We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A very special place, very colonial and friendly. Great place to wonder around.

I spent 8 days in a hostel on the main plaza. Unfortunately the plaza was under extensive... read more

Reviewed January 14, 2018
Jas_5555555
,
Quito, Ecuador
Capital of the Amazonas Province.

A small beautiful colonial town located in the mountains, very well preserved and with a lot of... read more

Reviewed June 22, 2017
euskgt
,
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Read all 179 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chachapoyas
from $36.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
from $50.00
More Info
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
62
65
48
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
62
65
48
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 179 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2016

I've seen plenty of Peruvian towns and cities that look like an architectural disaster. Styles are being mixed and cities grow without a clear building code or any urban planning it seems. Chachapoyas is different. The center of town has been maintained in its original hispanic building style and retains the charm of city that is pleasing to the eye.
There is quite a lot of roadwork going on at the moment (redoing the sewage system it seems) so it's a bit messy and dusty in some parts but other than that a very nice town.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Swiss I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016

Nice plaza filled with really friendly people, good shopping and cafes. Really romantic little town. Reminds me of Cusco.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Angelaluisaprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

Every city in Peru has a Plaza de Armas, a city square, some are nicer then others. This one was alright considering the size of the city, I loved the way the grass and bushes were cut out, it was unique in that design. We had very little time in chachapoyas as we were busy hiking waterfalls and ruins but we spent some tine here, there is a great side pedestrian street where you can get souvenirs, etc.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Josiah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2016

For some reason it seemed almost every street in Chachapoyas was torn up for work, during the biggest national holiday! It is a pretty town center, but I wouldn't suggest visiting now.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank JoanneBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2016

Nice square with lots of good tourist shops and cafes and restaurants. We walked to the top of the main street. Lots to see.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Jennycrystalwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews