We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers really shouldn't miss the opportunity to stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aventura Backpackers Lodge
Ambato, Ecuador
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Backpackers really shouldn't miss the opportunity to stay here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a quiet hostel only a few blocks from the cathedral (on the same street as Chachapoyas' most representative buildings). But this is no ordinary hostel: the owner, Ricardo has given it a personal touch and he and his staff attend to every one of their guests' needs with great detail: any question or necessity you may they will do their best to help you. This creates a fantastic ambience which the other backpackers share among one another.
The building is charmingly old, and the facilities are plentiful: wifi, really hot showers, warm beds (with new mattresses!) and much more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leracquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    15
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

great little hostal to chill out as well as doing the tourist bit. The staff here are very friendly and very helpful. the beds were comfy and the whole place was kept clean. He has a great collection of R&B music as well as other genre. you will have to go far and wide to find a better hostal.

Room Tip: anywhere is good as it is a small place, so all rooms are cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadnerb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilsen, Czech Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I were traveling ecuador and north peru in january and february of 2014.
We found information about this hostel online and decided to try it out since it had good reviews. And we were not dissapointed:)

We didnt book rooms in advance , but showed up at the doors early in the morning trying our luck. They did have a room with double /couple bed for us, for I think around 20s per person. We stayed there for 4 days, and i would highly recommend it to the people. It's not on the plaza nor in the first block of streets around it, like majority of other hostels are- you have a 4-5-6 minutes walk from Plaza de Armas to reach it, but because of that you have a good and quiet nights and really good rest. It was one of the best budget hostels we found on our road.

Owner is really nice guy. I have a feeling he's not only trying to be nice, but really is. He speaks fluently 3 languages (spanish, english & french), which is more than rare in peru, and he's there whenever help is needed about whatever - whether is about the further traveling, how to get to certain sites, more info or just chit chat. I really liked his spirit and appreciated his advices. Following his instructions we got to Gocta waterfalls early in the morning and were able to have the place for oursleves only, for more than an hour before tours and groups of people started to appear.

Hostel has a kitchen as well, so if you get tired walking arund in search for food, you can always visit awesome chachapoyas market, and cook somehting yourself :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Chachapoyas is a really nice little city in the mountains of peru and there is a lot to do. The hostel is one of the nicest I stayed in till now. The owner rick is extremly friendly and always looking that his guests have the best possible experience. The rooms are clean, the beds comfy and the kichen well equipped. All in all a real good place to hang out some days

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

One of two backpackers hostel listed on hostelworld, it showed no availability for the period of my visit to Chachapoyas, but since I arrived very early in the morning with nowhere to go, I decided to take a walk to check out the hostel anyway. Turns out there were beds available and the price was good, which I took. No regrets, it was a really comfortable homely hostel and I would still be there right now if I did not have a flight to catch in Ecuador. Ricardo, the owner, is very warm and welcoming. Although the distance was a little bit out of center of town, Chachapoyas is small and it is still only 5 minutes walk away from the main plaza. Chachapoyas itself is a quiet and lovely town which I would love to return to one day (one of several northern Peruvian towns) - so much to see in terms of uncrowded ruins and natural features, but much, much cheaper and liveable than Cusco with so much less tourists.

Room Tip: The female dorm was always fully occupied but the mixed dorm was always empty, for some reason. I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jiyungwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Aventura is a great little hostel with a really nice homely vibe. Ricardo is very lovely and goes put of his way to provide information and advice, and he speaks fluent English, Spanish and French. The six bed dorm is a little cramped with not much room for bags, but the beds themselves are big and comfortable. The location is good, not even 5 minutes walk to the main square. I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Chachapoyas.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had planned to stay a few nights in Chachapoyas and ended up spending more than two weeks there !
The hostel has a well equipped kitchen, a cozy common area, and a great vibe.
Ricardo, the owner, is a great people person and speaks both English and French, besides Spanish.
Location wise, it's a five minute walk to the main square and the awesome town market.

Also, BBQ equipment sits in the backyard, and every few days someone gives in and organizes a meat & beer night.

All in all, great !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facelessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chachapoyas hotels
0.0 mi away
Hostal Revash
Hostal Revash
#5 of 9 in Chachapoyas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gocta Andes Lodge
Gocta Andes Lodge
#1 of 9 in Chachapoyas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Villa de Paris
Villa de Paris
#3 of 9 in Chachapoyas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Arriero
Posada del Arriero
#4 of 9 in Chachapoyas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
33.4 mi away
La Casona de Leymebamba
La Casona de Leymebamba
#8 of 9 in Chachapoyas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal "El Tambo"
Hostal "El Tambo"
#7 of 23 in Chachapoyas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Backpackers Lodge

Property: Aventura Backpackers Lodge
Address: Jr. Amazonas 1416, Chachapoyas 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Amazonas Region > Chachapoyas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Chachapoyas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not located directly in the center of town but a few block away from all the noise and the bustle. We have a beautiful view of the Andean mountains from the balcony on the 2nd floor and a small patio and garden out back. All of the amenities are shared by the guests. There is no private bathroom on the premise/attached to any of the rooms. Guests have full access to the kitchen, at all hours, which is stocked with free tea, sugar, salt, pepper and cooking oil. There is also a public computer set up with internet for guests to use at anytime, this complements the free wifi throughout the house. Tour information is readily available from our knowledgeable staff as we work directly with the #1 tourist agency, according to TripAdvisor, Amazon Expedition to schedule tours with our clients at great prices, that even include direct pick up from Aventura! Additionally, we have a place where people can hand wash their clothes and shoes after an amazing day of trekking and a place to hang such items to dry. Lastly, we want to make your transition into Chachapoyas as smooth as possible so we will ask for your travel details and send someone to accompany you to the hostel free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aventura Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing