We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Basic but Good Location”
Review of Hotel La Riva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Riva
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pretty Basic but Good Location”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a trip to Tuscany as it was convenient for the railway station and they have a courtesy bus to the airport.

Parts of the hotel are good, Reception (which is at the adjacent Bella Riva sister hotel) was excellent and welcoming, other parts are a bit tired and need updating.

Room was a bit on the basic side but OK and clean. Safe was broken so we had to leave valuables with reception. Wi-Fi was awful, totally unusable. Our room was underneath the air conditioning plant on the roof and was very noisy at all times and meant we got a poor nights sleep. Bathroom was OK but shower was a bit small. Nice view from the large windows.

The Breakfast room is split into 2 parts, and the overspill room is not a pleasant place. It smells damp, the net curtains are filthy and there are patches of mould everywhere. The main room is better but could do with redecorating. We found the breakfast to be poor quality and the whole experience below par.

However the location really is excellent, just a short walk from the station which has its own line out from Rome (Ostiense, Pyramid, Porte San Paulo stations which intercept with mainline and metro stations) . The courtesy bus to the airport is efficient and 7Euros each, so on balance the hotel is OK if you accept the shortcomings and reasonable room rates.

The seafront at Ostia di Lido was a bit of a let-down as 85% of the beach is private and you have to pay to access it. Fortunately there is a free Public beach with a very nice bar area just opposite the hotel. Beware the whole of Rome seems to come to the seafront here at weekends so it gets very busy!

Room Tip: Avoid the room with the air conditioning on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobsatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    34
    32
    18
    8
See reviews for
21
45
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Our group enjoyed the stay in Ostia. We stayed in La Riva part of the hotel. First the negatives. There were a small number of fixtures which needed attention in the bathroom, but which were trivial in the context of the overall stay (but hence the 4* instead of 5*). Nothing to spoil our stay, and the positives made us forget these. The location was good, being just across the road from the beach, where there is free access. The buffet breakfast was good Italian, and should provide required fuel for most people, albeit that the coffee was from a Nescafe machine. However good quality (paid for) coffee is available from the bar in reception just a few steps away, if a genuine Italian coffee were absolutely required.

The garden was pleasant to sit in, and we had 2 light lunches, which were perfect for our needs, and we particularly enjoyed the salads. We used the shuttle to/from the airport, which was a real asset. Getting into Rome was also easy, 30 minutes away for €1.50 per person, from the station 5 minutes walk ("Stella Polare"). Above all the staff were very friendly, genuinely accommodating and wanting to help. We would highlight particularly the receptionists, the bus driver and the café staff, who were all so friendly and warm, we felt really welcome and at home. Well done! We will definitely return when in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Well, we had no special expectations and maybe that's why we did enjoy so much!
The hotel has 3 stars. It is not so new and some small things could be improved, in the bathrooms and even in the room we used. They are clean and cosy, with a little refrigerator - mini bar, flat TV, the towels and bed linen are good and nice. The room isn't too big, but we had a large balcony with chairs and a table, with view to the sea. The sunset in september is astonishing!
The breakfast was fair, even if I would like a more various one.... I mean we were there 5 days and the offer was the same. Even so, it wasn't a real problem. What they put on the table was a good quality. There are some good restautrants and taverns around the hotel, so there are options for good meals, too.
The wi-fi works louzy... They should do something about it...
The public sandy beach is right 100 meters across the hotel, lots of bars, restaurants, etc on the beach, with fair prices (at the end of the season) and sunbeds at good prices (5 euro).
The hotel has bikes and let you use them for free. We did, several times. The bikes are old and does not work perfectly, but they do the job and that is a plus.
The stuff is friendly and eager to help. We left in a day with strike at the metro workers, but the hotel offered us the shuttle to the Champino Airport with 50 euro. I mean, a taxi would be at least 100 euro. Thank you, guys! :)
And now, let me tell you about the top floor: the one with disposable roof and windows, with jacuzzi, sunbeds and a sauna with view to the sea!!! Well, it worth it. Each and every single penny we payed did worth it!
I promised to myself that we will go again. Right there!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ciprian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Located at Osti (Outside Rome).
Medium level hotel.
Breakfast buffet was good.
Staff was very helpful and someone who spoke good English was always at the front desk
Shuttle to airport available.
Nice family suite (2 BDR).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debby L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for 9 days 'off-season' with extended family in other rooms. Overall a very friendly and pleasant stay. Room was large enough, had a small balcony with ocean view, and a convenient safe. Furniture was sparse. Bed was large enough and quite comfortable. Free WiFi was so-so. Air conditioning was a plus, but the manager turned it off for the building on two nights (off-season).

Breakfast buffet was good. Several excellent restaurants withing walking distance. Convenient to the beach and to the metro for trips to Ostia Antiqua and to Rome. Staff was very helpful and someone who spoke good English was always at the front desk (in the companion Bellavista hotel next door). Shuttle to airport available.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Hotel La Riva and Hotel Bellavista are under the same management. The members of our party who had r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wgsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I spent 3 nights at La Riva Hotel this past summer, and it was really good! Although we asked for a room with a view to the sea, we didn't get one when we checked in. But, the staff was very kind and they made their the best to find us one for the next two nights. Having breakfast looking at the Roman seaside under a warm July sunshine was simply priceless...
The hotel is clean and not far from the station of this local train which takes to Rome downtown in around 30 minutes.
I would totally recommend this place!

Room Tip: Ask for a room located at the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarcoMnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Hotel La Riva is an O.K. hotel if you do not have other choices. The first room they gace us reeked of cigarette smoke and the manager on duty was a bit defensive about saying that they were non required to have non-smoking rooms. The second room they gave us did not reek of smoke. The rooms are tiny, even compared to the other rooms we stayed at during our trip to Italy. In addition, it appears that there were pigeons nesting directly above our ceiling; at first the noise was entertaining, it then became irritating. Lastly, each of the hotels we stayed in included breakfast, Hotel La Riva had the fewest breakfast options and the breakfast items lacked freshness.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stkrebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lido di Ostia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lido di Ostia
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bellavista
Hotel Bellavista
#4 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sirenetta
Hotel Sirenetta
#2 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Belvedere Century
Belvedere Century
#5 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Scaletta
Hotel La Scaletta
#1 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ping Pong
Hotel Ping Pong
#3 of 7 in Lido di Ostia
246 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ostia Antica Park Hotel & Spa
Ostia Antica Park Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ostia Antica
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Riva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Riva

Property: Hotel La Riva
Address: Piazzale Magellano 22, 00122 Lido di Ostia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Lido di Ostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Lido di Ostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Riva 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Riva and Bellavista are two hotels situated in Ostia Lido, a lovely seaside district of Rome with beautiful scenery and views. Our Hotels can be easily reached from Fiumicino international airport, Ciampino airport, Rome touristic harbour, the New Roman Fair, and from the modern shopping centres of Parco Leonardo, Castel Romano and Valmontone Outlets. The Metro stop of Roma-Ostia line is only 3 minutes' walk away. This station easily and directly connects visitors to the Ostia Antica archaeological site and also to Rome city centre. Apart from the summertime season, Rivabella Hotels offer its guests comfortable and enjoyable stays also in the autumn and winter time. These are especially ideal periods for nature-loving guests. Our hotels are equipped with many comforts to satisfy the requests and needs of our customers. Even if they share the same services and amenities, our two hotels are intended for two different kinds of customers. La Riva Hotel has been designed mainly for business or senior travellers, whilst the Bellavista Hotel is more oriented towards young customers, providing wellbeing and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Riva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Riva Rome
La Riva Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing