We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad price/quality rate”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tasca no Cais - CLOSED

Tasca no Cais
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Alcobaca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very bad price/quality rate”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went here with friends because we were always curious how it wiould be when we ent to t the next-door restuarant PortoBello. And it was once but bnever again! Very basic food (fish with potatoes) for a price that is suitable for West European restaurants but not for Portugal.

Next time we will take the door on the right once more...

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Geert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    6
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudiksvall, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A classical portuguese restaurant with at modern twist”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent food, enthusiastic staff and nice atmosphere. I highly recommend this place. The restaurant is in many ways ( fresh fish, relaxed way of being and loads of very genuine taste) like the old school portuguese way BUT is also new in way of composing a plate, serving and friendly cheering.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattissverige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Basic”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lack of atmosphere, very simple well cooked dishes. No wine lists available. Service was friendly But probably would not be in a hurry to go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnLawless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“How do you like your meal ... Smoked?”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Well I go to a restaurant to taste the food and enjoy the experience. Well someone hasn't told the owner that you should never smoke outside your own establishment by the door while your kitchen extraction fans are going full blast. While the breeze it creates is nice across the diners faces on a hot night, but inhaling the owner's smoke while having a meal is deplorable. If it happened once, maybe OK but this owner had 4 cigarettes in the space of 1 hour and we smelt every one.

As for the food ... soup was too salty, meal was average and the sangria was the highlight. Service started slow but got there eventually. 50 Euros for 2 people ... not the best value for money.

Also I don't get the menu pricing with selling fish by kg. When the average price is 45 Euros per kg, how much is my diner going to cost me??? Wouldn't it be better to sell the fish by a portion and change the price per meal on the chalkboard? I wanted to order fish but didn't as it could have easily emptied my wallet :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ArtisanCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly service but not impressive food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I ate here for an evening meal - lovely setting on the harbour with scenic views. The service was friendly and efficient. We ordered the steak and the piri piri chicken. The portion sizes were huge - it was almost a whole chicken with masses of chips. While our food was tasty we both felt there was something missing - perhaps an assortment of vegetables instead of just chips would have been better for us. The chocolate cake however was delicious and made up for my lack of excitement over the main meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuBarford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tasca no Cais also viewed

Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
 
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing