We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a funny experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“What a funny experience!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I happened to stay at this hotel with my partner courtesy of an error we made while blocking the flight tickets and instead of picking a hotel closer to the main airport, we made an error and selected this hotel thinking it was closer to Ciampino airport.

Since we arrived quite late, the reception was closed and was a touch painful to complete the check in. After a tiresome trip to Sicily, all I wanted was a soft bed to sleep on and a quick checkin and out process! The hotel's location is quite miserable..middle of no where with very limited access to the main city center.

Breakfast was a decent spread and okay in terms of overall room & room service.

Travelled in Oct 2011

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiniPooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear WiniPooh,

Many thanks for your comment; it seems that, without your error at the time of booking and your tiresome trip to Sicily, your stay at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino would have turned super.
Anyway, your memory about breakfast, room and service remained positive and we are happy about this.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, our best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    208
    150
    78
    77
See reviews for
175
182
25
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is clean however, there was no mini bar and the note left as an option was to use the vending machines downstairs, the wifi had no reception in the room and the reception was understaffed so they couldnt deal with the problem and also spoke limited english, which for an airport hotel you would expect different from.
The bar was unattended and its very misleading to advertise as a hotel with free wifi throughout the hotel when you have to sit in the reception to get any and even then it would only work on their public computer.

Room Tip: Getting a double doesnt mean youll get a king bed, its 2 singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear mary w,

Thank you for your report and reservation; we are sorry you did not notice about the replacement of our inroom minibars and about the opening hours of our bar. You may refer to thorough contents in internet whenever you wish.
We are also afraid about the wi-fi: thanks to your note we have sorted out.

We look forward to seeing you soon, our best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marino hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After an awful flight we ended up at Fiumicino airport. It's very easy to buy tickets in-flight for a shuttle-bus service to either Termini or (we didn't realise at the time) Ciampino airport, 11 euros return.

When we got to Termini, we got metro A to Anagnina which is what the hotel website had instructed us to do, and then take a bus in the direction of Velletri. However, finding your way to the bus station is not sign-posted at all, and it seemed that in that area, if you can't speak Italian well, people look at you like you have two heads.

Anyway, we eventually found our bus, got on, assuming that the bus-stops would have signposts (as the website said to get off at Frattochie), went past our hotel and the bus wouldn't stop!! When it finally stopped, we had to get off on a barely-existent pavement (with our hand-luggage) and trek along what seemed to be a horrifically busy duel carriageway - in some parts the pavement disappeared altogether and you literally took your life into your hands.

On arriving at Excel, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and over the subsequent days were eager to help us with info on the best way to get to town, booking our shuttle etc.

There is a FREE shuttle service from the hotel to Ciampino railway station or airport at 8, 10, and 12 daily, including weekends, you just need to book it the night before. The shuttle driver is a bit miserable (not very helpful) and his driving is a bit scary. We nick-named it the "death shuttle" in the end. Typical Italian driving! ! !

The train from Ciampino costs 1 euro 50, and takes you right into Termini.

However for the return journey you have to go to another station (Santa Maria delle Mole) and the hotel shuttle collects you from there - we didn't try this as it seemed a bit complicated.

Our hotel room itself was very basic but very clean; we had a fridge (which was empty), tv, hairdryer, lots of wardrobe space, and a fairly big bathroom. The shower was pretty snug though - fortunately my husband and I are both quite small otherwise I'm not sure we could've squeezed in!
Bed was very comfy & warm, and we had quite a nice view over some fields.

The only things I would complain about was that we could hear people "having quite a good time" next door very clearly, and an incessant "whooshing" which was really loud, made by an air vent. Fortunately (or unfortunately?) the sound of the air-conditioning blocked it out somewhat.

We had breakfast included in the price - very good selection each morning of toast, cereals, pastries, yogurt, cakes, cold meat, fruits, and various drinks. We really filled ourselves up every morning that we were there.
Downside is breakfast finishes at 10 so you can't really have much of a lie-in.

Also, we tried to have dinner at the hotel one evening because we were so tired from all the travelling it took to get into Rome, but the hotel restaurant was shut! ! ! We assumed it had been closed the whole time. So the staff recommended a place further up the dangerous duel carriageway - "Trattoria Zi Carmela" - it looked a bit ropey on the outside but was actually quite nice inside.

All in all, I would say that the hotel is great if you're just stopping over between travelling from Ciampino airport.

Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend it for sight-seeing Rome - we're both in our 20s and we were shattered most of the time from the long travelling time into Rome - all in all probably took about an hour to get to Termini or anywhere major.

Plus you end up fearing for your life most of the way!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel Roma C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Vanessa B,

Many thanks for your kind and complete report. We are really happy that you found good our Excel Roma Ciampino, that you think the Staff was pleasant and helpful, that your room was very clean, the bed very comfortable and that you enjoyed either the nice view over the green and the very good breakfast selection.

On the other hand, we are really afraid that your flight was awful, that local people did not speak English, that you did not like Italian streets nor Italian driving, that you had noisy persons next door and that you did not acknowledge by our official website and internet that our restaurant is reserved for groups and events.
We hope that next time you will be in the mood for enjoying our location like you enjoyed our service: our area, renown Castelli Romani, offers quiet mountains, nice lakes, interesting excursions, delicious wine and food tradition and is only 25km from Rome. By our free shuttle railway station round trip or by the easy car rental at the close Ciampino airport you have the opportunity to benefit a beyond compare artistic and cultural heritage of our Capital City and the landscapes’ enchanting nature in the surrounding of Excel Roma Ciampino. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I choose this hotel because it was cheap and convenient for heading south on the Via Appia from Ciampino Airport and had car parking on site. The area was industrial and uninspiring and the hotel was very chain like with a strange layout. However, the car parking was underground and secure. I booked the cheapest single room and was given a suite with lounge at the same price. The rooms and bathroom were modern, well appointed and clean. The only disappointment was the breakfast which even by chain hotel standards was poor, with unidentifiable "fruit" juices, packet croissants, processed cheese and ham and (unforgivable for Italy) disgusting coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_De_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excel Roma C, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear James_De_S,

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor; we are happy you had a good time at Excel Roma Ciampino.
We are afraid you did not enjoy our buffet breakfast instead; your comment is precious for us in order to improve this service according to your opinion.
Give us soon the opportunity to make you change your mind about our Italian coffee!

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

my partner and i stayed in this awful place for 5 days,very rude staff,its located 21km from rome ,no help was given over travelling by bus or train to rome.no restaurant only a vending machine.awful breakfast littered with flies in the cereal etc. no toilet roll,no kettle. a joke of a hotel,dunno where they got 4 stars

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandy503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear sandy503,

We are really sorry but above all bewildered that, despite you thought our staff was rude, our breakfast awful and the place unpleasant, you and your partner stayed for 5 days.
We are afraid, we did not have any record about your complaints; if we did, we would be glad to assist you every day.

We hope next time you will allow us to make you change your mind about our Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, you will be welcome persons again.

Best wishes,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on the last night of our holiday as it was close to the airport for our next morning flight. We got to the airport quite late so went straight to our room - which was in a different building to the main reception area - and so cannot comment on the main hotel facilities. We were very happy with the size of the room and the fittings seemed to a high standard. We had one issue which was with the duvet cover on the bed - it was very dirty. It may have just been stained but this is a 4* hotel and we wouldn't expect the bed clothes to be like that. So we just had a sheet on the bed as we didn't wish to use the duvet. The bathroom was really nice and the bed comfortable though. We also had a problem with the curtains - these were long floor length curtains covering doors onto the balcony. The curtain nearest to the bed was soaking wet - we don't know if maybe they had left the door open while it was raining or something had been poured onto it. As it was so late we just went to bed and left early morning so didn't see much point in flagging these issues. The hotel was very close to Ciampino airport, literally 10minutes driving so the location of the hotel is perfect for this purpose. I wouldn't recomment this hotel for a long stay at all as it is off a busy main road and there doesn't seem to be anything around it. But for conveinience to the airport it is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberta M, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Samantha R,

Many thanks for your review; we are happy to read your positive impressions about our standard and we apology about the inconvenience of your cover: please always question our Reception, at your disposal 24/7!
Shame you missed the Regional park, Albano lake, Castelgandolfo papal residence, Roman Empire cultural testimonies and the famous Castelli Romani wine and food tradition; we are just located in the heart of all that and we hope next time you will enjoy this rich area, otherwise it will always be a gap in your acquaintance of Rome 

Looking forward to welcoming you again, our best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

When we booked this hotel we were given a Rome address, this hotel is NOT in Rome... not even close! We hired a taxi outside the Termini station and the driver took us to the address on the printed out reservation. Upon arriving in downtown Rome and the hotel not being at the address given our driver went inside the business located where the hotel "should have been" and got the correct address. We proceeded to drive WAY out of the city to find a hotel that was less than desirable. The staff at the desk were rude and demeaning. We were told that it wasn't their fault that the address listed on the directions had a Rome address and that they had no responsibility in the false advertising. After being told many different stories about affiliate hotels availability or lack there of, and getting the run around for over an hour, the 2 clerks behind the desk speaking in Italian and laughing in our direction and with our taxi waiting for us outside we left and chose to stay elsewhere. In turn because of the incurred extra expenses we had to rearrange our entire trip! I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direzione E, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Client,

We are really sorry you had such a disagreeable experience and underline that the address you got was missing of the city “Marino”, that we specify either in our official website and in all our partners channels. As you can easily understand, we would not do ourself any favours if we put a wrong information, that is why we repeated and pointed it out several times when you still were here.
As detailed in Internet, we are in the city of Marino - province of Rome-, not in Rome downtown, and the area is the well-known Castelli Romani, 20km from the capital.
When you arrived tired and afflicted by the long ride you had been forced to suffer from side to side of the city, we understood your pain and assisted you with all your requests, with pleasure: how to book an alternative, where to find space for the same day, which was the cheaper solution, why your provider channel made this error in the address, and then: having the disposal of the transfer until you decided, how to ask for the refund, etc. For this reason we are surprised you found us demeaning.
One thing you said is true: it was not our fault, since you did not book through our direct channels where the directions are correct instead. But this did not prevent the assistance we gave you indeed.

Once more, we are afraid of the inconvenience beyond our control and hope next time you will be in the mood for enjoying our location and service.

Best regards,

Excel Roma Ciampino Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marino
3.6 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
658 reviews
15.2 mi away
Excel Hotel Roma Montemario
2.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#396 of 1,258 in Rome
643 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#457 of 1,258 in Rome
1,007 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Rome Pisana
Hotel Rome Pisana
#665 of 1,258 in Rome
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino

Property: Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino
Address: Via Appia Nuova 160 | Km 20.300, 00040, Marino, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Marino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Marino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino is a welcoming 4 stars First Class in the heart of the famous Castelli Romani, with a strategic location near Rome Ciampino airport. Rome is only 20km away and is well connected by the G.R.A. motorway. At guests' disposal: 76 comfortable rooms, fitness room at no extra charge, free parking, free wi-fi, shuttle from Hotel to Ciampino airport for departures in the morning, a stylish lounge bar, a modern business centre and lovely gardens for your relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dei Consoli Hotel
Dei Consoli Rome
Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino Rome/Marino, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing