We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet, good breakfast, friendly staff”
Review of Hotel La Scaletta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Scaletta
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Certificate of Excellence
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet, good breakfast, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Overnight stay for a flight the next day, so what else do you need? March being very off-season here, they have cultivated their niche. Good value, heating and hot water functioning, good beds. Again, it fits the bill!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanKnai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    213
    45
    7
    6
See reviews for
100
179
46
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice people, good wifi, cozy bed, wonderful terrace with a view to the sea... Simple, clean, great. They deserve their excellence prize for 2013 from Trip advisor! Do not expect a big room or design furniture. Just basic stuff. And a McDonalds next to the entrance, which is always a good thing. This time of year though, Lido di Ostia is completely dead.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anamaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This was an overnight stay before a flight the next morning. Great walking area with many shops and cafes with beach across the street. Good value and very friendly and helpful staff.
Convenience in traveling to and from airport on a local bus. Train into the center of Rome.
We will stay here again when traveling through Rome to and from the airport

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Aric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Smooth check-in by a gentleman who spoke excellent English. Room on 2nd floor with balcony and Lido view, small and compact, with en-suite, immaculately clean and ideal for our 3 night stay. Interesting Wi-Fi charges - I paid for 3 days, not realizing this meant 72 hours of internet, but for 12 euros not a problem. Breakfast very adequate with excellent cappuccino on demand. Room serviced while we were out and again immaculate when we returned. Smooth check-out with very clear bill. Will stay again when next in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for Sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillipig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stuffs are all helpful. The room is very clean. And it is in the center of Lido di Ostia. If there is anything can be improved that should be the time for breakfast, at 10 am it's stop but normally I get up around that time......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visamilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Perry, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great little hotel with friendly, helpful staff and a good continental breakfast. We had a sea view room with a balcony across from the beach. A perfect place to sit and watch the world go by. Lots of restaurants and shopping in the area. It was a nice area to walk around at night before flying out the next morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dab50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this wonderful place for an entire week with my husband and our 9 month old daughter for the first week of September.
Nothing was too much hassle in Hotel la Scaletta.
We arrived late on our first night and found that our daughter would not sleep in the cot provided. The fantastic manager accommodated us and moved us to a bigger, better room with a camp bed that worked much better - all at no extra cost.
The location is perfect.
Roman hotels tend to be quite dated in their decor, this place is fabulously modern throughout.
Each morning breakfast was plentiful and is more than a standard continental! There is endless fresh coffee made on request by a lovely female breakfast attendant!
Our room tended to be upside down with our 9 month old pulling at everything - the cleaning staff were just wonderful, no amount of clean towels and bed linen was a problem!
The hotel is family run and this made it a very welcoming place. The bed is the comfiest my husband and I have ever stayed on, we didn't want to leave!
The only thing we felt was missing was a high chair for our daughter each morning for breakfast. However, she thought it was great on our laps!
Overall this hotel deserves to be #1 in Ostia. We will definitely be returning next year!!
Make sure you choose this hotel as your choice for Lido di Ostia!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrussells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
264 reviews
Belvedere Century
#5 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
208 reviews
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Riva
#6 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
116 reviews
Ostiense
Barcelo Aran Blu
Barcelo Aran Blu
#399 of 1,261 in Rome
538 reviews
Hotel Ping Pong
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Scaletta

Property: Hotel La Scaletta
Address: Lungomare Paolo Toscanelli 130, 00121 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Scaletta 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Scaletta Lazio
La Scaletta Hotel Lazio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing