We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buonissimo!!!”
Review of La Bussola

La Bussola
Reserve with
La Bussola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 350 Restaurants in Lido di Ostia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Buonissimo!!!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Been there following trip advisor reviews! Following a beautiful entrance with a sea aquarium and a beautiful fish display choice, we had an amazing dinner. Staff was excellent and we enjoyed it to the full. Will definitely come back again in summer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holmes Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    711
    274
    125
    93
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Pasta”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

While we stayed 7 nights in Florence, we ended up eating this location 4 times. We love pizza and pasta and you can get a really good pizza at this restaurant. Even local people come and eat pizza here. First night we were at Florence, we ate at this restaurant because it was recommend by a hotel staff and so close to a hotel we stayed. We waited 15 minutes or more for a bill and even thought we mentioned 2 times, bill never came but foods were good so we went back. We were glad to give them a second chance. Great waiter, Mr. Antonio Lanese, gave an excellent service and also gave us a great recommendation of wine and foods selection. October was mushroom season and he even made us dish with porcini mushroom which was not even on a regular menu. Antonio has a great sense of humor, great recommendation of wine selection and foods. We always ask for Antonio, no more long wait for bills. We really enjoyed foods.
Only thing we do not really like was they added 10% service charge on our bills but it seems like there are lots of restaurants are doing it as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hiromi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
96 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not exceptional”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is the third time I have eaten at this restaurant. It is recommended that you reserve if you want a table facing the (distant unseen) sea for a cool breeze. Pasta course was not particularly good and rather bland. Fish course was a very large wild sea bass and exceptionally good. Deserts are nothing exciting. Price was reasonable but due to a "misunderstanding" the waiter did not return with our fiscal receipt or the change, we had to go and ask after a 15 min wait. Customers should be aware it's illegal to leave a restaurant without your receipt because of tax issues

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanneitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food but people smoke inside”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My review is to warn those of you willing to go out for a dinner with friends. If you are looking just for good food and tolerable prices, well this is the place for you. But if you are looking for something more, such as good service, respect for customers and value for money, you must avoid this restaurant! I was there with a group of friends on a Friday evening, after a pleasant dinner (with an irritating slow service by the way) while we were chatting and having dessert, we found out that people in the table next to us had started smoking!!! You have read it right, SMOKING! Waiters had even provided them with ashtrays! We were so pissed off that we paid the bill and left immediately. Upon asking why they were smoking, the answer was: we had not realised they had lit up cigarettes. Kind of difficult since the table was right in the middle of the restaurant... I will never ever step into that restaurant again in my life!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank ItaliAsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kremlin Bicetre, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple but Excellent Fish/Sea food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

If you like fish and sea food, friendly staff, and a place where also kids can have good time, go to La Bussola. Wide enough selection of wine by glass, very fresh fish, simply but precisely cooked.
This is not high gastronomy but one does not always need this, true?
A bit far from the city center but worth going there, also thanks to reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bussola also viewed

Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 

Been to La Bussola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing