We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Former Glory”
Review of Hotel Villa Aricia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Aricia
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ariccia
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Here is a hotel that once basked in some 1920s or 30s glory but just doesn't quite make the cut in 2012.
The staff were very friendly, the grounds expansive and distance from Rome about 25 kilometres.
We stayed here as we thought it would be be a better bet than by driving into Rome and catching a train out.
However, we were caught in peak hour traffic and it was an extremely slow drive. A train from Rome where we would have had a wider choice of hotels would have been our best option.
A positive was the free WiFi but that I believe was covered in the cost of the room.
If you want to experience the grandeur of a bygone time this hotel suits.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Ugo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 11 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Hotel Villa Aricia was a disappointment. On arrival, it was hot in the room, and the air conditioning would not turn on. When I called the desk, the clerk answered "no" when I asked if he spoke English. When I arrived at the desk, I determined he spoke Spanish, and was able to explain the problem. He answered, in English, with a smile, "Open the window". Opening the window, there was a loud party in the courtyard till late in the night. This was least accommodating staff on my trip to Italy.

Breakfast was adequate, at best, lowest quality on the trip. The decor was dated, the building in need of major maintenance and renovation. Somewhat of a musty odor. The grounds were beautiful.

Free Wi-Fi frequently logged you out, requiring re-entry of the password; I finally gave up trying to read emails.

The main positive was the Chigi Palace just up the road; it was spectacular. You need to arrange a tour in advance. The towns near-by were quant and interesting. Good restaurants in the area.




Pros
Walking distance to the Chigi Place
The only official "hotel" in town

Cons
Non-functional Air conditioning
Night staff did not speak English very well
Wi-Fi did not work well

I would not stay here again, and would pick one of the near-by B&B's.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank eallergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

During a visit to Italien friends in Albano, we stayed at Hotel Villa Aricia. The hotel was close (700 meters) to station Albano, which you can reach by local train from station Termini. Ticket very cheap Euro 1,90 for 50 minutes by train, compared to the price from Fiumicino Airport to Statione Termini which is Euro 14,00 for 30 minutes by train.

From outside the hotel looks OK from the pictures on the web www.hotelvillaricia.com
but inside the hotel looks worn out. We had a room with the smallest shower cubicle I have ever seen at a hotel. I was almost unable to get into the cabin.

The wi-fi network is OK, and free. The breakfast was pared-down. Staff very friendly, politely and willing to help you.

Hotel really needs a restoration and painting, new furniture as weel, and bigger shower cabins, if the price of Euro 110,00 per night to continue. Noise from next-door rooms to be reduced by isolation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kareca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

I've enjoyed staying in this small hotel. It was my third trip to this region of Italy and each time I was using this hotel. It is a quiet and cozy hotel. It is located not far from Rome, only 26 km. The hotel has its own park with a little old chapel. I recommend to explore the little towns and villages, Albano Laziale, Nemi, and Castel Gandolfo, which are located near by. If you will come during the fall season try the local wild mushrooms, porchini.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yevgenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Giulietta1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fabrizio a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ariccia
1.7 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#1 of 3 in Ariccia
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castel Vecchio
Castel Vecchio
#2 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Locanda del Pontefice
0.7 mi away
Hotel Miralago
Hotel Miralago
#2 of 3 in Albano Laziale
117 reviews
5.6 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Aricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Aricia

Address: Via Villini 4/6, 00040 Ariccia, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Ariccia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ariccia
Price Range: $66 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Aricia 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Villa Aricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Aricia Ariccia, Italy - Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing