We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in a Beachfront Villa at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The location was perfect. We really enjoyed sitting outside our villa eating breakfast as an emu casually strolled past and had a brilliant time feeding the dolphins and sailing on the catamaran. That being said the Beachfront Villa was clean and comfortable but quite basic. It's not quite up to the standard you'd expect for the price you're paying but at the end of the day you're paying for the location (which was perfect). The only real bad point was the restaurant. I definitely wouldn't recommend eating there! We drove to Denham for a meal on our first night but decided to give it a go on our second night - we wished we hadn't! The food was decidedly average and I'm not even sure what I was given for dessert but it definitely wasn't like any panna cotta I had ever tasted before - yuck! Otherwise a brilliant place to stay!

Room Tip: The Beachfront Villas are absolutely wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, General Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for the positive review of our resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our amazing location in the Shark Bay World Heritage area.
We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy the Panna Cotta at the Boughshed Restaurant. Please know we constantly evaluate the menu in our effort to provide a variety of quality food items.
We apologise for any negative experiences you had with our Restaurant. We have now closed the Boughshed Restaurant for a 1.4 million dollar refurbishment which will ensure that the Boughshed Restaurant enhances the overall experience at the resort.
Thanks again for your review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort and the Boughshed Restaurant and we hope you will visit us again.
Resort Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful place a must to see if you visit WA
Breathtaking
Had a wonderful relaxing time seeing the dolphins and fun on the catamaran, this trip has to be done was a very lovely day out with wonderful sights to see
Had a great time here!!!! Rooms were great and beds very comfy!!! Just perfect :)

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corrine e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We did not stay here, but we did visit the resort for a day and were glad we had chosen to stay in Denham instead. We looked in to some of the cabins and they seemed very basic and very close together with little or no privacy. The swimming pool seemed small and very crowded; not of adequate size for the number of people. We enjoyed the dolphin experience which was very well organised and we had an interesting boat trip too. The beach is lovely and a great place to swim and relax. We ate at the restaurant which seems more like a cafe (although the publicity implies fine dining!) Breakfast was overpriced and nothing special. The "bar" area is not particularly scenic and was just a place to sit and have a drink or play pool. We saw some people with cocktails which looked more like the coloured liquid displayed in a chemistry lab - wouldn't have wanted to try those! We felt the place was not particularly well cared for and was verging on the tacky. We felt the publicity brochures were misleading.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Woo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenParks, General Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We were pleased to read you enjoyed the Dolphin experience while visiting Monkey Mia.
We are very excited to advise the resort is about to commence a $1.4 million dollar redevelopment of the Boughshed Restaurant and a $5 million infrastructure development is currently underway. We are constantly upgrading our facilities on a priority basis.
We hope you will visit us again and we can show off our new developments.
Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed in garden view villas and they were just fine and really clean. The funniest thing was the Emu strolling around with not a care in the world; turn a corner and you were likely to bump in to one; making both you and it jump. Do not believe what the restaurant prints about itself being 5 star food at lower prices; I ordered crab cakes and was really surprised to find fish bones in them; when I raised this the waiter came back to say this is because barramundi had been used to make them; so how are these then crab cakes? I am pleased to say they were taken off the bill, but there were other things that really should have been got right; two people ordered steak 1 rare 1 medium; when the waiter arrived with 2 steaks he didn't know how they were cooked; he walked all the way back to the kitchen with the plates came back a while after and presented then as rare/ medium, but upon cutting the steaks it was found he had them wrong and by now they had cooled from their 2 trips across the restaurant and wait around in the kitchen.
The food in the bar was much better. That said the beach is lovely and the dolphins are spectacular so would definitely return and recommend.

Room Tip: The garden courtyard rooms were really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Everything we hoped for and more. We had been planning this trip for Close to a year. Our Room was clean, comfortable and self Contained which was great with the kids.
The Staff were Happy and friendly and even though there was the occational Langauage barrier everyone went out of there way to help and understand each other (Lots of young overseas travelers working at the Resort).
The Rangers were very patient and knowledgeable. Answer every question asked about the Dolphins and other Animals, always the Health and Welfare of the Dolphins as their number one concern.
On Average 2.5 days a year there are no dolphins on the beach, this is amazing considering they are WILD ANIMALS and the rangers have no control over them at all.
Wula Guda Nyinda - Aboriginal Cultural Tours is most definately something EVERY VISITOR needs to Book into, it is just as awesome as seeing the Dolphins.

Room Tip: All the Accommadation is Clean and Tidy. I would have no hisitation Recommending any of it, What i w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleOBaldivis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Pulled to a prebooked hook up site, to find it was absolutely chokka. Our spot was right on the beach and convenient for all of the resorts facilities. A clean ablution block was also close by along with a BBQ area under some trees. The location is great and the resort has sufficient facilities for a relaxing, unsophisticated break. Not as touristy as I expected. The dolphins interaction was as good as expected, along with the pelicans.i would go again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank muddyoldengr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived here in the afternoon without a booking, and recieved a very unfirently response from the duty manager, who said we should have booked. Ok, we didn't book in advance, but there is no need to be rude. We weren't sure of our plans and had found powered sites everywhere else without a booking. We tried to forget her attitude and drove into the resort. If you arrive with a campervan and are given an unpowered site, this basically means you park with other cars, and tents are erected on the grass.

The facilities are ok, the kitchen gets busy and when the tour groups are in it is nearly impossible to use anything.

The dolphin interaction was very interesting and the resort is the most convenient place to stay. The Monkey Bar serves reasonably priced food but not particularly good food.

This resort has a good location but the staff need to be nicer to prospective customers.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkey Mia
14.7 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
14.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
14.7 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#1 of 10 in Denham
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Shark Bay Hotel
Shark Bay Hotel
#4 of 4 in Denham
87 reviews
14.7 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
14.7 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Address: 1 Monkey Mia Rd | Shark Bay, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Monkey Mia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Price Range: $68 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Mia Dolphin Hotel Monkey Mia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing