We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Room was lovely, clean and a nice size. However, the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The shuttle bus was very handy to get to the train station in the morning as the hotel is quite far away from there. It would have been nicer if the shuttle bus ran more frequently and allowed us to get the airport in the evening. The service was very helpful, especially Luigi who spoke excellent English. The food was quite a standard cold spread, with not much variety.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyHolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear BethanyHo,

Many thanks for your review and lovely words about service, room and staff of our Excel Roma Ciampino.
Your suggestions are always helpful: we are going to evaluate some transfers more during our peak periods, when the clients’ requests for our shuttle is high. And the sofa bed: we prioritised check and possibly replacement.

We look forward to seeing you soon, kind wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 665 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good hotel, very small shower. Nice breakfast buffet. Adequate meeting room. There are two buildings on the premisis. It is at least a 40 minute drive to the center of Rome in traffic. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Susan M,

We are glad you enjoyed our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, thanks for the kind words about our Staff and our buffet Breakfast :)

We look forward to seeing you soon, best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with two of my cousins in a triple room, and we loved our stay. The service was excellant...all you can eat breakfast with great variety. The hotel is clean and the staff are friendly, interacted mostly with Luigi and Valeria...who made us feel at home. The bus stop into Rome is close by and that takes you to the Metro straight into Rome central. Close to Ciampino Airport with free shruttle service from Hotel. You will not be disappointed with this lovely Hotel, just pros and no cons.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Clivie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Clivie4,

What a wonderful review, thanks!!!
It was a great pleasure having you and your cousins in house and we hope to welcoming you soon :)

With our best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The hotel was very good. We had double room, it was quite large - kitchen, living-room and bedroom - in every room was TV. Bathroom - clean, towels changed every day. The reception service was very friendly and always helpful. The hotel is situated far away from Rome, but then we could see the province of Rome which is nice too. I don't advise to take the taxi from the Ciampino Airport to the hotel, because it is ca. 7 kms, but the taxi is expensive - 30 EUR. The hotel offers free transfer to the airport, but only in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Olga B,

Many thanks for your nice review; we are happy you appreciated our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino!
Your suggestions are perfect: the province of Rome, Castelli Romani, deserves a visit as well as Rome. Together with our shuttle to the airport you can always count on our round trip station transfer to easily reach all the attractions by train at a convenient price!

Hope to seeing you soon, kind wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked hotel just for the last night of our holiday because we had an early flight, we got the bus from Rome to airport as the hotel was 3 miles from airport we guessed it would be the easy way, just pick up the shuttle bus from airport, but the shuttle bus only goes to the airport for early morning flights and a taxi was 30 euros for a 3 mile trip, after number o phone calls o the hotel for directions to public transport and nearly 2 hrs later the hotel sent the shuttle bus for us,
The hotel was large, we stayed in the second block, our room was huge, more an apartment than hotel room, a bit rough around the edges,
Breakfast was ok, and we booked the shuttle bus for the trip back to the airport which was great
Wouldn't pick this hotel for my stay in Rome but fine for airport hotel

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank wpttb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

These are my Pros:
1/ Short distance to Ciampino airport, ideal for travellers in transit only just to spend overnight, 2/ Large and free parking area around hotel buildings, 3/ Comfortable rooms, sound-proof windows, 4/ Favourable ratio value/price, 5/ Free cappuccino /latte /and other cooffee drinks offered during breakfast when ordered
These are my Cons:
1/ Cheap breakfast products (ham, cheese), 2/ Ugly breakfast room looking like some school canteen, 3/ Terrible breakfast coffee self-service, 4/ Floor carpets full of allergenic dust, 5/ Very anonymous atmosphere you feel as if you already were at Ciampino terminal

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPoznan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in room 218 at the hotel, very spacious room with fridge, hair dryer etc, good wifi. Although the hotel is quite a bit out of the way of everything, the staff did help us out a lot regarding the Different ways of getting into Rome and getting back in the evening. There are lots of options, taxi, bus, shuttle, train, metro.
Hotel is very clean, although it is a shame about there not being any restaurant for an evening meal.
The man who was at reception most of the time, Luigi, could not have been more helpful, he helped us so much with our travels and even arranged a taxi/restaurant for us when we couldn't find anywhere to eat. Very friendly, an asset to the hotel.
Breakfast I found a bit limited though. But all in all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marino
15.2 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
4.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
2.3 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
349 reviews
3.6 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Ai Vecchi Tempi
#5 of 6 in Marino
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino

Address: Via Appia Nuova 160 | Km 20.300, 00040, Marino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Price Range: $35 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino is a welcoming 4 stars First Class in the heart of the famous Castelli Romani, with a strategic location near Rome Ciampino airport. Rome is only 20km away and is well connected by the G.R.A. motorway. At guests' disposal: 76 comfortable rooms, fitness room at no extra charge, free parking, free wi-fi, shuttle from Hotel to Ciampino airport for departures in the morning, a stylish lounge bar, a modern business centre and lovely gardens for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Hotel
Dei Consoli Rome
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino Rome/Marino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing