We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Good experience

I just returned from a 9-day tour from Dushanbe to Osh with Januzak and Nurgul, which was a... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2019
bruno05123
,
Hwaseong, South Korea
Amazing experience!

My wife and I just finished 19 day tour with Januzak & Nurgul from Bishkek to Dushanbe. We loved... read more

Reviewed August 13, 2019
reeceyoung
,
Melbourne, Australia
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
21
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews off road day tour excellent driver marco polo land cruiser few days spectacular scenery safe driver order mechanic sheep hand bishkek afghan pamir car adventure
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 21 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2018

A friend and I did a month long tour with Januzak and Nurgul which was fantastic! Prior to the trip Januzak was very helpful and responsive to contact. Both guides were very keen that they were providing what we were looking for and throughout the trip worked hard to give us what we wanted. Januzak knows everybody in the Kyrgyz area and knows the area itself like the back of his hand so we could roam everywhere off road and never got lost. We were particularly interested in portrait photography and both Januzak and Nurgul were very thoughtful and helpful in facilitating this with the locals, both in the Kyrgyz area where they had lots of contacts and the Pamir area where they had fewer but were very able and willing to create the right opportunities for us. Januzak speaks lots of languages including all the local ones which really made a difference in connecting with the locals and doing photography. Both Januzak and Nurgul soon got the hang of our photography activities and got used to helping us to work with the right light and with our equipment. We had lots of help carrying gear and even setting it up as well as brokering relationships with our subjects. The tour was flexible throughout and we made lots of changes as we went along without any problems. We explored less travelled valleys as well as the main routes and had a wonderful trip. Highly recommended tour company. If you want Januzak to guide you in person then it's advisable to book well ahead if you can as he has a good reputation and is popular so soon gets his diary filled up.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Clare R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2018

Two of us toured for 3 and 5 weeks with Januzak and Nurgul throughout the Pamir taking photographs in remote areas. Januzak is very knowledgeable and speaks several languages which enabled easy introductions even in the most remote areas. He is very ably assisted by Nurgul who is a gem and cannot do enough for you. Much detailed planning went into the trip and our itinerary was very flexible - Januzak offered advice about our ideas and was always clear that it was our trip and we could go where we wanted. I am very pleased to have met and travelled with Januzak and Nurgul.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2018

Our guide and driver Januzak offered us a magnificent tour of Pamir. Januzak is not only an extremely skilled driver, capable of navigating through a range of difficult terrains, he is also very hospitable and has extensive knowledge about his homeland. He knows about the history of his region and provides interesting anecdotes about specific landmarks. He also graciously invited us one night to his house to eat.

In our tour, we stopped in several Pamir villages, where we slept in cozy homestays. However, stops in small nomad settlements where we slept in Yurts was perhaps an even more unique experience. The Kyrgiz and Tajik people are extremely kind and generous.

The scenery throughout the tour was absolutely picturesque to say the least. Tajikistan, and Pamir specifically, offer a dazzling number of different biotopes, from barren East Pamir to the fertile Wakhan Valley. Our last stop in Pamir was in the bustling city of Khorogh, populated primarily by Ismailis. It is also a very interesting place.

Our final stop was Dushanbe, of which Januzak also gave us a nice tour. This city is also extremely interesting; remnants of the Soviet era, colourful markets, extravagant government buildings and green landscapes are unique.

I highly recommend this tour with Pamir Off-Road and Janizak as a driver and guide.

Warning: rushing through the first stops of the tour entails rising to several thousands of meters fast, which can cause illness.

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank ljbernasconi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

Three of us - all expat Ozzie guys - set off from the Uzbek-Tajik border to travel to Kashgar across the Pamirs via Dushanbe, Kalaikhum, khorog, Murghab, Sari Tash & finally Kashgar. I can’t speak highly enough of Januzak - his efficiency & friendliness amounted to the highest level of professionalism in the job & included his dealing with issues that were outside his area of responsibility but meant we continued on our way enjoying the utmost adventure. Apart from absolutely spectacular scenery, amazing history and the ease of travel, the range of accommodation from cool little hotels to genuine home stays and the authentic local lunch/dinner places we ate at, the whole experience was in no small way attributable to the knowledge and generosity of Januzak - we even ate with his family one night in Murghab. We’ll sure do a not dissimilar trip within the broad area with Januzak in the near future.

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank Reg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

My husband and I took a trip to the Pamirs in Tajikistan under the guidance of Janazuk that was like no other. Whether it was the unique home stays, the sites along the way or the spectacular Pamir mountains, everything was well beyond anything we had ever experienced before! Janazuk knows the area well and his driving skills are excellent. A trip to remember for sure!

Date of experience: June 2017
2  Thank Fran850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews