We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price, acceptable standards.”
Review of Hostal del Lago

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Marcos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal del Lago
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Got there 'cause the hostel I was planning to stay at turned out to be fully booked.

All in all depends what you are looking for. This place is a typically hippie, zen-style place where things go their own ways. It will not be a 5* hostel with clean towels etc.

It's rather messy and does not offer neither towels nor lockers but you can leave your things with the guys in the office.

The above can be flaws but if you are more after the hippie spirit of San Marcos, this is a fair place to stay ( 35Q/bed + 50Q key deposit ). I had no problems and enjoyed hammocks. Have not used showers so not able to comment on that.

There is a little bathroom in the room ( no door, just some hanging curtain ) - depends if you have issues with such things; you can use the shower / toilet in a separate facility.

Probably would stay there another time but it was not the best hostel I've been to.
Liked to chill by the lake but there are better places in San Marcos.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moscikowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 73 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

Del Lago is easily the most memorable place I have stayed in, in 4+ years of travel throughout Latin America. Bryan, the owner, once told me that he wanted to have the kind of hostel he would have liked to find in his own years of travel, and he's certainly gone to great lengths to create it. With a beautiful balance between community, creativity, big ideas, positive spaces, and exceptionally low costs, it's the kind of place that travellers very often get blissfully lost in (and often come back to again and again,) the relaxed atmosphere and fun community. With it's new cafe (Paul is a genius in the kitchen!), yoga classes (Sarah is one of the most wonderful, attentive, warm teachers I have ever found), live shows (guest participation is hard to resist), early-morning swimming (one of the best spots on the whole lake), chats with the local family that works there (they're happy to teach you a few kaqchikel words, if you're interested!), stunning lakeside views, campfires, movie nights, communal meals, and long, lazy afternoons in the hammocks--it's a nomad's paradise. That said, it's not for everyone--if you want something polished, exclusive, and/or isolated, Del Lago is not for you. But if you're looking for a fun, positive place with a real sense of community, you'd be hard-pressed to find somewhere better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We got what they called 'the best room in the hostel' and it was dirty. Other than the bed, which was made, there was dirt all over the floor and the bathroom had not been cleaned.

We asked for towels. Were told it was not really something they offered and there were only about 6 towels in the hostel, even though we offered to pay. They said they would get some for us, but they never did.

Big gap under the door led to several scorpians and various other creatures making their way into the room. They need to fill up the gap with something.

It has a pretty big garden but so do many other cheap places in San Marcos. It is cheap at Hostal Del Lago but there are other places for only a little more. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shabs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan L, Owner at Hostal del Lago, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2015

this review was a year and a half prior to our taking over of Del Lago...so does not reflect the place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank travelotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jenny88blumberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaudiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
2.9 mi away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
674 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
256 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Atitlan
Hotel Atitlan
#2 of 29 in Panajachel
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lomas de Tzununa
Lomas de Tzununa
#1 of 1 in Tzununa
302 reviews
8.4 mi away
Casa Palopo
Casa Palopo
#1 of 3 in Santa Catarina Palopo
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal del Lago

Address: Main Street (Toward Tzununa) | 150 Meters From Center on Left Toward Tzununa, San Marcos 12001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > San Marcos Department > San Marcos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in San Marcos
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Del Lago is a popular lakeside hotel. A social place with nightly activities, from live music and movies to theater events. We offer simple accommodation with economic pricing. Our hotel is more about the time spent outside of your room. We are known for our friendly staff and family style atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing