We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
Ranked #2 of 10 Roberts Creek B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“A home away from home”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I first visited Up the Creek on my own, and I felt instantly at home. From the cozy living room kept toasty in the winter by a wood stove, to the convenience of a lovely little kitchen to cook in, to the generous hospitality of the owner, I couldn't have asked for more. I especially like that there are complimentary bikes...and a book swap! I came back not long after my first visit, this time with a group of friends, and it was the perfect place for the lot of us. Great meals around the big kitchen table - great relaxation and live music (there is a guitar to share, but it's also lovely to bring your own instruments) in the common room. Also some deliciously peaceful evenings in the hot tub. I would recommend Up the Creek to anyone.

Room Tip: The Cherry Cabin is a lovely private option for couples. The Arbutus Room is a bit more removed from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
9
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I recently left a 30 year career in the hotel industry working in management positions with two luxury and ultra-luxury brands. My trip was to unwind and clear my head before beginning another career and the last thing that I wanted to do is stay in a hotel. It would link me back to my time as a road warrior or working at hotels. I wanted to find places to stay that provide great experiences and Up the Creek Backpackers B&B did a wonderful job.

Martin has created a terrific hybrid of hostile and B&B. Two large rooms have bunk beds and there is a single room and really cool small cabin in the back yard. Key to know is that the house is immaculate and and beautifully decorated with tasteful colors and incredibly comfortable sitting areas. This is Martin's home and contains much warmth. One of my favorite memories was sitting at their large kitchen table and eating dinner, while Martin helped his son with his homework. There was a gentle bond between the two that gives terrific energy to the place.

I can find traditional B&B's kind of stuffy and often contrived - working hard to create an environment. Up the Creek is natural. The combination of younger travelers staying in the dorm rooms with older travelers in the singles really works. It makes for great conversation and light feeling.

Down the road in Robert's Creek is the Gumboot Cafe, where I went for coffee and a light breakfast. It has a very eclectic group of people and the food is great. I tended to linger and read or work on my laptop. There are also interesting small shops and grocery. The pier and beach area are beautiful to wander.

I loved my experience at Up the Creek and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Clean, comfy, homey, quiet & convenient location, and the hammocks in the sun deck rock. Martin is helpful and friendly. The loaner bikes and the free (and good quality) tea & coffee are real treats. This B&B is lots of bang for your buck. Bunk beds are sturdy, so they don't shake when top sleeper climbs or you turn. Very spacious lounge. Several picnic tables in garden and deck. I'll be back for sure.

Room Tip: The bunk beds are sturdy, not the flimsy shaky ones that are usual in hostels. The upper-floor dorm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecali123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We started out thinking we might camp in the yard at Up the Creek, but it was way more fun - and more comfortable - staying inside. The private room was perfect with our five-year-old, who is already looking forward to next year when she will be 6 and old enough to sleep on the top bunk! Loved the hammocks, the games & puzzles, the kids craft corner, the kitchen and hospitality. Thanks for a great three nights.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Bridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I booked Up the Creek looking for affordable accommodation close to a great mountain biking area in Roberts Creek. It turned out to be much more than I anticipated. A friendly welcome from the great staff who were informative about the local attractions and where to go mountain biking, and even came to ride with me. The trails near Chris Gilker park off the B&K FSR are so much fun, talk about grin factor!
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the kitchen, dining and living areas made it so easy to relax and interact with other guests as well as to cook up a feast on the barbecue.
I particularly loved relaxing in the hammocks on the porch and soaking up the sun with a beer post ride.
The Gumboot restaurant a short walk down the road also comes highly recommended for breakfast and for dinner!
Great location for beach access, hiking and biking.
I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendymtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This place is cozy, clean, convenient, friendly - delightful in every way. I stayed in the women's dorm. The bunks are small but comfortable for a reasonably sized person. The location is quiet and extraordinarily beautiful. It is about one mile from the famous Gumboot restaurant area with yummy natural/local/organic food and another 5 minutes walk takes you to the beach. Nearby Cliff Gilkey park is gorgeous. I give the whole experience here my highest recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Hey travelers,
Up the Creek is a very cool and affordable place to stay at. Martin is a great host: he masters the difficult art of making you feel at home and at the same time he lets you be. A rare quality. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredcollay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roberts Creek
21.4 mi away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.9 mi away
Gibsons Garden Hotel
Gibsons Garden Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
16.7 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Artist and The Quiltmaker - Victorian B & B
1.3 mi away
Shades of Jade Inn and Spa
Shades of Jade Inn and Spa
#1 of 10 in Roberts Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
6.3 mi away
Sunshine Lodge Inn
Sunshine Lodge Inn
#2 of 3 in Gibsons
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Up The Creek Backpackers B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Up The Creek Backpackers B&B

Property: Up The Creek Backpackers B&B
Address: 1261 Roberts Creek Rd | Roberts Creek Road, Roberts Creek, British Columbia V0N 2W2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Roberts Creek
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Roberts Creek
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Up The Creek Backpackers B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up The Creek Backpackers B&B is 14km from the ferry terminal at Langdale. It is a charismatic, family-run cedar house nestled amongst many large cedar and fir trees, and is an easy 10-minute walk to the "Heart of the Roberts Creek". The lodge includes a guest kitchen, large sun-deck with hammocks and barbecue, friendly common areas, free loaner bikes, a seasonal hot tub, and a resource library and book swap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Up The Creek Backpackers B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing