We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkey Mia - Kids Eat Free - Fantastic Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Bickley, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Monkey Mia - Kids Eat Free - Fantastic Deal”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Loved our stay at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. We stayed 6 nights. We'll definitely be back.
It was such a bonus kids eating free at the restaurant. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast, watching the beach and waiting for the dolphins to visit whilst enjoying breakfast was fantastic. Evening meal was delicious too.
Looking forward to the modifications at the restaurant next time we visit.
Beautiful setting.
The family room was fine, although looking forward to either some interconnecting rooms, or a family apartment with a separate bedroom/s.
We loved swimming at the beach, the pool, playing tennis, learning more about the dolphins.
It is such a long way to drive, but well worth it once you get there. :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie_br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    326
    188
    93
    32
See reviews for
269
437
38
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Although I did not get to see any dolphins, the resort was a nice place to stay. The garden villa was only a few steps away from the beach. Cleanliness is to improve (dirty glasses, cutlery). The resort seams to be rather dated. Staff was attentive, but needs more training. Looked like they had hired a lot of casual staff / work-holiday visa holders with no experience. Restaurant offers great food, but feels more like a canteen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ls5783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The place benefits from the exclusive location right next to the dolphin research centre, so people have barely no other choice than to stay there which means they don't have to do much to attract guests. As a hotel guest the first thing you have to do is pay the AUD 11 (per day!) entry for the national park which we thought should be included in the hotel price. But anyways...next stop was the reception which was really unfriendly. Having travelled 830 km from Perth to come to this place deserves way more appreciation. The room was okay, at least we were rewarded with a stunning view. But in general, the place looked as if it had already seen its best days. I think that's the reason why many people don't come back. If they tried to do a better job, be more friendly and keep the place updated then they could be far better off. We had dinner twice at the restaurant and the food was (surprisingly) good! We also saw the dolphins, very reliable creatures :-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramsy_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, we value all of our guest’s feedback.
We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at check-in / reception, we will advise our team of your feedback and ensure that they understand the importance of making a great first impression.
At Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort we are continuously making improvements and have recently completed some changes to our Garden Villas and are currently working on the Limestone Garden Villas and our Boughshed Restaurant.
The Department of Conservation and Environment fee of $11 goes toward the research and welfare of the dolphins which is collected by the resort on their behalf.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort.
Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the resort for 4 nights. It was OK. The beach and the dolphins were fantastic. Most of the staff were great but unfortunatly there were a few staff that were really rude and unfriendly. A good place to go to once, but it is not on our list for a re-visit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort.
We work hard to train our staff to offer a superior service, and we are sorry that some of our team let you down.
We are glad you enjoyed the beach and especially the dolphins.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We spent three nights at the resort on a cuisine experience with a beachfront villa. The view from our room watching the dolphins at sunrise was simply amazing. We were the only people on the beach at 5.30am and had six dolphins put on a superb show for us. The room was clean with great air conditioning. The ensuite was small however perfectly serviceable. Our room was well maintained with a king size bed and a single bed for our daughter. The cuisine experience is certainly value for money as the food was fantastic (unlike other reviews) perhaps a different chef? We found the rangers who conduct the dolphin interaction to be very knowledgeable and experts in their field. It was an absolute pleasure to have a break with great customer service from all staff at monkey mia resort. Keep it up! Perth hotels could definately learn something from you!

Room Tip: Choose a beach front villa. You may pay more but are away from the noise of campsites and the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort. It is always great to hear positive feedback from our guests.

We were pleased to read you enjoyed your accommodation, dolphins and dining experiences at Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort and we look forward to seeing you again.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the resort on a "cruise and snooze package", we were there for the Dolphins of course, and we were not dissappointed, the extremely informative commentary by the volunteers was most appreciated. The sunset cruise was very enjoyable. The rooms were good and clean, the staff helpful and the breakfast very good. The resort caters for quite a range from caravaners and campers to the hotel/resort accommodation, which makes for a nice atmosphere. THe resort is "self contained" in that it generates it's own electricity and desalinates sea water for use in the resort. A very good experience all round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AggiBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a beachfront villa. It is on the beach front, but its definitely not a villa. It's a poorly maintained motel room with an ensuite that is in desperate need of renovation.
The resort is actually great, our daughter loves it and there are loads of other children to play with. The beach is lovely, with really good value boat hire and boat trips to see the ocean wildlife or the pearl farm.
We booked breakfast with our room, which was a huge mistake and waste of money. The food was terrible (if there was actually any food there when you went to get any), the crockery and cutlery was dirty, the tables & chairs were dirty, the floor was dirty ... You get the picture.
We did enjoy our stay, but that was only because our daughter made some lovely friends and we relaxed on the veranda overlooking the ocean.
The dolphins came daily, but it was very crowded and we found that the adults considered themselves a higher priority than the kids and therefore the children tended to get pushed aside. This could be helped if the volunteers in charge were smart about how they engaged the crowd. If you want to see dolphins, I'd recommend Bunbury Dolphin Discovery Centre as there is way more interaction and information, and at a fraction of the cost you can take the Eco Tour and the dolphins literally surround you.
As for Monkey Mia, we may come again but with our own caravan or tent as the accommodation and food offerings are unacceptable and overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AspenResorts, Manager at RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort, your comments are appreciated and will be actioned by management.
In order to ensure the food on our buffet is as hot & as fresh as it should be, we continually monitor the volume of each dish that is available. Unfortunately, at times during peak demand, occasionally we run out of certain items. However we do our best to ensure these dishes are replenished as quickly as possible. Overall, the feedback we receive in relation to our breakfast buffet is positive & we are sorry you did not feel this was the case in your situation.
We will pass on your comments regarding the dolphin feeding and how the feeders are selected to The Department of Environment and Conservation who operate the dolphin feeding at Monkey Mia.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and loved the relaxed atmosphere of the resort and that your family made friends.
We would be pleased to have you visit us again at the Resort or in your own caravan.
Once again thank you for your review.

Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkey Mia
14.7 mi away
Heritage Resort Shark Bay
14.7 mi away
Oceanside Village
Oceanside Village
#2 of 10 in Denham
270 reviews
14.7 mi away
Tradewinds Seafront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
On the Deck at Shark Bay
14.7 mi away
Wildsights Villas
Wildsights Villas
#3 of 4 in Denham
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mary's Farm Cottages
Mary's Farm Cottages
#1 of 3 in Lake Grace
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort

Property: RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort
Address: 1 Monkey Mia Rd | Shark Bay, Monkey Mia, Western Australia 6537, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Monkey Mia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monkey Mia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your RAC Monkey Mia Dolphin Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monkey Mia Dolphin Hotel Monkey Mia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing