We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It doesn't get any better than this”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Montolieu, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Pauline A
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“It doesn't get any better than this”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Superb is the only way to describe the guest apartment in the Maison de Textile. 3 large en-suite bedrooms, beautifully furnished and decorated with lovely fabrics so appropriate for an old textile factory, a huge sitting-room, dining-room and very well equipped kitchen. Monique and Derek Wright are terrific hosts and Montolieu is a gorgeous village with fascinating alleys full of bookshops.
There is only one problem with this place - leaving it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2017
Hello, We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for your very kind comments. We hope to see you again soon!

à bientot
Monique & Derek
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M100AMK
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A week away.....”
Reviewed October 19, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Well, I said that I was coming back and this time Amanda was able to join me. We hired a car at the airport this time, on Derek's recommendation, and were able to enjoy trips further afield. Montolieu continues to delight, however, and we spent a very enjoyable week there, with Derek and Monique proving marvellous hosts once again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2017
Great to see you again thanks for your kind comments - until next Spring. Montolieu in Springtime brings Art & book festivals so see you then!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owl_city1...
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people in a fantastic location, book here if you can !”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Okay, so for those of you that like a touch of class look no further.
Set in the commune of Montolieu, which is in the Aude department in southern France, this beautifully refurbished textile mill is an escape worth running to. Not so much of a commune as in the 60's, but rather a quiet, very unspoiled village on the rocky ridge between two gorges just before the rivers meet. You can open the window from the room that we took to hear the river running over the rocks below you before it flows along under the stone built bridge. Monique and Derek have put heart and soul into refurbishing this massively built stone mill. In the process they have uncovered a wealth of history, and working with the older generation of the locals met people that have given them insight as to what has happened there over the years. If you ask nicely Derek may also show you the "Cave".
This is not just a one stop and you've seen it place either. While we were there we went to the beach for a swim. There is a great freshwater lake about 15 minutes away by car with its own real sand beach and watersports activites. This was a real treat on a hot sunny day when we had wandered around in the old town of Carcassonne getting quite dry. In Carcassonne there is also lots to see and do, check out what concerts are on and who's playing.
Higher up in Montolieu there are at least 15 book shops interspersed with art galleries plus excellent places to eat. With Maison de Textile as your base you will not be disappointed apart from have to leave when the time comes.

Monique and Derek are wonderful hosts who will made our stay idyllic.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2017
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Warm wishes, D& M Wright
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Accommodation, Beautiful Location, Incredible Hosts!”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Amazing apartment in the beautiful town of Montolieu. Stayed as group of 7 plus baby and had plenty of room with multiple large communal areas including kitchen, dining room and lounge. Rooms were beautifully furnished with quirky reclaimed furniture and the welcome baskets were a lovely extra touch. Derek and Monique were incredible hosts with plenty of knowledge and advice on what to do in the surrounding areas including the historic city of Carcassonne a short drive away. Would highly recommend for couples, families and groups, a must visit!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 11, 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you all again soon. D & M x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aquaberka...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing tranquil piece of history beautifully and lovingly restored by perfect hosts”
Reviewed March 23, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Just returned from a few days stay at "Maison Du Textiles" this place is amazing !
Luxury and every thought has gone into the decor and accommodation so you will want for nothing whilst you stay here .
Well equipped kitchen including iron and ironing board , washing machine and tumble dryer even! a home from home with such warm hosts as Derek and Monique this is a win win destination.
Both have restored this old disused textile mill tastefully reflecting the textiles history.
The rooms are huge and light and airy with every mod con you need for a stay abroad everything has been thought of and catered for .
Do not pass this place by without a stay here .
Set on the river Dure that runs beside the Mill its a little piece of tranquillity and calm.
Derek and Monique won best B&B award for their previous B&B in Seddelcombe UK near Hastings , well deserved and have transferred the same excellence here to France.
Lucky France and lucky us for staying here , thank you Derek and Monique , perfection personified !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Wow! Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests! We hope to see you again soon. Derek & Monique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x333sar
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious elegance! ”
Reviewed February 23, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have just returned from our brilliant holiday at the Maison de textile and have already booked to go back again in May!

We were greeted by Derek and Monique, our fantastic hosts, who have transformed an old textile factory in to luxury apartments - we took over the entire suite of 3 rooms and could not have been happier! The rooms are all a great size with ensuite bathrooms, we had a huge sitting room and dining room with a fab kitchen. We couldn't believe how much space we had and how every little detail had been thought about - Derek and Monique have won awards for their previous b&b in England and have clearly learnt the recipe to making their guests stay nothing short of perfection!
There was so much to do and see within a short distance of the house - the beautiful village is on your doorstep and the impressive medieval town of Carcassonne is only a 10min drive away.
We can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
Lovely review - thank you. So glad you enjoyed the apartment and the village. There will be so much more to do in Montoliieu and the area when you return - à bientot. Derek & Monique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M100AMK
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Early stay in Derek and Monique's luxurious new apartments”
Reviewed February 16, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Set in the delightfully picturesque village of Montolieu deep in vineyard country, just 20 minutes drive from Carcassonne airport, Maison de Textile has a choice of beautifully appointed apartments and a couple of fantastic hosts in Derek and Monique. As I was very familiar with Kester House, their previous 4-star accommodation in the English Sussex countryside, I was delighted to see the same high standards in the Salle de Soie - the Silk Room with a French twist! Would I recommend it? Well, I'm going back again in March!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 16, 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to your next visit. Derek & Monique
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing