We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay!”
Review of Kanberra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kanberra Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Lira B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My 16 year old son and I had a wonderful stay. Clean rooms with hot showers, beds with mosquito netting and circulating overhead fan. Giant generator provides the power when Uganda electric wont. Breakfast was very nice...variety of eggs, fish, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea...all served with a smile. Laundry service was great. Staff and management were very good to us, and we always felt secure during our 7-day stay. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yannick53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Kanberra Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 32 of 32 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

Compared to the Hotel Pan Afric, were we used to stay in Lira, Kanberra is definitely a better deal. Similar in price, but rooms are brand new and much more practical and comfortable than the neighbour. Bathrooms are spacious and the showers are hot, if there is electricity. They do have a generator that is turned on at night, but not necessarily in the morning. So do not postpone that hot shower 'cos you never know when the next opportunity will be. Staff in Kanberra is very friendly and they serve a good breakfast, with fresh fruits, fresh juice and your choice of eggs. The place is brand new, so it still looks a bit spartan, nothing on the walls, but all rooms have mosquito nets and there is plenty of space to sit outside and enjoy a cold beer. We didn't have food there other than breakfast, so no comments on that.
The place can be a bit noisy at night, when people slam doors and talk loud on the patio (Visitors often are not very considerate of their fellow guests)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afrikareiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Wesp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: niet alle kamers hebben wifi.
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okidi f, Director of Sales at Kanberra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer im ersten Stock mit schöner Aussicht, ...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lira hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpha Resort Hotel Lira
3.6 mi away
Brownstone Country Home
1.0 mi away
Lira Tasha Hotel
Lira Tasha Hotel
#4 of 19 in Lira
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
DaysInn Hotel
DaysInn Hotel
#4 of 12 in Lira
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pauline Hotel 1
Pauline Hotel 1
#2 of 19 in Lira
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gracious Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanberra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanberra Hotel

Address: 51 Oyam Road, Lira, Uganda
Location: Uganda > Northern Region > Lira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Lira
Price Range: $25 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new hotel set in a quiet, leafy environment with well designed, attractive rooms. We have 14 rooms, all en suite with hot water, including 2 larger executive rooms, 10 double rooms and 2 rooms with twin beds. TVs are being fitted in all rooms. The prices of the rooms are considerably lower than our direct competitors. We have a good restaurant and a garden bar, as well as a conference room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Kanberra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing