We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
10
10
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
10
10
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel the hotel staff middle wellness pleasure meals town slovakia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 25 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2018

We have some conflicting feelings about this hotel so this review is difficult. First of all, Dolny Kubin is in a really picturesque landscape. It should attract more tourists. This hotel is about 6 K out of town, up into the hills. It is really pretty and peaceful. There was only one or two other couples at the hotel for the first few days and we felt isolated at first. However, the restaurant on the site was surprisingly good, great even. We had no problem spending all our meals at this restaurant. It was always open when we needed anything. The staff of the hotel were exceptional. As far off the tourist track as we were, it was really surprising that so many of the staff had excellent English. Also, Europe does not require customer service professionals to appear cheerful like they do in the US, so when you encounter people that act like helping is a pleasure, it probably is. This staff was top notch. The hotel is tired and in need of renovations, no doubt. But everything worked all right. And as old as the carpet and furniture is, it was pretty clean. No musty smell that is often present in older places. Our rooms were not cleaned during our 3 night stay. We have not figured out what is normal in Eastern European hotels yet; that may be completely normal. No in room coffee. Wifi was terrible, the worst we have encountered in Europe so far. And further, our mobile phones had no service. But really quickly, the off the grid reality became part of the peacefulness.

Then a company retreat showed up. At least 80 people. Gone was the peace and quiet. Our room was directly above the bar and there was no chance of avoiding the noise and the smoke. The rooms with views of the valley are all close to the bar and I would not have wanted to have a room in the back, so we were torn. The hotel staff were putting on a very nice retreat for this company. It is an excellent venue for this type of corporate event. But other guests could not mix well in this venue with this set up. At best we felt like wedding crashers, at worst we felt betrayed. Really the only thing this place provided was the peacefulness, and that was completely stripped away with 80 raucous adults partying.

We were drawn to this hotel specifically for the wellness facilities: steam room, jacuzzi, pool. From the description and pictures, it looked perfect. However, it was closed when we were there. From what we understood, they would only open it for a minimum of 4 people. However, we heard another couple checking out the next day complaining that they came for the wellness. Why it was not opened for us and them, together equaling 4, I don’t know. I know if it was available, it would have cost extra. We would not expect a pool advertised as part of the hotel to come with an hourly charge in the US, but maybe that is normal here.

Room tip: balcony or terrace rooms have views. Anything else would be really disappointing
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelorava, Manažér recepcie at Hotel Orava, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Dear guest, first of all thank you for your time spent writing the rewue. We are happy that you liked the nature where is hotel situated. Thanks for appreciating our staff and the kitchen. On the other hand we are really sorry about the noise. The end of teambulding was later than we expected. we had a bar open until midnight when we all sent to rooms, suites and a bungalow to ensure peace and quiet. Due to increased noise during the last night of your stay. That was the reason why the last night was not charged. The furtniture in the hotel room is two years old. The entire hotel was renovated two years ago. Thank you for your visit and we hope that you decide for our service in the future and you will appreciate our improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

We spend 3 nights in the hotel and were very pleased with the warm and friendly staff of the hotel. They made us feel welcome. The location is beautiful with nice sceneries and out of the business of the city.
Prices are very affordable. You have to pay a little extra to be able to use the hotel's spa. The half board food was budget.
We are a family of 4 and the room was bit small for us. The extra bed for kids was basically a small, extendable couch. It was very hard and kids felt uncomfortable sleeping on it.
Other than that it was a nice stay and definitely a place great for families with children.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Emilia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2017

The hotel itself is reconstructed and very clean. There's a perfect new wellness and fitness. From some rooms you have a very nice view on the Choc mountain. The dominant mountain in surrounding. There some small things that deserve improvement. Dining is not bad but for the standards it could be much better. In these days trends you can make not very expensive decent meal, but here it is little bit outdated. There's perfect grilling place but need to pay extra for that and it's not that cheap, on the other side they clean the grill and place for you so you don't have take care of anything. Wellness is also payed extra. The placement of the hotel is great, far enough from town, but close enough to make a lot of trips. There is lot of stuff to do even in bad weather, kids has plenty room to play (indoor and outdoor). Overall hotel is good for large group of friends and for families.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelorava, Manažér at Hotel Orava, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

Dear Mr. Richard. Thank you for your time to send us Your opinion. I am truly happy You enjoyed the nature potential of the hotel with the all possibilities. We are trying to prepare the best of local kitchen. Every week something else for half board to find out what our guests prefer. So I hope you will definitely enjoy the hotel's kitchen next time and truly taste the difference. We look forward to your next visit. Libor Záborský, hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2016

Stayed here 2 nights for a friends wedding. The reception was also held here! The rooms were lovely, very comfortable, ours ha an amazing balcony with a fantastic view of the local countryside. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the spa looked lovely, sadly we didn't have enough time to use it, but I did have a relaxing massage, which was exactly as described. The breakfast was excellent value at 5 € with plenty of choice and local goodies to sample! The scenery was a stunning backdrop to the room the reception was held in, the food was excellent and the staff did a marvellous job working until 4.30 in the morning when the reception finished. Would love to visit again!

Room tip: The back of the hotel has the lovely balconies and stunning scenery.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blondannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelorava, Marketing manager at Hotel Orava, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2016

Dear Blondannie. At first, thank You for Your time to write us the opinion. It is great to know You are really enjoyed the stay in our hotel. I hope You had good flight and arrive save home. We will be truly glad when You visit us again. Best regards Libor Záborský, marketing manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2015

Great and quite place, great people, blast on you soul. in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by woods and meadows, without bustle of the surrounding busy world
Rooms nice, clean and newly renovetad.
We will definitely come back again.

Room tip: mountain view
Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews