We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectable”

Sarcofagos de Karajia
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.50*
and up
Full-Day Karajia Sarcophagi and Caverns of Quiocta Tour from Chachapoyas
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Chachapoyas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unexpectable”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I made the tour to Karajia and Quiocta caves. It was a nice tour, with interesting archeological and ancestral sites.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosana897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    95
    38
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of a hike, but worth it.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I arranged a tour here through Eagle Tours, my guide was Luis, and they did a great job.

Expect about 90 minutes drive. You have to walk about a kilometer downhill. Once there you have a great view of the Sarcophagi, allow 30 minutes to enjoy the view and ask questions.

The walk back was a little strenuous for me, but still worth it.

You can rent a horse at the top and ride down and back up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AndeanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Hike - wonderful views”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a moderate hike with reasonale elevation - you might consider taking the horses as the hike back is all uphill - we wish we had. The view of the sarcofagi was quite interesting and the villages we passed were really out of the way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice landscape but otherwise underwhelming”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I visited this site as part of a 4-day trekking trip in April 2013, but it can be a day trip either with any of the numerous tour agencies in town or independently via combi/local bus. The surrounding scenery and the walk to get to the sarcophagi and back is beautiful. As others have mentioned, the path down to the site (and up on the return) can be a bit tricky in the rainy season. It's basically a sloping dirt road pitted with holes and trenches, which easily becomes a muddy mess during rainy season. When I was there (tail end of rainy season), I was able to navigate without rubber boots. If it were any wetter, though, you should expect to get muddy even with wellies; quagmire would be an understatement. The locals do rent horses, but some people in the group who weren't familiar with riding found it hard to sit comfortably because of the slope and unevenness of the path.
The sarcophagi themselves seemed a bit underwhelming. There are 6 that are nicely preserved and nestled into the hillside, but you can only see them from a distance, so any observation of details would require either a zoom camera lens or binoculars.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChendyArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Adventure of Sarcofagos de Karajia”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I recommend this trip not only for what you see but for the adventure. Pictures of the Sarcofagos sum up what you see. But the adventure is in getting there. It is located in a remote area, surrounded by potato fields being farmed by the indigenous Quechua Indians. They were harvesting the potatoes at the time of our visit. The area is not commercialized in any way!

After ariving at the site, we had a 1.5 Km. walk to the Sarcofagos viewing area/trail. It seemed simple, but the farm trail you used to reach the sarcofagos was steep, hard clay and bumpy, somewhat hard to describe. However, getting there was the true experience, one that I will never forget.

Local farmers rent horses (reasonable priced) that you can ride to and from the viewing trail, and I recommend you do so. I also recommend that you wear strong hiking boots.

We took Eagle Tours for this adventure - they were fantastic. I can recommend them enough. They have an office in the central plaza area of Chachapoyas. I believe it would be difficult to travel to this area with out a day tour or a lot of time. It is a 2-3 hour trip by van from Chachapoyas to this area.

If you want an adventure I recommend visiting the Sarcofagos and the Caverns.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarcofagos de Karajia also viewed

Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 

Been to Sarcofagos de Karajia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing