We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and seafood”
Review of Povero Pesce

Povero Pesce
Ranked #83 of 350 Restaurants in Lido di Ostia
Price range: $10 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and seafood”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had mussles to start and octopus for main course. Both tasted great and fresh. The waiter was very friendly and helpful. Even gave us tips on navigating Rome. Great guy.

Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    188
    98
    82
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“excellent fish dishes, open all day, great service and location”
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

We also stumbled on this restaurant at a time when most Italians aren't eating - about 5 p.m. We had scootered out to Ostia to see the park commemorating the location of Pier Paolo Pasolini's murder, and wanted a dinner - not just fritti - of seafood in Ostia. This restaurant in fact keeps its kitchen open between lunch and dinner times - highly unusual. We were the only ones there at the time. Our seafood pasta was perfectly cooked; the grilled fish was excellent. Yes, the menu is small - thankfully; and the portions are reasonable, not huge. The house wine is the restaurant's own label of Lazio wine - appropriately priced, imo. Excellent service. Just a perfect place for us at the time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank RomeTheSecondTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food at the seaside”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

This small restaurant situated near the main entrance to the beach. It attracts attention by its simple but stylish and clear interior. And it's really for a reason. Inside you'll find delicious cuisine, friendly staff. House wine is good. Pasta - no words to describe, please try it)) Also here I've tasted the best tiramisu in my life.

Helpful?
Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, healthy, tasty, short-travelled food and very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had heard that seafood was supposed to be good in Fiumicino and were out walking, looking for a restaurant. Then we simply stumbled upon Povero Pesce walking down the wrong street. It was early on a Thursday, and no-one else in the restaurant, however the friendly waiters made us feel most welcome. They explained the concept and printed pages in English (Google Translate does the trick!) for us to read. And during the meal, even played words in Norwegian from Google to help us understand what we would be eating.

We accepted to have a mixed starter composed by the chef and the chef's suggested main course. When the platter of anchovies, sardines and anchovies mixed with eggplant arrived, we thought we may have made a mistake (I don't normally eat anchovies, and my boyfriend had a 'spaghetti con sarde' incident in Bra last year), but it was very, very nice. The main course consisted of two mackerel fillets prepared with two very different flavours, one with a tomato-based sauce and one with a balsamic-based sauce, we think. It was excellent! Their tasty house wine went really well with the food, and the premises are clean and cosy.

This is a place where you to eat solid, healthy and tasty seafood, prepared with passion and principles. You are viewed as not just a customer, but also a guest that the host (waiter) is interested in learning from. And the Tiramisu is the BEST!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KariBergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice and ethic restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

The serve only "poor" fish (the restaurant name means "Poor fish") like mackerel, anchovies, sardines and other poor fish.
The idea is that they serve only km0 (0 miles) fresh fish cooked in some very nice way,
I can suggest their pasta that are every good.
The restaurant is little and informal, not so elegant but very conformable.
The price is very affordable.
Very suggested!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank goolasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Povero Pesce also viewed

Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
Lido di Ostia, Province of Rome
 

Been to Povero Pesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing