didn't seem likely!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed here for one night as we were travelling around and visiting Carcassonne, and as we had a car the location was perfect for us.
We got to the village and were astounded by its character and the amazing gorge that surrounds the B&B.
Cathy had booked us a table at the local Bar where there was great food and atmosphere at a fantastic price.
The rooms were extremely comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fit for a king!! We could not have stayed in a better place. I cannot recommend this enough if you are visiting Carcassonne and its surrounding villages.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy_k_nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montolieu hotels
0.2 mi away
Maison de Mallast
Maison de Mallast
#3 of 7 in Montolieu
18 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes Apostrophe
1.4 mi away
Forge de Montolieu
Forge de Montolieu
#1 of 7 in Montolieu
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Manufacture Royale
La Manufacture Royale
#1 of 3 in Montolieu
12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Anges au Plafond
Les Anges au Plafond
#4 of 7 in Montolieu
16 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau de Villeneuve
Chateau de Villeneuve
#2 of 7 in Montolieu
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Rives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Rives

Address: Rue St Denis, 11170 Montolieu, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Aude > Montolieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Montolieu
Price Range: $69 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Rives, dating back to before the French Revolution, has a history as fascinating as Montolieu itself. The furnishings in all the rooms compliment perfectly the natural light pouring through the windows. Whether your view is over the bridge and the Alzeau Gorge or down a village street, all our rooms are spacious, light and airy and have en-suite facilities. Enjoy breakfast downstairs in the salon, where we can help you plan your day or find your way if you wish.We also propose diner and organise thematic courses :- Innovative cooking courses with regional, organic produce.- Walks and initiation in photography.- Training in calligraphy.Montolieu—originally Montis Olivis, or Mount of Olives—sits atop a rocky ridge separating the Alzeau and Dure Rivers at the foot of the Montagne Noire, welcoming its many admirers. Surrounded by Cathar castles, caves, abbeys, forests, rolling fields, clear-running rivers and lakes, this pretty village in the Aude region of France has an historical pedigree to match its natural beauty. Among its ancestors are Charlemagne and Colbert; the former founded the Monastery of St. Jean de Mallast in 800 AD; the latter, Louis XIV’s minister, established a Royal Manufactory that exported high-quality woollen cloth. In 1146, the Viscount of nearby Carcassonne fortified the village. It’s early inhabitants—those who weren’t nuns or monks—first made their living working the rich vineyards and olive groves; they also tamed the river torrents to run water mills, which powered highly successful textile and paper plants. As the times changed and ‘progress’ brought those heady days of success to an end more than fifty years ago, a community of more than 3,000 shrank to around 900. A book lover stepped in to motivate the modern-day renaissance of Montolieu as a book village—a village du livre. Today, the village is on the itinerary of many visitors every year. Non-bibliophiles, too, love the place, and are happy to leave their book-addicted companions to browse the shops while they indulge in the many outdoor activities afforded by Montolieu’s natural and historic wealth.Access:We are 15 miles from Carcassonne. Take the road towards Toulouse D.6113 then after crossing the village of Pezens, turn right on D.38 towards Montolieu book village. We are located just opposite the tourist office next Stéphane library's "Ailleurs" and Nathalie's organic restaurant "Salon d'Ici". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maison Rives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing