We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We had 2 nights on a beachfront hard standing for our campervan. Amazing spot, literally a stones throw from the ocean. Was able to watch the dolphins swim by from our bed. Showers and toilets within easy reach and clean and tidy. Staff on reception couldnt have been more helpful even ringing to try and book a restaurant for us as we only had english mobiles..
We ate at the onsite restaurant and the meal was delicious and the staff, again, excellent.
The only problem we saw was that the Monkey Bar needed a good tidy up, the pool tables were in a terrible state and the tennis courts a mess, that area really needed a revamp, it seemed to just be frequented by the backpackers.
The dolphins came in each morning we were there and there were plenty of them..
We had a trip on the Shotover which was great, didnt see huge amounts of wildlife but you cant guarantee that anyway! The catamaran ride in itself was amazing!
All in all for the $65 a night we paid for our powered beachfront hardstanding it was great value.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank De14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 991 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently stayed at the Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort and had an amazing time. I recommend it to everyone. The wildlife experiences you can have there are second to none, and the relaxing atmosphere makes it the perfect place to escape from the daily grind.

The resort itself could be improved. It is more to the standard of a caravan park, rather than a resort. I travelled with my partner, brother and friend, and the four of us opted to stay in a Limestone Garden Villa. The room was a decent size and was the only room option that included kitchen amenities such as a stovetop, so we found it handy to be able to cook our own food at a few meal times to make it more affordable.

The bedding in the room was adequately comfortable, but looked a bit dated. The bathroom was quite ugly to look at, and had a bit of a funky smell when we first arrived, which we attributed to the bore water toilet. However, the pressure of the shower was really good, which is great because after spending a lot of time at the beach it's nice to have a nice clean shower afterwards.

Overall, there is nothing terrible about the rooms, they just seemed very basic and 90's style. They could easily receive a facelift and a bit of thought could go into them to make them stylish and as pretty as the location. For the relatively high price of the rooms, it is definitely something that guests would expect.

Amenity-wise, the Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort has a lot to offer. The pool and hot tub are great, and tennis courts are a bonus. The Boughshed Restaurant offers good quality food and a very affordable buffet breakfast at only $15. The Monkey Bar is a more relaxed setting with very affordable casual dining right on the beach, as well as affordable drinks too (note: there is a seagull problem and it might be worth putting measures in place to combat this, such as fishing wire).

The best part of of Monkey Mia Resort for me is the wildlife. The dolphin interaction is incredible and informative. But dolphins are just the beginning. Turtles pop their heads out the water, emus wander freely around the resort (they are very inquisitive and quite tame), and pelicans guard the shoreline.

I recommend the sunset Shotover cruise on the environmentally-friendly catamaran. It's very relaxing and a beautiful way to view the marine life.

In conclusion, Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort is a magical place to visit for its wildlife and remote tranquility, so you can easily forgive it for it's downfalls. This being said, it is looking a bit tired and if the prices are going to remain as they are, a renovation of the rooms and restaurant would definitely be warranted.

Room Tip: Main difference in the rooms (which I found hard to decipher) is: Beachside Dolphin Unit: Just like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

After reading all the reviews we had a difficult time deciding on where in the resort we wanted to stay. We staying in Beachside Dolphin Unit- the room was clean, on the top floor with an ocean view. The full service restaurant was very good and the kitchen for guest use was clean and seemed well stocked. We didn't use the kitchen but we did check it out.
The dolphin experience was well worth the cost and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank English5544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

A great 4 days spent in an idyllic location. Even though it's 25kms from Denham it was worth it to stay at Monkey Mia for the flat ocean, warmer seas, wind protected and dolphins swimming past each day. All types of accommodation are catered for, however we really enjoyed upstairs in the Beachside Dolphin Units. If you don't like music noise (only till 9pm) ask for a room away from the Monkey Bar. We were only 3 rooms away & could hear the music & it didn't bother us at all.
The meal at the Bough Shed Restaurant was the best I had eaten in a restaurant for a long time.
would love all the casual staff to wear a name badge showing where they had come from well as their name as there was a very interesting array of nationalities.

Room Tip: Beachside Dolphin Units are well worth the extra cost as they overlook the ocean. It's wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a Beachfront Villa and it was worth every penny. As we parked the car and looked at the beach there were dolphins in close and pelicans, in fact there were dolphins visible almost every time you looked out.

The villa was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the Boughshed was very good, self serve with a large selection. The last time we stayed it wasn't self serve and is now a better system. We had dinner the first evening in the Boughshed. It was probably 25% full yet our main course took 45 minutes to arrive. When it did, it was cold. In fairness, they were apologetic and a complimentary glass of wine was offered. The second night we went to the Monkey Bar. I can't fault this place. Great menu, reasonable prices, fast service...but be prepared to shout your order,Heavy rock music at full volume!! We ordered our food to take-away and it was really good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed in a beachfront villa, it was an extra 25% but worth every penny for the view. The room was very nice and seemed quite new. Sitting on the patio on the edge of the beach was a great experience, we even had an Emu stopping by several times a day looking for food. We just stayed for 2 nights, but wished we had a third. And yes the dolphins turned up both mornings for their three feedings. A tip - stay for the second/third feedings when the crowds have gone. You can find lots of small faults with this resort, but it's really about the wildlife and scenery!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a beachfront villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved our stay at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. We stayed 6 nights. We'll definitely be back.
It was such a bonus kids eating free at the restaurant. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, watching the beach and waiting for the dolphins to visit whilst enjoying breakfast was fantastic. Evening meal was delicious too.
Looking forward to the modifications at the restaurant next time we visit.
Beautiful setting.
The family room was fine, although looking forward to either some interconnecting rooms, or a family apartment with a separate bedroom/s.
We loved swimming at the beach, the pool, playing tennis, learning more about the dolphins.
It is such a long way to drive, but well worth it once you get there. :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkey Mia
14.8 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
14.7 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#1 of 10 in Denham
287 reviews
14.8 mi away
Shark Bay Hotel
Shark Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Denham
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#4 of 4 in Denham
47 reviews
14.7 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
14.7 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Address: 1 Monkey Mia Rd | Shark Bay, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Monkey Mia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Price Range: $83 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Mia Dolphin Hotel Monkey Mia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing