We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Colca Canyon hotel close to Condor's Cross”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanaconde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Kuntur Wassi Hotel in Cabanaconde as part of our tour with Carlitos Tours of the Colca Canyon in December 2013. We were very glad we stayed at the Kuntur Wassi Hotel as it is located at a lower altitude to Chivay where we both developed altitude sickness so this enabled our condition to improve. It is also very close to the Condor's Cross. The hotel was quiet, clean and away from the crowds so we were able to appreciate what life is like in a smaller community in Peru. The Hotel was very accommodating, bringing soup to our room as we were not well. The chicken soup was the best we have ever tasted. It was a pity that we couldn’t eat anything else as their menu sounded great. I would definitely recommend staying at the Kuntur Wassi.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank DeeTraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kunturwassi Colca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 343 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 days. The hotel room was very nice, quiet and clean. The owners and all the staff were really professional, helpful, friendly and nice. The food in their restaurant was excellent too. Ask for Christopher to show you how to make different kinds of animals with towels. It was fun and very creative. I would strongly recommend anyone who is spending time in Cabanaconde.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 765masi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have never had service as good and as personable as I had at this hotel. The owner and the staff bent over backwards to make us feel at home. And it all felt genuine. The hotel restaurant is way better than any other eatery we found in town, and again, the service was wonderful. Our experience in Cabanaconde was made much more enjoyable and profound by the KW staff and owners.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel as well as participated in our nephew's wedding reception that was magnificently hosted by the hotel and its expert staff. Our stay was made very pleasant by the staff who couldn't do enough to be courteous and helpful. Highly recommend their restaurant and bar for a pleasant and relaxing evening. Have Christopher perform his towel folding figures.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

First of all, the hotel is in pleasant walking distance to mainy square of Cabanaconde. Furthermore, all staff is very nice and friendly and helpful. We had a chance to meet with the owner / manager, who took us for 1 day for walk in the surrounding, arranged car and nice lunch in the restaurant over the cliff. Also provided us very nice stories regarding history, actual situation in Peru ....
We further appreciate, that each day from the hotel arranged somebody who took us at the start of the hike route as these are not well marked in the willage.
We appreciated each dinner, was great to eat some good meal after whole day of walking.
Regarding rooms - were cleaned every day and very comfortable. I have no comments to them. In the main lobby was available hot water and coca tea for every visitor, which we all really appreciated.
On our last night, they gave us printed pictures in a frame from our stay in hotel from that day we spent with the owner and also a visit certificate :) very nice from the people.
Definitelly I recommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: no special tip
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Utilized this hotel before and after Colca Canyon hike as part of a "personal" tour. No experience with any other hotels in the area except in Chivay, and this was better. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The two lunches were very good for both omnivores and vegetarians. This beautiful, well kept property was relaxing and private with great views and access to town center and Canyon. They allowed access to full room services, bed and shower for $10/pp after the arduous hike down and back up the next day. They never pressured us. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was also clean and had a great shower with plenty of hot water and with soap and shampoo. This kindness truly rejuvenated us and saved the rest of our Peru adventure. Highly recommend this hotel as part of a Colca Canyon/Valley adventure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradR505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The owner and his staff will do everything possible to help you and to make your stay confortable. The rooms are clean and quiet. The hotel, located in Cabanaconde, is the starting point for many exciting trecks in the Colca Valley and is close to the Cruz del Condor. Although pricy, the food in the restaurant is excellent, by far the best place in town. Don't miss the ''Ceviche de trucha'' and the alpaca meat. The owner has a farm 200 mts aside the Cruz del Condor and offered us to to have your breakfast there. It is an outstanding experience to have breakfast with condors flying around!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tn950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntur-wassi, Owner at Hotel Kunturwassi Colca, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and you had received the best care. Those comments helps us continue to improve level of service and staff.
My best wishes for you.

Walter Tinta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanaconde
22.2 mi away
Aranwa Pueblito Encantado del Colca
21.4 mi away
Killawasi Lodge
Killawasi Lodge
#1 of 5 in Yanque
648 reviews
20.9 mi away
Colca Lodge Spa & Hot Springs - Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Hosteria & Spa Tradicion Colca
20.5 mi away
Belmond Las Casitas
Belmond Las Casitas
#3 of 5 in Yanque
283 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#9 of 15 in Colca Canyon
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kunturwassi Colca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kunturwassi Colca

Address: Cruz Blanca S/N, Cabanaconde 5481, Peru
Phone Number:
Location: Peru > Arequipa Region > Colca Canyon > Cabanaconde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanaconde
Price Range: $58 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kunturwassi Colca 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kunturwassi hotel is a cozy and nice hotel, 3 star category. It is located in the heart of the Colca Canyon, in Cabanaconde Village. Account with comfortable rooms, private bathrooms, hot water, and panoramic view to the canyon, service of transfer to Colca, tour guide and organized tours, restaurant, Internet, and suites with jacuzzi. Prices from 20 USD by person. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kunturwassi Colca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing