We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint boutique hotel, poor service, poor amenities”
Review of Palace do Capitao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace do Capitao
Certificate of Excellence
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quaint boutique hotel, poor service, poor amenities”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

First blush is positive. An old well furnished mansion, wooden floors, sitting room, tastefully decorated rooms.
The greeting at the desk was cool and disinterested. The hotel is a non-smoking place except for a designated sitting room, however the staff smokes in the kitched off the hall to the main lobby, and their smoke permeates the downstairs. Rooms lack modern power, as cords must stretch across the floor to operation a laptop, not quite reaching the writing desk (no power, no cable internet hook up) Oh, and when the cable was found behind the armoire, the wire was broken...so... Sit on the bed to operate your internet. Perhaps that is a bit picky, but for the price of the room, the atmosphere could be a lot more friendly and the amenities just might work.

Room Tip: A "standard room" looks into the alley. But perhaps it makes for a quieter night, away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EclecticAero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
48
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed there 1 night and loved it.
We first had a tea on arrival that was quite good.
The staff recommend us a restaurant that was excellent.
The morning after we had breakfast in bed! It was better than most.
I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjgcorreia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were delayed in our arrival and got completely lost trying to find the village. "No problem, we will come and find you". Staff "found" us and led us into town, to the hotel parking and helped us with our luggage. Check in was quick and we soon felt relaxed after our long day of sightseeing. We stayed just 1 night and plan to return for a longer visit. Our room was completely accessible, comfortable and charming. Large bathroom, great beds and crisp linens. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the individually prepared bacon and eggs. We booked this hotel with no knowledge of its location. Waking up to that beautiful view and village setting was one of the highlights of our 2 week vacation.This was off season so the town was quiet and uncrowded. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Handicapped accessible features in our main floor, corner room fit my needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBealor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for a night in August, the hall and reception rooms are very art nouveau, the ground floor rooms have been refurbsihed but they only had a first floor room for three, where the bathroom was very old but had a certain charm, the best room is room six first floor with balconies and a roof terrace overlooking the sea front. The breakfast was continental and nice but could have done with more fresh produce. It has a carpark which is useful. The hotel also offers free sea activities, which turned out to be a very heavy canoe which my child managed to tip over, demonstrating how good the life guards are, so best to check. Anyway a nice small quiet place to watch the hubbub go by.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbed room or room 6, some tourist places give discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I cannot review the hotel as a guest, only as somebody who had lunch and afternoon tea here. if the level of attention to detail and the excellent service we experienced was an indication of how they treat their hotel guests you wll not be disappointed.

The building is lovely, just on the seafront and built approx 1929 it has been restored inside and expanded. The public rooms are maintained in the original style and the addition of the tea room is a treat. Please visit for lunch or afternoon tea the staff are knowledgable, friendly and well trained. There is a wide range of teas and coffee, sandwiches and cakes. The only shame was they do not serve dinner. This was the best food in town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confignon
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely historic building right on the beach in Sao Martinho. Rooms are very attractively furnished, although a bit dark. Staff are lovely and helpful. The breakfast is high quality and plentiful. The tea room is nice not only for afternoon tea, but also for a light lunch. The half-hour walk to the sand dune on the far side of the bay is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the Palace Capitao in late September 2011. Already, most of the tourist crowds were gone, wish was a mixed blessing. Along with a lot of the tourists, go the tourist activities. The hotel's website promised that there would be bicycles to ride, which we were counting on to tool around town and when said bicycles were revealed, they were absolutely unrideable. One had a flat tire, and the other had a seat that wouldn't stay locked.

However, we did find the room to be comfortable, and enjoyed the view from our small window out to the bay. The breakfast was okay, not the best, and not the worst.

Word of warning, if you are getting here by bus or train your transportation options to other cioseby cities (which are worth a visit) are extremely limited. So, if you don't want to drive (like we didn't), perhaps this is just a short visit during your stay in Portugal

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the ocean, it is nice to hear the sounds of the waves. There are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Therapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Martinho do Porto
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
#3 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concha
Hotel Concha
#2 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
7 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Agua d'Alma Hotel
Agua d'Alma Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foz do Arelho
95 reviews
8.2 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
7.0 mi away
Miramar Hotel & SPA
Miramar Hotel & SPA
#2 of 10 in Nazare
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace do Capitao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace do Capitao

Property: Palace do Capitao
Address: Rua Capitao Jaime Pinto 6, Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca 2460-638, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca > Sao Martinho do Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sao Martinho do Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace do Capitao 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace do Capitao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Capitao Hotel Sao Martinho Do Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing