We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Condors”
Review of Condor's Cross

Condor's Cross
Book In Advance
More Info
$73.00*
and up
Bus from Puno to Chivay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kentfield
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Many Condors”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We again, were the lone visitors and were very happy to see many condors out riding the up drafts. They actually flew very close over our heads. While walking the path we also saw a hawk and many wildflowers and other birds.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    89
    37
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Majestic Birds”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The whole trip to the Condor's cross is a highlight. The views to and from the cross are breathtaking. Lots of interesting views, terraces, tombs, a map carved in stone, church, nice village. But this all depends on your guide. We made like 3 stops on our way and 3 stops on the way back.
The viewpoint itself Cruz del Condor is spectacular and when we were there lots of Condors including some other birds. We saw lot's of condors for sure 20 or more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank huub9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the effort to see condors”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We arose very early for a tour of the canyon along a diffcult and bumpy road. But it was worth the effort because we saw at least 20 condors glide effortlessly up the canyon as the sun warmed the atmosphere. They we as close as 3 feet from us at points. It was a thrill to see these beautiful, large birds and to learn about them and their habitat.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“It is amazing see the condors flying!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

The canyon by itself is very beatiful. The flying condors make it more spectacular. See such rare animals free in the nature is wonderful. Children love! And most of us turned on children looking for them.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Avenca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
170 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Condors Galore!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited this place with a tour company. It was quite the mountainous trip to get there, but well worth it! We saw probably tweny to thirty condors. There's also a small hike you can do down near the canyon's edge that I would recommend. Make sure to take pics of the cross. Perfect picture opportunity!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condor's Cross also viewed

 
Cabanaconde, Colca Canyon
 

Been to Condor's Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing