We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor hotel with excellent location”
Review of Palace do Capitao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palace do Capitao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

very disappointed, nowhere near 4 star, have seen much better 3 star hotels. Room very dark with a very small window. The light bulbs are so weak that it is hard to read in the room. No tea making facilities in the room and if you ask for tea they charge you 3.50 for a small tea pot. Very poor breakfast, just some bread and and the cheapest ham and cheese. Very poor selection of very dull looking fruit, we stayed 4 days and the apples in the fruit bowl were never changed. They were well after their best before date when we arrived and by the time we left they looked completely shriveled. And this is in the country where fruit is dirt cheap! Really the only advantage of the hotel is its great location right across the road from the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OlgaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for a week long holiday. The hotel is beautiful undoubtedly and in a lovely position across the road from the beach. The staff were polite and the room was very clean, the beds comfortable and we had crisp clean sheets every day. There is parking for residents in a private car park in the road behind the hotel. There is free broadband. These are the good points.

When we were shown to our room I was a little surprised to discover that a luxury room at 140 euros per night (locally you can rent a three or four bedroomed villa with swimming pool for the same price) was not large and although it had three large windows two of them faced the street and were at eye level of people passing. These two streets were busy and we were obliged to keep curtains or shutters closed for privacy when we were in the room. Towels and bathrobes were thin and fairly skimpy - no luxury feel here. There was one narrow wardrobe with one drawer to store clothes - fine for an overnight but we lived out of suitcases for a week using up the scarce floor space.

At our first breakfast my husband had to point out that the fruit in a bowl was rotten and mouldy. The hotel claims to offer a breakfast buffet but we weren't keen to eat any of it. We were given a plate with a stale croissant and two pieces of bread each, a few slices of cheap cheese and ham and one portion of butter each. We had breakfast twice more but ate little although things improved very slightly and were laid out in a larger room.

We asked to borrow a chair and umbrella for the beach but were the hotel did not have these. Underneath the stairs at the front of the hotel outside our room an umbrella and some chairs lay unused all week. We could find no information about the free hotel sports.

We loved Sao Martinho and we realised in the surrounding area that hotels are scarce and not luxurious so this hotel should have captured the market. I think if my hotel was empty I would ensure that the few guests I did have received a great welcome and an excellent experience. We did not.

I would recommend this hotel for a one or two night stopover but no longer and would suggest breakfast for a few euros from one of the excellent pastelerias in town.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms have large windows but they face the street. Other rooms have small windows. The suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank edinburghandglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend both the hotel and the beautiful town of Sao Martinho do Porto.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lukestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed in the Palace Capitao for a night on way from Porto to Lisbon. The ambiance was great, the terrace fantastic and we had a dinner in a very nice restaurant about 100 m down the beach -the best cataplana ever!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

We've enjoyed our 3 night stay at this lovely hotel. Service was impeccable, nice room, marvelous location. Highly recommendable.
Benny & Christine, Belgium

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bietie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

This house was built originally by a retired sea captain and has a nautical feel about it with great views over the bay of Sao Martinho. Lots of wood & ambience, very clean, each room has its own individual charachter, staff very efficient and couteous. A little bit of Old England with afternoon teas & cakes.
Best room is the Captains Room overlooking the seafront if you are lucky enough to book it.
Can be noisy at night time in the height of the season.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabrown58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2008

This hotel is situated on the beach front at this excellant location and is just the place to stay for a romantic weekend.

The hotel has been converted from an old colonial home and each room is individually decorated to a very high standard.

English speaking staff and the breakfast is continental but again to a very high standard, (the fresh orange juice is to die for)

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riw9471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sao Martinho do Porto
0.0 mi away
Hotel Concha
Hotel Concha
#2 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
15 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
Hotel Santo Antonio da Baia
#3 of 3 in Sao Martinho do Porto
26 reviews
8.2 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Agua d'Alma Hotel
Agua d'Alma Hotel
#1 of 2 in Foz do Arelho
107 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar Sul
Hotel Miramar Sul
#1 of 10 in Nazare
832 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Praia
Hotel Praia
#5 of 10 in Nazare
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace do Capitao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace do Capitao

Address: Rua Capitao Jaime Pinto 6, Sao Martinho do Porto, Alcobaca 2460-638, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Alcobaca > Sao Martinho do Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sao Martinho do Porto
Price Range: $69 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palace do Capitao 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palace do Capitao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Capitao Hotel Sao Martinho Do Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing