We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aventura Backpackers Lodge
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hostel, would stay again”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Aventura is a great little hostel with a really nice homely vibe. Ricardo is very lovely and goes put of his way to provide information and advice, and he speaks fluent English, Spanish and French. The six bed dorm is a little cramped with not much room for bags, but the beds themselves are big and comfortable. The location is good, not even 5 minutes walk to the main square. I would definitely recommend this hostel for anyone staying in Chachapoyas.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank RhiannasTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otavalo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had planned to stay a few nights in Chachapoyas and ended up spending more than two weeks there !
The hostel has a well equipped kitchen, a cozy common area, and a great vibe.
Ricardo, the owner, is a great people person and speaks both English and French, besides Spanish.
Location wise, it's a five minute walk to the main square and the awesome town market.

Also, BBQ equipment sits in the backyard, and every few days someone gives in and organizes a meat & beer night.

All in all, great !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank facelessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

One of my favorite hostels thus far in Peru. It's a nice spot that really makes you feel at home. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen is sufficient, the location is great and there are 2 loveable kittens that offer cuddles and entertainment. Ric is absolutely wonderful and extremely accommodating. He even offered to escort me to the doctor when I was ill because I speak very little Spanish. He is extremely knowledgeable of all activities surrounding chachapoyas and is always willing to give advice on the best ways to get there. He also plays movies nightly either in English with Spanish subtitles or vice versa, which is great because there's not much to do at night here. If you have the chance to visit this quaint town, aventura is the best hostel to stay at.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank winonaforeverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This was a lovely hostel to stay at. The beds were comfortable and the place had a really nice vibe to it. It's also one of the few hostels in northern Peru I've found that had an actual kitchen. It's a bit outside the center of Chachas, but "outside" means it's a 5-10 minute walk to the plaza instead of a 2 minute walk.

The owner speaks excellent English and is well traveled, very friendly and genuine. He really wants his guests to get the best out of their trip, and he had some great advice on day trips and tour companies that were not biased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It was such a pleasure staying at Aventura as the owner, Ric (as well as Loli who works there) is so friendly and hospitable, so you feel as if you are chatting with a good friend as he shares great travel advice with you. His English is perfect and also speaks fluent French. The rooms are clean, the beds are so cozy with hard, firm mattresses and the bath area with hot water is clean as well. I also took advantage of eating in the community kitchen, which became like focal point for conversation and camaraderie. I definitely recommend staying here when visiting the beautiful and scenic Chachapoyas region. In fact it may have you lengthening your stay but if you are in no hurry as you travel in Peru, that can only be beneficial to your travel experience.

Room Tip: Bunk beds on bottom floor, so depending on your preference, you can go to upper level for regular be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyskymusic24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stayed here about a month ago for a week and my only regret was that I could not stay for longer. I have travelled through South America for the past six months and this hostel has been my favourite. Chachapoyas is a beautiful small town with a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere which matches that of the hostel. The hostel has everything you need and is very clean, comfortable and a really relaxing place to hang out between enjoying the beautiful region. But what makes this place that much more special is the extended hospitality of the owner Ric. I have found that when an owner of a hostel is directly involved in the running of the place it is always a good one. Ric is a very genuinely friendly and welcoming person who made me feel at home and was such a cool person to trade experiences and and good times with.
Without any hesitation I highly recommend this hostel if you are lucky enough to visit this awesome region.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salta
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had a nice time in Chachapoyas especially because of staying at Ricardos place! His hostel is small the roomes as well but it is made to give you a very comfortable feeling. We chatted a lot with Ricardo, learned a lot about Peru and could cook together in the well equiped new kitchen.
In the patio there was space to clean and work on our bicycles.
In the hostel we also could use Wifi and a public computer.
We really enjoyed our time in Chachapoyas! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy123613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chachapoyas hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa de Paris
Villa de Paris
#3 of 11 in Chachapoyas
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Arriero
Posada del Arriero
#6 of 11 in Chachapoyas
40 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gocta Andes Lodge
Gocta Andes Lodge
#1 of 11 in Chachapoyas
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostal Revash
Hostal Revash
#4 of 11 in Chachapoyas
86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal "El Tambo"
Hostal "El Tambo"
#11 of 25 in Chachapoyas
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chachapoyas Backpackers Hostal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aventura Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aventura Backpackers Lodge

Property: Aventura Backpackers Lodge
Address: Jr. Amazonas 1416, Chachapoyas 00000, Peru
Location: Peru > Amazonas Region > Chachapoyas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Chachapoyas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are not located directly in the center of town but a few block away from all the noise and the bustle. We have a beautiful view of the Andean mountains from the balcony on the 2nd floor and a small patio and garden out back. All of the amenities are shared by the guests. There is no private bathroom on the premise/attached to any of the rooms. Guests have full access to the kitchen, at all hours, which is stocked with free tea, sugar, salt, pepper and cooking oil. There is also a public computer set up with internet for guests to use at anytime, this complements the free wifi throughout the house. Tour information is readily available from our knowledgeable staff as we work directly with the #1 tourist agency, according to TripAdvisor, Amazon Expedition to schedule tours with our clients at great prices, that even include direct pick up from Aventura! Additionally, we have a place where people can hand wash their clothes and shoes after an amazing day of trekking and a place to hang such items to dry. Lastly, we want to make your transition into Chachapoyas as smooth as possible so we will ask for your travel details and send someone to accompany you to the hostel free of charge! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aventura Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing