We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,145)
Filter reviews
1,145 results
Traveler rating
757
300
67
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
757
300
67
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly garden organic farm lovely pool swimming pool ayurvedic massage spice garden the periyar tiger reserve restaurant staff periyar national park stayed longer reception area martial arts pleasant stay beautiful property the cottages wildlife sanctuary elephant ride
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,145 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location for exploring Kumilly and visiting the Periyar tiger reserve. It is equal distance between the two gates and in walking distance of the main town.

The staff are so friendly and made us feel so welcome. There were special touches which were so appreciated that made our honeymoon even more fantastic.

We loved seeing a malabar giant squirrel from our balcony. The complimentary tea in the afternoon was one of the best cups of chai I had whilst in India.

The only thing we would watch is the Monkeys. We enjoyed a drink by the pool with complimentary peanuts. Unfortunately the peanuts attracted one particular brave monkey who tried to jump on our table to steal them. They can be a little aggressive when you try and scare them away! Maybe say no to the peanuts just in case...

Thank you for a fantastic stay

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lc1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-CardamomCounty, General Manager at Cardamom County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out your precious time to post a fabulous review of Cardamom County. It has been our privilege to have you stay with us and we are glad to know that you had a wonderful stay and were thoroughly impressed with the hospitality and service.Our location is definitely one of the things we are very proud of about our Cardamom County. We are so lucky to have a property in the heart of Kumily and a very strategic location that brings our guest just a few steps away from must-see attractions and modern-day conveniences.
We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Cardamom County soon.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Praveen Warrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for couple of days with family. Good location and amenities.
Staff very courteous, especially Mr Kamalakannan. Paid Rs 7500 per night but room was allotted near heavy tension transformer and no upgradation given. Food quality was good but lacked in variety and spreads

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank drdtvvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-CardamomCounty, General Manager at Cardamom County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Cardamom County Thekkady.

We are pleased to know that you overall had an enjoyable stay and your comments are greatly appreciated. Your feedback has been a very good learning for us and we will reemphasize the need to be attentive and consistent. Regarding the Room up gradation higher category rooms was not available for these particular days but we had shifted your room on the same day immediately after your request. We also assure you that all your suggestions would be great for us to improve and that can definitely add to serve our guests better in future

Hope to welcome back you in near future.

Warm Regards,

Praveen Warrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

The Cardamom County by Xandari is a nature-resort set in a forest like premises.

The premises are beautiful, clean and asthetic and yet, didn't have a 5-star feel to it. But I don't grudge them that because we didn't miss it anyway.

We stayed in shared villa-type rooms which afforded a lovely forest-type view outside and very good privacy. The accommodation and amenities are 4-star type, clean and adequate.

The restaurant is very good, though we would have liked more variety in the menu. What it served however, was excellent in quality. The buffet breakfast was also very good with plenty of hot local dishes.

They had a surprisingly well-stocked library with multi-genre English and even European books. They had also organised a dance show for us. Animal-lovers and kids will also enjoy a visit to their rabbit enclosure. They even allow you to hold and pet the baby rabbits (very cute!).

The staff is extremely courteous, helpful and go out of the way to help.

The location is superb, a few hundred metres from the market, the Periyar Forest Reserve (boat ride) and recommended restaurants.

Worth a two or three-night stay.

*****

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank phkodial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-CardamomCounty, General Manager at Cardamom County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Cardamom County Thekkady.

We are so glad that you had a lovely stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed every bit of the stay here. We are always trying to provide the best for our guest.
We are delighted to read your excellent review and sincerely thank you for your kind words of praise on our product and facilities.
As you mentioned we have quite a lot of things like an library ,organic garden with a butterfly garden, a tour through the garden knowing the plants and a small activity area where one can spend time playing board games.
Your compliments have been shared with the entire team to whom it always has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

Once again, thank you for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Praveen Warrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Very professional and friendly staff. Great location! very close to Tiger reserve park entrance. Rooms were very neat and upto the mark. Their herb garden is awesome , do remember to check it out. Ayurvedic spa was also very impressive and their staff did a great job.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank rjaganaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-CardamomCounty, General Manager at Cardamom County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


Greetings from Cardamom County Thekkady.



We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to read your excellent review and sincerely thank you for your kind words of praise on our product and facilities.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team to whom it always has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcome you back near future.

Warm Regards,

Praveen Warrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

pool is medium size,reception nice very pleasant staff,check in easy,rooms are good,monkeys are looking on you for food,be aware of monkies,meetig hall nice,food fine varieties and tasty also,lunch is also good

Date of stay: June 2019
2  Thank sajane2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM-CardamomCounty, General Manager at Cardamom County, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sajan,


Greetings from Cardamom County Thekkay.


Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Cardamom County and writing a review of your experience with us.
We are happy that you had a great and memorable stay with us. As you mentioned our strength is our staff that is always at the service of their guests. We are also so close to all the local attractions and at the center of the town. We also get regular visitors like macaques, langurs and giant squirrels etc from the sanctuary just opposite.

We look forward to host you for an even longer period during your next year ‘s visit to Kerala.


Warm Regards,

Praveen Warrier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews