We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Comfort, Outstanding Service”
Review of Palace do Capitao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace do Capitao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were delayed in our arrival and got completely lost trying to find the village. "No problem, we will come and find you". Staff "found" us and led us into town, to the hotel parking and helped us with our luggage. Check in was quick and we soon felt relaxed after our long day of sightseeing. We stayed just 1 night and plan to return for a longer visit. Our room was completely accessible, comfortable and charming. Large bathroom, great beds and crisp linens. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and the individually prepared bacon and eggs. We booked this hotel with no knowledge of its location. Waking up to that beautiful view and village setting was one of the highlights of our 2 week vacation.This was off season so the town was quiet and uncrowded. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Handicapped accessible features in our main floor, corner room fit my needs perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SBealor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for a night in August, the hall and reception rooms are very art nouveau, the ground floor rooms have been refurbsihed but they only had a first floor room for three, where the bathroom was very old but had a certain charm, the best room is room six first floor with balconies and a roof terrace overlooking the sea front. The breakfast was continental and nice but could have done with more fresh produce. It has a carpark which is useful. The hotel also offers free sea activities, which turned out to be a very heavy canoe which my child managed to tip over, demonstrating how good the life guards are, so best to check. Anyway a nice small quiet place to watch the hubbub go by.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbed room or room 6, some tourist places give discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I cannot review the hotel as a guest, only as somebody who had lunch and afternoon tea here. if the level of attention to detail and the excellent service we experienced was an indication of how they treat their hotel guests you wll not be disappointed.

The building is lovely, just on the seafront and built approx 1929 it has been restored inside and expanded. The public rooms are maintained in the original style and the addition of the tea room is a treat. Please visit for lunch or afternoon tea the staff are knowledgable, friendly and well trained. There is a wide range of teas and coffee, sandwiches and cakes. The only shame was they do not serve dinner. This was the best food in town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharpe26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Lovely historic building right on the beach in Sao Martinho. Rooms are very attractively furnished, although a bit dark. Staff are lovely and helpful. The breakfast is high quality and plentiful. The tea room is nice not only for afternoon tea, but also for a light lunch. The half-hour walk to the sand dune on the far side of the bay is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the4newmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed at the Palace Capitao in late September 2011. Already, most of the tourist crowds were gone, wish was a mixed blessing. Along with a lot of the tourists, go the tourist activities. The hotel's website promised that there would be bicycles to ride, which we were counting on to tool around town and when said bicycles were revealed, they were absolutely unrideable. One had a flat tire, and the other had a seat that wouldn't stay locked.

However, we did find the room to be comfortable, and enjoyed the view from our small window out to the bay. The breakfast was okay, not the best, and not the worst.

Word of warning, if you are getting here by bus or train your transportation options to other cioseby cities (which are worth a visit) are extremely limited. So, if you don't want to drive (like we didn't), perhaps this is just a short visit during your stay in Portugal

Room Tip: If you can get a room facing the ocean, it is nice to hear the sounds of the waves. There are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling_Therapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

very disappointed, nowhere near 4 star, have seen much better 3 star hotels. Room very dark with a very small window. The light bulbs are so weak that it is hard to read in the room. No tea making facilities in the room and if you ask for tea they charge you 3.50 for a small tea pot. Very poor breakfast, just some bread and and the cheapest ham and cheese. Very poor selection of very dull looking fruit, we stayed 4 days and the apples in the fruit bowl were never changed. They were well after their best before date when we arrived and by the time we left they looked completely shriveled. And this is in the country where fruit is dirt cheap! Really the only advantage of the hotel is its great location right across the road from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlgaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week long holiday. The hotel is beautiful undoubtedly and in a lovely position across the road from the beach. The staff were polite and the room was very clean, the beds comfortable and we had crisp clean sheets every day. There is parking for residents in a private car park in the road behind the hotel. There is free broadband. These are the good points.

When we were shown to our room I was a little surprised to discover that a luxury room at 140 euros per night (locally you can rent a three or four bedroomed villa with swimming pool for the same price) was not large and although it had three large windows two of them faced the street and were at eye level of people passing. These two streets were busy and we were obliged to keep curtains or shutters closed for privacy when we were in the room. Towels and bathrobes were thin and fairly skimpy - no luxury feel here. There was one narrow wardrobe with one drawer to store clothes - fine for an overnight but we lived out of suitcases for a week using up the scarce floor space.

At our first breakfast my husband had to point out that the fruit in a bowl was rotten and mouldy. The hotel claims to offer a breakfast buffet but we weren't keen to eat any of it. We were given a plate with a stale croissant and two pieces of bread each, a few slices of cheap cheese and ham and one portion of butter each. We had breakfast twice more but ate little although things improved very slightly and were laid out in a larger room.

We asked to borrow a chair and umbrella for the beach but were the hotel did not have these. Underneath the stairs at the front of the hotel outside our room an umbrella and some chairs lay unused all week. We could find no information about the free hotel sports.

We loved Sao Martinho and we realised in the surrounding area that hotels are scarce and not luxurious so this hotel should have captured the market. I think if my hotel was empty I would ensure that the few guests I did have received a great welcome and an excellent experience. We did not.

I would recommend this hotel for a one or two night stopover but no longer and would suggest breakfast for a few euros from one of the excellent pastelerias in town.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms have large windows but they face the street. Other rooms have small windows. The suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank edinburghandglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Martinho do Porto
0 mi away
Hotel Concha
Hotel Concha
#1 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
23 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
#3 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
27 reviews
8.2 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
#1 of 7 in Caldas da Rainha
533 reviews
9.3 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
6.8 mi away
Agua d'Alma Hotel
Agua d'Alma Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foz do Arelho
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace do Capitao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace do Capitao

Address: Rua Capitao Jaime Pinto 6, Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca 2460-638, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca > Sao Martinho do Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sao Martinho do Porto
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace do Capitao 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace do Capitao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Capitao Hotel Sao Martinho Do Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing