We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice....”
Review of Kuelap Fortress

Kuelap Fortress
Book In Advance
More Info
$46.00*
and up
Kuelap Ancient Fortress Day Trip from Chachapoyas
More Info
$76.80*
and up
Kuelap Ancient Fortress Day Trip by Cable Car from Chachapoyas
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Chachapoyas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“It was nice....”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

You know, I get the feeling everyone wants this place to be their 'undiscovered' Macchu Picchu. It was in a great location, tough to get to on a motorbike thats for sure, but the scenery is fantastic and it was only occupied by a few groups. My recommendation is to go outside the normal times to get a special experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank markaschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    166
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely A Must”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is difficult to find the words to begin to describe this most amazing mountain top. As a first step to learning about the cultures and peoples of Peru, this tour and hike immediately changed our thoughts about the history of the world. As our steps continued on this all day hike, our knowledge deepened and our appreciation for the land and the civilizations widened. If you are curious about archeology, the actual how of how it is done and what archeologists discover, this is the living site to explore. Experience Kuelap's plants and flowers, houses, ruins, birds, work in progress, and it's magic.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lois P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go if you can!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Get Augusto as your guide from Revash hotel from Andes Tours-he is the very best so don't settle for less!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaming_away_out_sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“KUELAP FORTRESS”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Its the undiscovered Peru. If you want a taste of what ruins such as Macchu Picchu were like 30 years ago, before thousands of tourists visit it every day. Kuelap Fortress is a must. Its a bit long to get there, but the accomodations are great. If you ave the time, put it on your list

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fisherman006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful ruins, few tourists”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

After much thought, my husband and I decided to forgo Machu Picchu in favor of heading up to the Northern Highlands on our 9-day trip to Peru. Despite being tourists ourselves, we wanted to distance ourselves from the most heavily touristed areas in Peru and "get off the beaten path." We were not disappointed by Kuelap. The mountain views from Kuelap are breathtaking, and the ruins themselves are brimming with history and stories. The fortress is huge, and set on a mountaintop in the mist of the cloud forest. Photos do not capture the grandeur, beauty and "mystical" feeling at this place. We had a fantastic tour guide, Augusto from Revash tours (Plaza de Armas, Chachapoyas), who was very knowledgeable about the history, stories, and even plants of the area, and was able to translate all of it into nearly flawless English, French and German (and, of course, Spanish). There was a striking lack of tourists here as well, maybe 30 in the whole complex while we were there. I would definitely recommend Kuelap for anyone headed to Peru!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuelap Fortress also viewed

Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
Chachapoyas, Amazonas Region
 

Been to Kuelap Fortress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing