We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most likely best choice in Ternate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Dafam Bela Ternate
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ternate
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Although we've not stayed anywhere else in Ternate, I'm guessing this hotel is the best choice in Ternate. Situated on a hill overlooking the city and the harbor, it boasts complete services including a huge pool. Don't be surprised to find some deferred maintenance as well as things that might not work perfectly. When we asked about the location of the safe in the room (which the hotel strongly recommended we use), the staff realized that there wasn't one and they brought one (not attached to anything but fairly heavy nonetheless). The breakfast buffet was quite nice and the other meals were nothing special but fine. it's quiet and rooms are relatively good size.

Room Tip: maybe picking an upper floor room will be quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeHSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Grand Dafam Bela Ternate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

When I heard that on a trip to Morotai last September, my friends and I would stay in Ternate for a night, I instantly thought that we'd stay in a small hotel. It turned out, we stayed in Amara Bela, the number one hotel in the city. I was amazed because, honestly, I didn't know that Ternate has a four (or was it five?) star hotel like this.

I was more amazed when I got into the room. It's designed like the hotels in Bali, with pool access directly from the room's gazebo. The food was delicious, too. Well yeah, it's not perfectly perfect like the five star or diamond hotels in Jakarta, Bali or other big cities in the world. But for a small town like Ternate, this hotel was over my expectation. What makes it more amazing is, this hotel lies on a hill that enables us to see the breathtaking view of Ternate and other islands surrounding it. Cool, eh?

A week later, on our trip back to Jakarta, we had to spend another night in this hotel. Because the hotel was very full, we had to take the presidential suite. The room was big, with two stories and gigantic bathroom.

Overall, I'm satisfied with Amara Bela. And if one day I have the chance to be back in Ternate, I'll surely stay here.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a pool access so you can swim directly from your gazebo.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irrasistible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel appears great from the inside rooms ok but a few matters of interest. Check in and check out staff are pretty disorganized - lack of training. Staff in general need training all-round. Walking around looking lost they need someone to direct them

Beers are really too expensive Rp120.000 each - rather pricy! more expensive than Europe 12.39 $ 8 .30 pounds

Breakfast is pretty basic but my highlight is that they served smoked beef that must have been in out of the fridge for a weeks as it stunk , complained to the chef , he continued to serve the smoked beef , so i gather some few people will be having a few trips to the toilet this weekend don’t expect a International service Hotel as they are in Alice in wonderland if they think they have an international rating standard

Bedding is grey and over washed looks bad , towels are frayed at the edges and a greyish white , floors creak , bathrooms have not been cleaned in weeks , hairs from the last person in the shower drain , body fats on walls and shower doors that have not been cleaned in months

Not many other choices in town as your hands are tied , if there was completion in town I don’t think this hotel would be in business for long
The place needs a revamp when will that happen i guess who knows

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mountin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Regularly visiting this hotel for business, I have been in here quite a few times. This Hotel lies in a slightly elevated position offering, on the sea side, a good view over the ocean and the surrounding islands. The Pool facing rooms offer instead a direct view at the island's vulcano. Unfortunately wi-fi at this time is not available and phone reception might be poor depending on room's position and service provider. Rooms are spacious and comfortable but they could be better kept and cleaned. In-Room service is quite expensive given the average quality of the food served.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcello S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

this is my first time for me to visit this hotel after my stay one day after aston makassar. huge difference between them both. although this hotel stated as "international" hotel but i think this one is very overated. front staff is ok and helpful, room is spacious but old, outdated and not well maintained. very limited ammenities for the guest. no wifi in the room and wifi in the lobby is so frustating. breakfast is good enough, limited choices and food quality is bad. however this is one of the best panoramic view. seaview on the front and mountain in your backyard, amazing. try to wake up early and enjoy the sunrise infront of the hotel, beautiful.
on the bottom line, this is the only star rated hotel in this city, no other choice, so enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Last week I stay in this hotel, the room too many dust, toilet room not clean, and no varians for the breakfast. The service of laundry not so good. At 3 o'clock every night there is a noise from the other room, but there's no one at there. The Receiptionist staff (woman) response so low and bad attitude.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charly_PaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Don't face the volcano, just incase....
Try stay close to the reception ,
A few blackouts occur on the island regularly ,while we were in shower and on the loo,
The bathroom blacks out ...the laundry service was prompt and good.
Food was good , but at the bar ..theres only two types of beer. Bin tang and Guinness...oh we'll ...better than no beer. Wish we had more time to look around , before we went to Morotai.
Pretty good all round really .special mention to the fine singers at the bar
At night , I was truelly amazed at the fine quality of their singing..very good !

Room Tip: Don't face the volcano, bring your own liquor ...say one thing nice to the volcano gods ! Bring...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bomboratravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ternate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Batik Hotel
The Batik Hotel
#3 of 6 in Ternate
28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Losmen Kita
Losmen Kita
#4 of 6 in Ternate
11 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Ma'rasai
Villa Ma'rasai
#1 of 1 in Ternate
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Muara Hotel Ternate
Muara Hotel Ternate
#4 of 10 in Ternate
19 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Grand Dafam Bela Ternate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Dafam Bela Ternate

Address: Jl. Jati Raya no. 500, Ternate 97715, Indonesia (Formerly Bela International Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Maluku Islands > North Maluku > Ternate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ternate
Price Range: $39 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Dafam Bela Ternate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Dafam Bela Ternate Rebranding from Bela International Hotel, a first four stars hotel in Ternate. Now operated by Dafam Hotels Management to accomodate with an INSPIRING COMFORT in luxury way for visitor in Business or Leisure purposes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Dafam Bela Ternate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing