We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't go without eating at 'The Boot'” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gumboot Garden

Gumboot Garden
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Can't go without eating at 'The Boot'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

My son and I always eat at the Gumboot Garden Restaurant when we visit Roberts Creek; without it, the trip would be incomplete ! The menu is always creative, the food is fantastic, and it's very child-friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Art P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    33
    8
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great group dinner at the Gumboot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I even tried stuff I'd never eaten before (can't remember what it was though) that I really liked! Thanks!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsons
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good ingredients=good food, but high prices and terrible service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Ah, another love-hate relationship with a restaurant here on the coast. I love the buddah bowl, but I can't seem to justify paying over $15 for a bowl of rice with veggies and peanut sauce... Over the years, their prices have increased and the service has continued to slip... I had to ask for a glass of water, and when I did, my waitress sneered at me and commented that they also served, "real drinks"... My water never came and I ended up going out to my car to get my bottle of water because I didn't want to bother my waitress again. Everything takes forever to come, especially if you're local (it seems as if they only care about making the tourists happy, and forget where their money is coming from the rest of the year).
All in all, I wouldn't waste my money...

Now the cafe, I love... $10 for a Breakfast Hash with organic eggs, avocado, tomatoes, cheese and great potatoes... Your meal is brought out to you quickly and with a smile. Their coffee is good, and the people that work there are always friendly... Although a little pricey at times, all ingredients are fresh and organic and food is prepared with love... a nice little place to splurge every now and then. (I usually just go for the Hash and a coffee = $13.00)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Day_Tripperz888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Place For Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Have had dinner at the Gumboot numerous times. The service is amazing slow. Prepare for at least a couple of hours to work your way through dinner. At times it seem the fans in the kitchen do not work as the restaurant fills with a light haze of smoke. The beloved one had to send her plate back three times as the kitchen could not get her order straight. The Gumboot atmosphere never changes. The interior could definitely be freshened up. I would recommend going at Lunch as the wait is not as long. The Buddha Bowl is a favourite of mine. My partner usually has the chicken burger, which she seems to enjoy. Overall the food is good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy_McQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the Buddah Bowl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

I ususally come here after a yoga class next door and order... what else, the Buddah Bowl which is stuffed with crisp raw veggies, noodles and tofu. It's all good

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SecheltWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumboot Garden also viewed

Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
Roberts Creek, Sunshine Coast
 
Sechelt, Sunshine Coast
Gibsons, Sunshine Coast
 

Been to Gumboot Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing